Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Fatal Error(4): Permission Denied: connect


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1

forest_patroler
  • Location: Location
  • Minecraft: forest_patroler

Posted 08 July 2012 - 03:08 AM

Hello,
I have been getting this error when trying to play Minecraft lately:
Fatal Error(4): Permission Denied: connect

My dad disabled the main port Minecraft uses so there was no way I could play while I was punished. He later re-allowed this port and this error message pops up. I have a Dell studio XPS with Windows 7 on it and it has worked before. I have tried redownloading, updating Java, and allowing in the firewall and nothing works. Help!








Meep

Register or log in to remove.

#2

starlinvf
    starlinvf

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3169 posts

Posted 08 July 2012 - 05:35 AM

Where did lock it out from?

#3

forest_patroler
  • Location: Location
  • Minecraft: forest_patroler

Posted 08 July 2012 - 12:13 PM

View Poststarlinvf, on 08 July 2012 - 05:35 AM, said:

Where did lock it out from?
It locked out from the Updating Minecraft loading screen after logging in, and the game news did not display either.


It also says New update available even though I currently have no files for Minecraft since I deleted them to see if it would fix the problem

#4

starlinvf
    starlinvf

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3169 posts

Posted 08 July 2012 - 12:36 PM

I mean how did he disable minecraft from running?

#5

forest_patroler
  • Location: Location
  • Minecraft: forest_patroler

Posted 08 July 2012 - 01:25 PM

He blocked access in the firewall to one of the main ports Minecraft uses. He re enbled it and still this problem. Same thing happens when we disable the firewall and try to run it.

#6

starlinvf
    starlinvf

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3169 posts

Posted 08 July 2012 - 02:26 PM

Open a command prompt and ping login.minecraft.net  (it should time out, but need to see if it'll resolve)

#7

forest_patroler
  • Location: Location
  • Minecraft: forest_patroler

Posted 08 July 2012 - 02:47 PM

View Poststarlinvf, on 08 July 2012 - 02:26 PM, said:

Open a command prompt and ping login.minecraft.net  (it should time out, but need to see if it'll resolve)
Request timed out


EDIT:

This may help:

<html><body><font color="#808080"><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><center>Failed to update news<br>java.net.SocketException: Permission denied: connect</center></font></body></html>

It displays this instead of the news on the login screen

#8

xYopandax

Posted 12 July 2012 - 12:49 AM

Same problem here man :\

#9

Vegas212
    Vegas212

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 July 2012 - 01:05 AM

Hey I have the same problem only I never had Minecraft disabled, I tried to get the Technic pack for my Minecraft and to do so I got the newest version of Java and now whenever I try to open up regular Minecraft it fails.  I could show you if I knew how to add a video.
When I first open it up it is the same as normal but then it goes to a screen and it says would you like to update Minecraft I say 'Yes' on the button and then it starts to load it but then stops and doesn't move at all until it says (what I think is) the same error message as forest_patroler.

#10

xYopandax

Posted 12 July 2012 - 02:26 AM

View PostVegas212, on 12 July 2012 - 01:05 AM, said:

Hey I have the same problem only I never had Minecraft disabled, I tried to get the Technic pack for my Minecraft and to do so I got the newest version of Java and now whenever I try to open up regular Minecraft it fails.  I could show you if I knew how to add a video.
When I first open it up it is the same as normal but then it goes to a screen and it says would you like to update Minecraft I say 'Yes' on the button and then it starts to load it but then stops and doesn't move at all until it says (what I think is) the same error message as forest_patroler.

same exact thing for me

#11

starlinvf
    starlinvf

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3169 posts

Posted 12 July 2012 - 07:34 AM

Its a bug in Java 7. Go to   Start > Control Panel > Java > (new windows) Java tab, View button, and this to the Runtime Parameter line of the top listed java

-Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true

Hit ok, and Ok again.  They try it.

#12

forest_patroler
  • Location: Location
  • Minecraft: forest_patroler

Posted 12 July 2012 - 12:18 PM

View Poststarlinvf, on 12 July 2012 - 07:34 AM, said:

Its a bug in Java 7. Go to   Start > Control Panel > Java > (new windows) Java tab, View button, and this to the Runtime Parameter line of the top listed java

-Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true

Hit ok, and Ok again.  They try it.
So this makes my Minecraft work, but the permission denied:connect message comes up when I try to join a server.

#13

starlinvf
    starlinvf

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3169 posts

Posted 12 July 2012 - 12:43 PM

Are you running any IPv6 services on your home network?

#14

forest_patroler
  • Location: Location
  • Minecraft: forest_patroler

Posted 13 July 2012 - 03:50 PM

not that I know of

#15

starlinvf
    starlinvf

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3169 posts

Posted 13 July 2012 - 04:04 PM

Just uninstall java 7 and install java 6.   I got this weird feeling that the problem is something thats not gonna be easy to target and fix... so we may as well go with the shotgun route.

http://java.com/en/d...d/manual_v6.jsp

#16

newrecycle

Posted 17 July 2012 - 04:35 PM

now minecraft works but not tekkit... plz help

#17

LordZultair

Posted 17 July 2012 - 06:30 PM

Hi everyone. I seem to have this problem too.
Ive recently built a new gaming computer and when I launch Minecraft for the first time after downloading the .exe, and I login, I am asked if I want to update Minecraft (I assume this is for downloading the full game). If I click "Update Now," I get the "Error code (4) permission denied: connect" message. I downgraded to Java 6 and it still wont work. If I click "Not Now," Minecraft will freeze and say "Done Loading" when the progress bar is 95% complete. Do you think it might be my virus software?

#18

xYopandax

Posted 17 July 2012 - 09:46 PM

i have tried disabling norton, and still doesn't work. might be your virus software, but i wouldn't know.

#19

LordZultair

Posted 17 July 2012 - 10:54 PM

Yeah I have Norton as well, but I havent disabled it. I read somewhere else that another guy emailed Mojang and found that he needed to remove his firewall; but I dont even have one up so im not sure what to do.

#20

xYopandax

Posted 17 July 2012 - 11:23 PM

:/