Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Port forwarding trouble (Can't connect to server)


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 05 July 2012 - 09:46 PM

I'm trying to port forward my Minecraft server, and I'm pretty sure I did everything right, but when I try to connect to my server, I get a "Can't reach server" error. I entered in my IP as my physical IP (I used whatismyipadress.com or whatever its called). Additonally, this is what I have entered into my server.properties file. Not sure what the problem is.


#Minecraft server properties
#Thu Jul 05 16:26:17 EDT 2012
allow-nether=true
level-name=world
enable-query=false
allow-flight=false
server-port=25565
level-type=DEFAULT
enable-rcon=false
level-seed=
server-ip=
max-build-height=256
spawn-npcs=true
white-list=false
spawn-animals=true
hardcore=false
texture-pack=
online-mode=true
pvp=true
difficulty=2
gamemode=0
max-players=20
spawn-monsters=true
generate-structures=true
view-distance=10
motd=A Minecraft Server

Register or log in to remove.

#2

TehKitti
    TehKitti

    Sphynx

  • Retired Staff
  • 1577 posts
  • Location: St. Catharines, Ontario
  • Minecraft: TehKitti

Posted 05 July 2012 - 10:38 PM

Does connecting with localhost work?

Quote my post to receive a reply.

Global Rules | Servers Sectional Rules | Support Sectional Rules


#3

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 05 July 2012 - 10:52 PM

No, it does not.

#4

TehKitti
    TehKitti

    Sphynx

  • Retired Staff
  • 1577 posts
  • Location: St. Catharines, Ontario
  • Minecraft: TehKitti

Posted 05 July 2012 - 10:55 PM

Then this isn't a port forwarding issue. Your server is not starting for some reason. What does the console tell you?

Quote my post to receive a reply.

Global Rules | Servers Sectional Rules | Support Sectional Rules


#5

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 05 July 2012 - 10:59 PM

Turns out localhost is working now. When I try to connect through my physical IP, the connection times out.

#6

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 06 July 2012 - 12:50 AM

I managed to open my ports, but when I start up my server, I get this message:

[INFO] Starting minecraft server version 12w23b
[INFO] Loading properties
[INFO] Default game type: SURVIVAL
[INFO] Generating keypair
[INFO] Starting Minecraft server on *:25565
[WARNING] **** FAILED TO BIND TO PORT!
[WARNING] The exception was: java.net.BindException: Address already in use: JVM_Bind
[WARNING] Perhaps a server is already running on that port?

Any idea what could be the problem? As far as I know I don't have anything running on that port.

#7

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 06 July 2012 - 01:14 AM

^Scratch that. I got rid of the error message, but I still get a timed out connection when I try to connect using my physical IP.

#8

webrosc
    webrosc

    Kitty Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 8053 posts
  • Location: South West England
  • Minecraft: webrosc

Posted 06 July 2012 - 01:15 AM

do you have the server ip in the server.properties file? if so remove it....if not, have you done a reboot or checked your task manager for java running?

not all routers allow you to use the external ip to route back, try getting a friend to connect with the external ip

#9

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 06 July 2012 - 01:44 AM

I got a friend to try, and it didn't work.

#10

webrosc
    webrosc

    Kitty Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 8053 posts
  • Location: South West England
  • Minecraft: webrosc

Posted 06 July 2012 - 02:46 AM

http://canyouseeme.org does this say open or closed?

#11

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 06 July 2012 - 08:07 AM

it just says "connection timed out"

#12

gjellestad
  • Location: NoWay I tell you
  • Minecraft: Vlxxp
  • Xbox:dntTouchSan

Posted 06 July 2012 - 08:17 AM

It depends on what router you have.
What Router do you have
I would not prefer ADSL Routers
Posted Image

#13

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 06 July 2012 - 04:52 PM

It's a Belkin F5D7230-4. It's a rather old router, but the port forward DID work. I just can't get people (myself included) to connect to it.

#14

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 07 July 2012 - 05:50 AM

Anyone else got suggestions on whats wrong?

#15

3104558
    3104558

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Minecraft: 3104558

Posted 07 July 2012 - 12:24 PM

So, when you portforwarded, you used your internal IP address, right?
Is the port TCP/UDP and 25565 in starting port and ending port?
Are you sure you did EVERYTHING right?
I'm sorry for the bombardment of questions, but I'm just making sure. This seems like a portforwarding problem.
-3104558

#16

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 07 July 2012 - 04:56 PM

Yeah, I did all of that. I used portforward.com's port forward checker and it said that the port was open.

And yeah, thats fine. I just want to figure out what's wrong.

#17

Dx Bunee
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Wilddar

Posted 08 July 2012 - 08:23 AM

Anyone else with ideas?

#18

Troxle
    Troxle

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 15 July 2012 - 12:15 AM

Try addin'
"verify-names=true" underneath motd in the server.properties and then attempt to connect.  When I first set up my server that was my original problem.  I think somethin' has happened recently with Minecraft servers though because I am havin' issues of my own settin' up my server again.  I can get on no issues but my friends can't.

#19

The51CentsMine

Posted 19 July 2012 - 11:28 PM

I seem to be having the same problem and using verify-names=true doesnt do anything

#20

Sacrificer96

Posted 24 August 2012 - 01:09 PM

i am also having a problem with ports. i swithced my server to another computer, it starts up and runs fine but it wont let me connect with my external ip. Can someone help me please?