Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Unable to play Minecraft


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1

Rick6000
  • Location: Holland
  • Minecraft: Rick6000
  • Xbox:Ps3faal

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:59 PM

Hey people,


I just wanted to clear up my minecraft, so I deleted the whole file.

Then, I went to www.minecraft.net and re-downloaded minecraft.
When logging in (entering username & pass) It couldn't connect to minecraft.net

Also, the background (which should show the recent updates and notes) was now grey, and black text showed up on the upper-left corner:

<html><body><font color="#808080"><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><center>Failed to update news<br>java.net.SocketException: Connection reset</center></font></body></html>



So when logging in, I could


[Try again]
[Play offline]
Not downloaded!


So I can't play, since I have 'not downloaded' the game. But I can't download it because i can't connect to minecraft .net


I have a good internet connection, and have no problems with my internet.

Can anyone help me?

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Rick6000
  • Location: Holland
  • Minecraft: Rick6000
  • Xbox:Ps3faal

Posted 03 July 2012 - 04:57 PM

Nobody who can help?

#3

Rick6000
  • Location: Holland
  • Minecraft: Rick6000
  • Xbox:Ps3faal

Posted 03 July 2012 - 06:12 PM

bump

#4

donnyh13
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: donnyh13

Posted 03 July 2012 - 06:21 PM

i believe the mojang login servers are down again, youll have to wait :/, as for that error it would also be because of there servers being down i believe
If I've helped you, plaese push the Posted Image

#5

Sko
    Sko

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 2516 posts
  • Location: Europe

Posted 03 July 2012 - 06:22 PM

Downgrade to Java 1.6.0_33.

#6

Rick6000
  • Location: Holland
  • Minecraft: Rick6000
  • Xbox:Ps3faal

Posted 03 July 2012 - 07:02 PM

View PostSko, on 03 July 2012 - 06:22 PM, said:

Downgrade to Java 1.6.0_33.


really?

#7

Sko
    Sko

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 2516 posts
  • Location: Europe

Posted 03 July 2012 - 07:21 PM

View PostRick6000, on 03 July 2012 - 07:02 PM, said:

really?
Really.

#8

starlinvf
    starlinvf

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3169 posts

Posted 03 July 2012 - 09:54 PM

If you have AVG, disable the entire suite and let it patch.   The linkscanner service is known to create that problem, so disabling just the firewall or the AV doesn't address it.