Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

java.net.SocketException: Permission denied: connect


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1

Mudkip0930
  • Location: Hoenn
  • Minecraft: Mudkip0930

Posted 03 July 2012 - 12:09 PM

Well, today I started up the minecraft launcher. I noticed the news wasn't up and i saw that error. I thought nothing of it and logged in. It showed me a black screen and nothing else. Does anyone know how to fix this? I am running Windows 7 and have Norton 360 as an AV. If you need more information feel free to ask.


DERP: can i please have this moved to support?
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

SgtPoseidon

Posted 03 July 2012 - 01:59 PM

Try download a new launcher. Yours may be corrupt.

#3

Wolfpax
    Wolfpax

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 856 posts

Posted 03 July 2012 - 02:02 PM

Did you add any mods to your .jar?

Did you remember to delete the META folder if you added a mod?
Do you have a lovely bunch of coconuts?  Do you have them all standing in a row?  Are there big ones, small ones, some as big as your head?

#4

Mudkip0930
  • Location: Hoenn
  • Minecraft: Mudkip0930

Posted 03 July 2012 - 02:18 PM

View PostWolfpax, on 03 July 2012 - 02:02 PM, said:

Did you add any mods to your .jar?

Did you remember to delete the META folder if you added a mod?
No Mods

View PostSgtPoseidon, on 03 July 2012 - 01:59 PM, said:

Try download a new launcher. Yours may be corrupt.

Same Error Happens
Posted Image

#5

Epicness1324

Posted 03 July 2012 - 02:23 PM

Your launcher couldn't connect to Minecraft.net to receive the background picture, nothing to worry about :)
Posted Image
I am ninja'd far too often.

#6

Mudkip0930
  • Location: Hoenn
  • Minecraft: Mudkip0930

Posted 03 July 2012 - 02:31 PM

View PostEpicness1324, on 03 July 2012 - 02:23 PM, said:

Your launcher couldn't connect to Minecraft.net to receive the background picture, nothing to worry about Posted Image

I black screen afterwards......

It also happens when i try to start up Technic or a custom aether client i have
Posted Image

#7

Epicness1324

Posted 03 July 2012 - 02:48 PM

View PostMudkip0930, on 03 July 2012 - 02:31 PM, said:

I black screen afterwards......

It also happens when i try to start up Technic or a custom aether client i have

Try force updating
Posted Image
I am ninja'd far too often.

#8

Moranic
    Moranic

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1810 posts
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Minecraft: Moranic

Posted 03 July 2012 - 02:58 PM

Seems to me you just had some connection problems. Try again later or reinstall the game.

Btw: Friendly advice, delete Norton and get something else, Norton sucks as AV, used it and my computer had like 15 viruses on it. Norton detected 100% nothing. Microsoft Security Essentials saw 12 of em. Malwarebytes Antimalware got them all.
Posted Image

#9

Ragezors
    Ragezors

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 923 posts
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Minecraft: Ragezors

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:00 PM

Well, there is one drastic measure.
First of all go to your .minecraft folder
Go to the command prompt (Windows key + R) and type in appdata.
Go to roaming and .minecraft, now make a copy of your saves folder somewhere else.
Delete your .minecraft folder and restart minecraft from launcher you download from the site.
It will redownload everything. Once done, put back the saves folder in the .minecraft folder and it should work with your worlds intact.
To be sure I'll look at your thread/post again, quote my post. The notification that is send to me will alert me.

#10

cookio
    cookio

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:03 PM

I have a similar problem but its noting with a black screen. i log in and will im loging in right before it starts main menu it loads up minecraft but stops when its done loading. and stays there forever and it will not load. my internet works but please help.

#11

ULM_Mizoki
    ULM_Mizoki

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1021 posts
  • Location: Bill Cosby Puddin' Parade Bonanza
  • Minecraft: Mizoki
  • Xbox:PSN: Mizoki

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:16 PM

Is your java up to date? try downloading the latest version.
Posted Image

#12

Mudkip0930
  • Location: Hoenn
  • Minecraft: Mudkip0930

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:17 PM

View PostMoranic, on 03 July 2012 - 02:58 PM, said:

Seems to me you just had some connection problems. Try again later or reinstall the game.

Btw: Friendly advice, delete Norton and get something else, Norton sucks as AV, used it and my computer had like 15 viruses on it. Norton detected 100% nothing. Microsoft Security Essentials saw 12 of em. Malwarebytes Antimalware got them all.
is it strange that this has been going on for a day? and i took your advice, thx
Posted Image

#13

Mudkip0930
  • Location: Hoenn
  • Minecraft: Mudkip0930

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:25 PM

View PostULM_Mizoki, on 03 July 2012 - 03:16 PM, said:

Is your java up to date? try downloading the latest version.
I did that and it's still black screening D:
Posted Image

#14

Oohoa
    Oohoa

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 189 posts
  • Location: Living with the Mice on Venus
  • Minecraft: The_Oohoa
  • Xbox:Elite Oohoa

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:42 PM

View PostMudkip0930, on 03 July 2012 - 03:25 PM, said:

I did that and it's still black screening D:

Try this
1. go to run
2.type in %appdata%
3.click on run
4.click .minecraft
5.copy the folder labeled "saves"
6.place that copy somewhere away from the .minecraft folder and remember where you saved it
7. delete the .minecraft folder
8. go back to minecraft.net
9. reinstall minecraft
10. go back to run
11. type in %appdata%
12. click on the .minecraft folder
13. delete the saves folder INSIDE THE .minecraft folder
14. move the old saves folder to the .minecraft folder

Done! This worked for me and my brother. Here's a Posted Image  to help you

#15

Mudkip0930
  • Location: Hoenn
  • Minecraft: Mudkip0930

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:48 PM

View PostOohoa, on 03 July 2012 - 03:42 PM, said:

Try this
1. go to run
2.type in %appdata%
3.click on run
4.click .minecraft
5.copy the folder labeled "saves"
6.place that copy somewhere away from the .minecraft folder and remember where you saved it
7. delete the .minecraft folder
8. go back to minecraft.net
9. reinstall minecraft
10. go back to run
11. type in %appdata%
12. click on the .minecraft folder
13. delete the saves folder INSIDE THE .minecraft folder
14. move the old saves folder to the .minecraft folder

Done! This worked for me and my brother. Here's a Posted Image  to help you
I get stuck at step 9 because when i reinstall it it says Fatal Error: permission denied (4)
Posted Image

#16

Oohoa
    Oohoa

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 189 posts
  • Location: Living with the Mice on Venus
  • Minecraft: The_Oohoa
  • Xbox:Elite Oohoa

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:54 PM

This might help

View Poststarlinvf, on 02 July 2012 - 02:55 AM, said:

Be careful who blame for something.  If this was a code level issue, no one would be able to play.  If its a java level issue, it could be narrowed down to which versions had the bug.   If it was an OS native issue, it would had been easy to identify.  So all that leaves is software configurations.  Sadly the people who least understand the OS are also the ones that run the most problematic Anti-viruses, have no idea how to control them, and simply lets everything do what it wants.

Sadly, most people don't run a clean enough setup, more then half of that only know technical terms they heard on the internet, but have no idea what they mean, and the remainder have never heard of a DLL until the error told them about it.

Now look at the error  "Fatal error occured (4): Permission denied: connect".  If this really was just a code level issue, it would have to be doing an abnormal operation within the JVM, and would be easily replicated in a given JRE.   Since thats not the case, there is an external influence (somewhere between it and the network stack) that telling it the request won't be processed.   The only programs known to operate in that level are the OS, software Firewalls, Anti-viruses, Malware, and in rare cases, stack replacements (I'm looking at you AOL).

EDIT: Something is blocking you from redownloading it, like Norton or firewall

Edited by Oohoa, 03 July 2012 - 03:55 PM.


#17

Mudkip0930
  • Location: Hoenn
  • Minecraft: Mudkip0930

Posted 03 July 2012 - 04:03 PM

View PostOohoa, on 03 July 2012 - 03:54 PM, said:

This might help



EDIT: Something is blocking you from redownloading it, like Norton or firewall
my firewall crashed when i try to edit it. i have windows firewall as mine
Posted Image

#18

Oohoa
    Oohoa

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 189 posts
  • Location: Living with the Mice on Venus
  • Minecraft: The_Oohoa
  • Xbox:Elite Oohoa

Posted 03 July 2012 - 04:15 PM

Try downloading something else than norton for your AV, it sucks and it gets annoying pop-ups. Also, restart your computer and try editing the firewall and try to reinstall minecraft again. Restarting has always helped me.

#19

Mudkip0930
  • Location: Hoenn
  • Minecraft: Mudkip0930

Posted 03 July 2012 - 04:22 PM

View PostOohoa, on 03 July 2012 - 04:15 PM, said:

Try downloading something else than norton for your AV, it sucks and it gets annoying pop-ups. Also, restart your computer and try editing the firewall and try to reinstall minecraft again. Restarting has always helped me.
not using norton anymore
Posted Image

#20

linkseyi
    linkseyi

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 671 posts
  • Location: Massachusetts, USA
  • Minecraft: linkseyi

Posted 03 July 2012 - 04:42 PM

View PostOohoa, on 03 July 2012 - 04:15 PM, said:

Try downloading something else than norton for your AV, it sucks and it gets annoying pop-ups. Also, restart your computer and try editing the firewall and try to reinstall minecraft again. Restarting has always helped me.
Did you have the demo of Norton?  It doesn't have many pop-ups for me.
Posted Image