Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

HOW CAN I PORTFORWARD WITHOUT THE ROUTER PASSWORD


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic

#1

JARMANDER123

Posted 26 June 2012 - 08:59 PM

Hey everyone

I have made an awesome server. I spent a lot of time on the spawn, the jail etc. and now I want to make it public so everyone can join

As everyone knows, you have to either use hamachi or port forward to do this.

I do not want to use hamachi because if I do, everyone who wants to join will have to download hamachi and join my network. This is a pain for them and because of that, they'll probably go to a different server where they don't have to download anything

My parents changed the router password and username so they are NOT the default.

So my question is, how can I portforward without the router username and password? Can I run the server on another port that is already open? If so, what are some ports that are always open?

PLEASE HELP ME, I SPENT A LOT OF TIME ON THAT SERVER AND I WANT EVERYONE TO BE ABLE TO PLAY ON IT!

Thanks in advance

Register or log in to remove.

#2

VoidingNixx

Posted 26 June 2012 - 09:07 PM

You should ask your parents if they can open up port 25565 for you and forward it to your machine for your game.

#3

JARMANDER123

Posted 26 June 2012 - 09:09 PM

They won't, i already asked them. They hate video games

#4

VoidingNixx

Posted 26 June 2012 - 09:23 PM

Well, you should respect their wishes.  They are your parents... they know best. ;)

#5

JARMANDER123

Posted 26 June 2012 - 09:56 PM

View PostVoidingNixx, on 26 June 2012 - 09:23 PM, said:

Well, you should respect their wishes.  They are your parents... they know best. Posted Image
They don't, I do all of my work, all my chores and get good grades but they won't let me do anything

#6

Gibbynator
  • Location: Look behind you

Posted 26 June 2012 - 10:33 PM

Use LogMeIn Hamachi unmanaged. That way, you don't have to worry about ports. Play/make a hamachi server. Google how to do it, there are tons of tutorials.

#7

JohnTheRipper
  • Location: ::1

Posted 26 June 2012 - 10:52 PM

View PostJARMANDER123, on 26 June 2012 - 09:56 PM, said:

They don't, I do all of my work, all my chores and get good grades but they won't let me do anything
Too bad kiddo. If you don't like it, look up how to reset your router's password ;).
i7-3770K @ 4.5GHz, Hyper 212 Evo, 16GB 1600MHz RAM, Z77X-UD5H, GTX 670 OC, 256GB 840 Pro, 2TB + 500GB HDDs, Fractal R4, HX750 (with bonus fan noise), Dell U2713HM.

Please read the rules!
Global | Discussion | MnM | Other Platforms | Servers | Support | SyC | Off Topic
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.” — Albert Einstein
"Never try to teach a pig to sing; it wastes your time and it annoys the pig." — Robert Heinlein

Posted Image


#8

bbqroast
    bbqroast

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1019 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 09:04 PM

Only possible by reseting the router using the reset button (on the router, normally you have to use a paperclip). However this resets the memory of the device clearing all the passwords, usernames and settings (it will no longer be able to connect to the internet without the username and password the ISP gave your parents when they signed up).

Look simply put your parents do not want you running a Minecraft server on their network. Their are some good reasons for this:
1. It will use lots of bandwidth, which they have to pay for.
2. Your ISP may cancel your internet connection (many "unlimited" hosts do not allow users to run servers).
3. It will slow their internet to a crawl.

Maybe you should find another server to play on.
"Terminator like robots may one day rule the world, as long as they don't run Windows Vista"

#9

The0dark0shadow_
  • Location: Mc.buildcraftsmp.com?
  • Minecraft: the0dark0shadow

Posted 29 June 2012 - 03:48 AM

Um. Don't.
If my post above helped you please press the (/\) button. Thanks!

#10

Rogue
    Rogue

    Gambrinous

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 8734 posts
  • Location: Rochester, NY
  • Minecraft: Rogue
  • Xbox:RogueMurder

Posted 29 June 2012 - 03:49 AM

Resetting works. However, logic on your parents works better in the long run :)

Quote my post to make sure I see your reply - MCF Hosting CoordinatorPosted Image


#11

bbqroast
    bbqroast

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1019 posts

Posted 29 June 2012 - 10:02 AM

View PostAmberK, on 29 June 2012 - 03:49 AM, said:

Resetting works. However, logic on your parents works better in the long run Posted Image
Resetting would probably reset the user/pass the router uses to connect to the internet (the idea behind resetting is that it is safe because while the password is set to default so are all the things that are being protected). This username/password is set by your ISP and his/her parents will probably have to dig around for the papers to fix it (before probably grounding him for messing with stuff to achieve goals they have forbidden).
"Terminator like robots may one day rule the world, as long as they don't run Windows Vista"

#12

Rogue
    Rogue

    Gambrinous

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 8734 posts
  • Location: Rochester, NY
  • Minecraft: Rogue
  • Xbox:RogueMurder

Posted 29 June 2012 - 01:34 PM

Well wait, if we're talking about a router plugged into a modem, there's no finding passwords with that (last I checked)

Quote my post to make sure I see your reply - MCF Hosting CoordinatorPosted Image


#13

diggydiggymineraft

Posted 07 November 2012 - 01:54 AM

View PostJARMANDER123, on 26 June 2012 - 09:09 PM, said:

They won't, i already asked them. They hate video games
i now its not fare just wait to ur older or something :)

#14

diggydiggymineraft

Posted 07 November 2012 - 02:06 AM

just go to https://www.freeminecrafthost.com/ for a server u need to upgrade to get more stuff like plugins , more player oh and u sign up then u get ur ip then u build or stuff (u start with 4 player :( not far but good and i made a server the ip is 69.64.80.200:56581 so ye that get yus i server :))) thanks

View PostGibbynator, on 26 June 2012 - 10:33 PM, said:

Use LogMeIn Hamachi unmanaged. That way, you don't have to worry about ports. Play/make a hamachi server. Google how to do it, there are tons of tutorials.
ye but how wen ur not alowd :) !?!?!?

View Postbbqroast, on 29 June 2012 - 10:02 AM, said:

Resetting would probably reset the user/pass the router uses to connect to the internet (the idea behind resetting is that it is safe because while the password is set to default so are all the things that are being protected). This username/password is set by your ISP and his/her parents will probably have to dig around for the papers to fix it (before probably grounding him for messing with stuff to achieve goals they have forbidden).
its the pass word and it will whape out ur computer or laptop hense u will need to start from scrack but i put a link for wee u can make a server without chaneing the pass :))

View PostVoidingNixx, on 26 June 2012 - 09:07 PM, said:

You should ask your parents if they can open up port 25565 for you and forward it to your machine for your game.
or just go on this https://www.freeminecrafthost.com/

#15

TLande
    TLande

    Coal Miner

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 11:54 AM

View Postdiggydiggymineraft, on 07 November 2012 - 02:06 AM, said:

just go to https://www.freeminecrafthost.com/ for a server u need to upgrade to get more stuff like plugins , more player oh and u sign up then u get ur ip then u build or stuff (u start with 4 player Posted Image not far but good and i made a server the ip is 69.64.80.200:56581 so ye that get yus i server Posted Image)) thanks

ye but how wen ur not alowd Posted Image !?!?!?

its the pass word and it will whape out ur computer or laptop hense u will need to start from scrack but i put a link for wee u can make a server without chaneing the pass Posted Image)

or just go on this https://www.freeminecrafthost.com/

How many buttons is your keyboard missing? hehe.

I always thought you could find your router's password on the back of it. (If your parents haven't changed it that is)
However most routers don't have a PW, you simply type in the username which typically is something down the lines of "admin" and leave the password field blank.

#16

Greency99

Posted 18 December 2012 - 03:21 PM

Try using Port Map is a free tool for portfowarding without routers password, the only bad thing is that it only works for Mac

Oficial Link: http://www.codingmonkeys.de/portmap/

#17

ammarb36
    ammarb36

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1453 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Minecraft: Ammarb

Posted 18 December 2012 - 05:08 PM

I wouldn't go behind you parents' back. The chances are, they will find out you are doing that and you will be punished. There are no real "legal" ways of port forwarding without proper access to your router. If you respect your parent's wishes and gain a better relationship with them, they may let you portforward eventually.

#18

CaptiveCloud

Posted 18 December 2012 - 08:30 PM

Don't, either convince your parents to open a port for you or rent a server, going behind their back will only get you in trouble.