Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

How to run/execute a .jar file


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1

Jhurtta
    Jhurtta

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Jhurtta

Posted 16 January 2011 - 03:02 PM

Anybody want to help me to run .jar file ?

Okay:
I have Windows 7 64-bit
I have the newest Java 7
My .jar extension got hijacked by 7Zip. When I reinstalled 7Zip, no program got assigned to .jar files.
Now when I doubleclick .jar file (A patcher etc. SkinEdit...), it asks me for a program to open with.
The list doesn't have Java in it. I need to manually choose it to run with Java. And manually choosing doesn't work.

So, I need to know how I can assing .jar files back to Java.
Posted Image
[Admin & Server Co-Manager @ Duxville] | [Scroll down for Duxville links!]
[Duxville on Minestatus] | [Donate to Duxville!] | [Duxville on Steam]
Posted Image
[Co-Leader of Heads 'N' Shades]
Playing Minecraft since 17.9.2010 (the free weekend)

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Juze
    Juze

    Creeper Destroyer

  • Members
  • 5724 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Juze

Posted 16 January 2011 - 03:05 PM

And I've always had to patch files for you, such as MrMMods BetterLight... Someone help this guy out, I'm tired of that. ;)

And no, this is not about running Minecraft.jar, there is .exe for running Minecraft and OP can run Minecraft with no trouble. It's just the extension being troublematic, especially for modding.
Posted Image
AngelCraft 64 Texture Pack v2.0.2 (Beta 1.8.1)
Posted Image
Posted Image
Nerd, geek, server admin, guy wearing a rainbow skin (with an office suit of epicness)? That's me.

Swingerzetta said:

Juze has spoken, and so it will be.

Doomthief said:

1. Cry a river
2. Build a bridge
3. Get over it

#3

Break
    Break

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 16 January 2011 - 03:06 PM

http://www.kreslavsk... ... istry.html

Edit the registry.
Posted Image

#4

Jhurtta
    Jhurtta

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Jhurtta

Posted 16 January 2011 - 03:13 PM

Break said:

Yay! Now I try to run/execute my .jar files with Nokia Ovi Suite 2

Clearly it didn't help:
Posted Image
Posted Image
[Admin & Server Co-Manager @ Duxville] | [Scroll down for Duxville links!]
[Duxville on Minestatus] | [Donate to Duxville!] | [Duxville on Steam]
Posted Image
[Co-Leader of Heads 'N' Shades]
Playing Minecraft since 17.9.2010 (the free weekend)

#5

okal
    okal

    Glowstone Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 3497 posts
  • Location: UK

Posted 16 January 2011 - 04:22 PM

Lots of ways to do this, how about:
1) right-click the .jar.
2) Select Open with...
3) If Java listed select it and ensure Always use the selected program... is ticked.
4) Else click Browse and go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java.exe - Note (x86) in path is for the 32-bit version, if 64-bit installed use that instead.

#6

Jhurtta
    Jhurtta

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Jhurtta

Posted 16 January 2011 - 04:37 PM

epikal said:

Lots of ways to do this, how about:
1) right-click the .jar.
2) Select Open with...
3) If Java listed select it and ensure Always use the selected program... is ticked.
4) Else click Browse and go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java.exe - Note (x86) in path is for the 32-bit version, if 64-bit installed use that instead.
If you read this:
The list doesn't have Java in it. I need to manually choose it to run with Java. And manually choosing doesn't work.
Posted Image
[Admin & Server Co-Manager @ Duxville] | [Scroll down for Duxville links!]
[Duxville on Minestatus] | [Donate to Duxville!] | [Duxville on Steam]
Posted Image
[Co-Leader of Heads 'N' Shades]
Playing Minecraft since 17.9.2010 (the free weekend)

#7

okal
    okal

    Glowstone Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 3497 posts
  • Location: UK

Posted 16 January 2011 - 04:50 PM

Try manually via a Command Prompt, this should generate a meaningful error:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java.exe" -Xmx1024M -Xms512M -jar "X:\PathtoJar\Minecraft.jar"

Just noticed my 7-Zip has no file association option for .jar, are you certain you did not modify/save the jar in another format?

#8

Jhurtta
    Jhurtta

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Jhurtta

Posted 16 January 2011 - 05:10 PM

epikal said:

Try manually via a Command Prompt, this should generate a meaningful error:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java.exe" -Xmx1024M -Xms512M -jar "X:\PathtoJar\Minecraft.jar"

Just noticed my 7-Zip has no file association option for .jar, are you certain you did not modify/save the jar in another format?
Holy moly! That made the program launch.
Posted Image
[Admin & Server Co-Manager @ Duxville] | [Scroll down for Duxville links!]
[Duxville on Minestatus] | [Donate to Duxville!] | [Duxville on Steam]
Posted Image
[Co-Leader of Heads 'N' Shades]
Playing Minecraft since 17.9.2010 (the free weekend)

#9

Jhurtta
    Jhurtta

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Jhurtta

Posted 17 January 2011 - 07:08 AM

Now I can run the program, good.
But there are many .jar programs that I need to run. Is there any easier way to do that :P ?
Posted Image
[Admin & Server Co-Manager @ Duxville] | [Scroll down for Duxville links!]
[Duxville on Minestatus] | [Donate to Duxville!] | [Duxville on Steam]
Posted Image
[Co-Leader of Heads 'N' Shades]
Playing Minecraft since 17.9.2010 (the free weekend)

#10

Jhurtta
    Jhurtta

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Jhurtta

Posted 20 January 2011 - 06:09 PM

This is a BUMP to get answer.
Posted Image
[Admin & Server Co-Manager @ Duxville] | [Scroll down for Duxville links!]
[Duxville on Minestatus] | [Donate to Duxville!] | [Duxville on Steam]
Posted Image
[Co-Leader of Heads 'N' Shades]
Playing Minecraft since 17.9.2010 (the free weekend)

#11

warty
    warty

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 258 posts

Posted 20 January 2011 - 06:12 PM

I take you have tried reinstalling java..

#12

Jhurtta
    Jhurtta

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Jhurtta

Posted 20 January 2011 - 06:34 PM

warty said:

I take you have tried reinstalling java..
About 5 times.
Posted Image
[Admin & Server Co-Manager @ Duxville] | [Scroll down for Duxville links!]
[Duxville on Minestatus] | [Donate to Duxville!] | [Duxville on Steam]
Posted Image
[Co-Leader of Heads 'N' Shades]
Playing Minecraft since 17.9.2010 (the free weekend)

#13

TheGuardian001

Posted 20 January 2011 - 06:40 PM

Right click the .jar
Open With
Choose default program
Browse (just below the list, right hand side. It's a button.)
Manually find the Java exe

#14

Jhurtta
    Jhurtta

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Jhurtta

Posted 20 January 2011 - 08:16 PM

TheGuardian001 said:

Right click the .jar
Open With
Choose default program
Browse (just below the list, right hand side. It's a button.)
Manually find the Java exe
Read the OP?

"The list doesn't have Java in it. I need to manually choose it to run with Java. And manually choosing doesn't work."
Posted Image
[Admin & Server Co-Manager @ Duxville] | [Scroll down for Duxville links!]
[Duxville on Minestatus] | [Donate to Duxville!] | [Duxville on Steam]
Posted Image
[Co-Leader of Heads 'N' Shades]
Playing Minecraft since 17.9.2010 (the free weekend)

#15

okal
    okal

    Glowstone Miner

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 3497 posts
  • Location: UK

Posted 20 January 2011 - 09:59 PM

This looks like it should work:
Windows7 .jar file association broken with Nokia OVI

#16

TheGuardian001

Posted 20 January 2011 - 11:04 PM

^Jone$ said:

TheGuardian001 said:

Right click the .jar
Open With
Choose default program
Browse (just below the list, right hand side. It's a button.)
Manually find the Java exe
Read the OP?

"The list doesn't have Java in it. I need to manually choose it to run with Java. And manually choosing doesn't work."
Yes, manually running Minecraft with Java (at least, running the .jar in %appdata%) will not work. Minecraft needs to be run through the launcher. But doing that will restore the association with Java for all Jar files.

#17

Jhurtta
    Jhurtta

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Jhurtta

Posted 21 January 2011 - 12:32 PM

TheGuardian001 said:

Yes, manually running Minecraft with Java (at least, running the .jar in %appdata%) will not work. Minecraft needs to be run through the launcher. But doing that will restore the association with Java for all Jar files.
I'm not trying to run Minecraft game. I can run it fine. I'm trying to use some mod etc. patchers that are .jar files.
Posted Image
[Admin & Server Co-Manager @ Duxville] | [Scroll down for Duxville links!]
[Duxville on Minestatus] | [Donate to Duxville!] | [Duxville on Steam]
Posted Image
[Co-Leader of Heads 'N' Shades]
Playing Minecraft since 17.9.2010 (the free weekend)

#18

Jhurtta
    Jhurtta

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 527 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Jhurtta

Posted 25 January 2011 - 01:29 PM

Problem solved :)
Posted Image
[Admin & Server Co-Manager @ Duxville] | [Scroll down for Duxville links!]
[Duxville on Minestatus] | [Donate to Duxville!] | [Duxville on Steam]
Posted Image
[Co-Leader of Heads 'N' Shades]
Playing Minecraft since 17.9.2010 (the free weekend)

#19

ReignMac
    ReignMac

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 03 June 2012 - 09:38 AM

man i tried to play adventurecraft but it didnt work i tried to change the program manualy it didnt work it just opens a console and closes need help....... thx

#20

ReignMac
    ReignMac

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 03 June 2012 - 09:44 AM

help meh