Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Minecraft.exe won't launch

minecraft .exe wont launch please help

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1

Shiznoe
    Shiznoe

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Shiznoe22

Posted 09 June 2012 - 10:47 PM

My minecraft.exe won't launch and for some reason I have done many things to launch it, and it hasn't worked. I want to know if anyone else experiences this problem or someone can help me fix it.

I have re-installed minecraft.

I have added more RAM/memory to minecraft.

I have tried to use the Linux version

I have tried to launch it with the .bat

I have updated Java

I have downloaded 64 bit java

I think there are others but that is it for now.  I really need someone's help with this because I really want to get back to playing minecraft with friends and keep adding videos to youtube.

I have a 64 bit computer

With Windows 7

I have enough memory on my computer for minecraft

I have updated all my drivers and video cards

If you need any more questions answered I can tell you if you post below.  Please help!

Thank you.

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Shiznoe
    Shiznoe

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Shiznoe22

Posted 10 June 2012 - 06:37 PM

Bump

#3

zombiejill
  • Location: Washington State, USA
  • Minecraft: zombiejill
  • Xbox:ZombieJill

Posted 10 June 2012 - 06:47 PM

Have you tried running the launcher as an administrator? It's a magical fix for everything in Windows OS's. Have you tried an alternative launcher, such as Magic Launcher? There are others, that is just the only one I've used.

#4

Shiznoe
    Shiznoe

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Shiznoe22

Posted 10 June 2012 - 06:58 PM

View Postzombiejill, on 10 June 2012 - 06:47 PM, said:

Have you tried running the launcher as an administrator? It's a magical fix for everything in Windows OS's. Have you tried an alternative launcher, such as Magic Launcher? There are others, that is just the only one I've used.
Yes, I have tried running it in administrator but I don't believe I have used magic launcher.  Let me try that and I will see if it works.

#5

zombiejill
  • Location: Washington State, USA
  • Minecraft: zombiejill
  • Xbox:ZombieJill

Posted 10 June 2012 - 07:01 PM

If that doesn't work, I'm really not sure- but it seems to be a common problem, judging by how many people are having it. I don't' suffer from it myself, and I switch between Magic Launcher and the normal Launcher. If you can't find Magic Launcher, it is linked off the OptiFine mod thread, as it is by the same individual.

#6

Shiznoe
    Shiznoe

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Shiznoe22

Posted 10 June 2012 - 07:06 PM

I have seen that magic launcher does not work.  But what it does do, is that it shows it is in the taskbar below it just doesn't have the window loaded up.

View Postzombiejill, on 10 June 2012 - 07:01 PM, said:

If that doesn't work, I'm really not sure- but it seems to be a common problem, judging by how many people are having it. I don't' suffer from it myself, and I switch between Magic Launcher and the normal Launcher. If you can't find Magic Launcher, it is linked off the OptiFine mod thread, as it is by the same individual.
So more people are suffering from it than me?  Wow I thought I was the only one with this weird problem

#7

zombiejill
  • Location: Washington State, USA
  • Minecraft: zombiejill
  • Xbox:ZombieJill

Posted 10 June 2012 - 07:10 PM

View PostShiznoe, on 10 June 2012 - 07:06 PM, said:

I have seen that magic launcher does not work.  But what it does do, is that it shows it is in the taskbar below it just doesn't have the window loaded up.


So more people are suffering from it than me?  Wow I thought I was the only one with this weird problem

No,if you go back and look at threads, a lot of people are having a problem. It's the weirdest thing... the launcher's the only thing that hasn't broken on my over the years! If you happen to have had MC for that long, you could try the old launcher? Or try to scrounge up a download link for it? Not sure if it would even help, but it's worth a shot.

#8

Shiznoe
    Shiznoe

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Shiznoe22

Posted 10 June 2012 - 07:44 PM

View Postzombiejill, on 10 June 2012 - 07:10 PM, said:

No,if you go back and look at threads, a lot of people are having a problem. It's the weirdest thing... the launcher's the only thing that hasn't broken on my over the years! If you happen to have had MC for that long, you could try the old launcher? Or try to scrounge up a download link for it? Not sure if it would even help, but it's worth a shot.
I have found and downloaded an older minecraft launcher and that has not worked either.  I am starting to get really angry with this problem.

#9

Shiznoe
    Shiznoe

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Shiznoe22

Posted 11 June 2012 - 12:52 AM

If anyone else has this problem and knows how to solve it please help

#10

Shiznoe
    Shiznoe

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Shiznoe22

Posted 15 June 2012 - 02:24 AM

Alright!  Temporary fix is that I installed the latest version of MCPatcher and I can play single player so now I can at least record minecraft game play but only by my self.

But what I do not understand is that it takes my .jar file from my .minecraft folder and plays that so I don't think it is anything to do with my .jar file!

I think it has something to do with the launcher if someone could help me out so I can manipulate to make it so I just use the .jar and not the launcher if that makes sense?

#11

starlinvf
    starlinvf

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3169 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 02:43 AM

java -jar minecraft.jar  (with the proper file locations)



But what actually happens when you try to use the launcher?  Does anything show up, like a blank window, or does javaw.exe even launch in the process list?

#12

zackadiax24
  • Location: america,toledo,ohio
  • Minecraft: zackadiax24

Posted 15 June 2012 - 09:44 PM

View Poststarlinvf, on 15 June 2012 - 02:43 AM, said:

java -jar minecraft.jar  (with the proper file locations)



But what actually happens when you try to use the launcher?  Does anything show up, like a blank window, or does javaw.exe even launch in the process list?

my launcher wont even open up i ran as admin but it still did not work i blew up my computer and it STILL did not work

Posted Image


#13

gerbil
    gerbil

    Support Guru

  • Members
  • 4908 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 10:09 PM

You need to explain exactly what happens.  A generic "doesn't work" is totally inadequate and won't get you any answers.

It's like saying you can't drive somewhere.   Why not?  no keys, no gas, no car? keys locked in car? dead battery?