Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Failed to connect to the server


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1

jfrank94
    jfrank94

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location: Florida, US
  • Minecraft: JFrank94

Posted 09 June 2012 - 02:09 PM

Hello everyone!

I have tried to connect to A LOT of different servers and EVERYTIME I get an error that states "Failed to connect to the server 'Connection timed out: connect' "

I have had this problem for months and can't figure out what's wrong. I have updated my java to 7 update 4. (2.1.0). Also, I have this same problem on my laptop.

My PC specs:
  • Windows 7(64-bit)
  • 12 GB RAM (7.99 GB usable)
  • Intel Core i7 CPU @ 2.67GHz
  • GeForce GTX 580
Thanks for any help you can give! Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

ixcesal
    ixcesal

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 95 posts
  • Location: Lubin, Poland
  • Minecraft: ixcesal

Posted 09 June 2012 - 05:07 PM

What version of minecraft have you got?
I

#3

jfrank94
    jfrank94

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location: Florida, US
  • Minecraft: JFrank94

Posted 10 June 2012 - 05:30 PM

The latest, 1.2.5.

#4

jfrank94
    jfrank94

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location: Florida, US
  • Minecraft: JFrank94

Posted 11 June 2012 - 05:11 PM

Bumb, any ideas??

#5

SupaSaru
    SupaSaru

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 905 posts

Posted 11 June 2012 - 05:18 PM

Every PC on your home network has the same problem connecting to a MineCraft server on port 25565?

View PostMrSpaM, on 15 June 2012 - 02:50 PM, said:

Seriously, wtf does any of that even mean? it sounds like what your saying has been translated into japanese and then back into english again

#6

ixcesal
    ixcesal

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 95 posts
  • Location: Lubin, Poland
  • Minecraft: ixcesal

Posted 11 June 2012 - 05:19 PM

Try to connect: 83.1.134.34, I'll check server logs.

Let me know about time, when you try.

#7

jfrank94
    jfrank94

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location: Florida, US
  • Minecraft: JFrank94

Posted 11 June 2012 - 05:41 PM

View PostSupaSaru, on 11 June 2012 - 05:18 PM, said:

Every PC on your home network has the same problem connecting to a MineCraft server on port 25565?

Yes.

View Postixcesal, on 11 June 2012 - 05:19 PM, said:

Try to connect: 83.1.134.34, I'll check server logs.

Let me know about time, when you try.
I just now tried to join at 13:39 Eastern time. Thanks for your help Posted Image

#8

ixcesal
    ixcesal

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 95 posts
  • Location: Lubin, Poland
  • Minecraft: ixcesal

Posted 11 June 2012 - 05:52 PM

Nothink on server side.
And if it is problem on all your computer, this is your router or internet connection problem.

Try sign into minecraft.net, and try web client (http://www.minecraft.net/play)

#9

jfrank94
    jfrank94

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location: Florida, US
  • Minecraft: JFrank94

Posted 11 June 2012 - 05:57 PM

I can log in and play single player via minecraft.net, but I still can't connect to your server. If it is my router or internet connection, how would I go about testing it or fixing it?

#10

ixcesal
    ixcesal

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 95 posts
  • Location: Lubin, Poland
  • Minecraft: ixcesal

Posted 11 June 2012 - 06:24 PM

What you see at www.whatismyip.com?

#11

jfrank94
    jfrank94

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location: Florida, US
  • Minecraft: JFrank94

Posted 11 June 2012 - 06:57 PM

What do you need my IP address first?

#12

ixcesal
    ixcesal

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 95 posts
  • Location: Lubin, Poland
  • Minecraft: ixcesal

Posted 11 June 2012 - 06:59 PM

I want to check what kind of type public adress have you got, it looks like you can't open all ports.

Do it on cmd command prompt:

tracert sv.craft4u.pl

and paste output

#13

domdomegg
    domdomegg

    Zombie Killer

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 226 posts
  • Location: London, England, UK
  • Minecraft: domdomegg

Posted 11 June 2012 - 07:02 PM

Do you have a firewall system, eg. Norton because that could be blocking your connection to the server?

Also, try hosting your own basic server, can you join it at "localhost"? If so it is something to do with your internet connection, eg. firewall anti-virus. If it doesn't work, its a problem with Minecraft. Try deleting the 'bin' folder in your minecraft folder. Let it regenerate and see if it works.

#14

SupaSaru
    SupaSaru

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 905 posts

Posted 11 June 2012 - 07:22 PM

View Postjfrank94, on 11 June 2012 - 05:41 PM, said:

Yes.

If you have the same issue on all machines across your home network, it definitely sounds like there's something wrong with the network (not MineCraft, not Java, not that machine, etc).  Unless you have some sort of security software on each PC that could be causing it.  To verify, if you have access to something like 'telnet' or similar you could try using that to connect to 25565.

Other programs work fine, right?  You're reaching the forums from the same PCs and network?

A timed out connection could also suggest that you might be blacklisted from the server side from playing on that server - server operators might choose this option if they're receiving DDoS or a lot of griefing from a specific IP range and it may not have anything to do with you at all.  You did say that you've tried several including ixcesal's server, so that's probably not the issue.

View PostMrSpaM, on 15 June 2012 - 02:50 PM, said:

Seriously, wtf does any of that even mean? it sounds like what your saying has been translated into japanese and then back into english again

#15

jfrank94
    jfrank94

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location: Florida, US
  • Minecraft: JFrank94

Posted 11 June 2012 - 07:44 PM

View Postixcesal, on 11 June 2012 - 06:59 PM, said:

I want to check what kind of type public adress have you got, it looks like you can't open all ports.

Do it on cmd command prompt:

tracert sv.craft4u.pl

and paste output
"C:\Users\Frank(laptop)>tracert sv.craft4u.pl

Tracing route to sv.craft4u.pl [83.1.132.10]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1 3 ms 4 ms 3 ms  192.168.1.1
  2 9 ms    10 ms    10 ms  10.122.48.1
  3    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  ten0-1-0-7.orld17-ser2.bhn.net [72.31.195.8]
  4    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  ten0-6-0-2.orld48-car2.bhn.net [71.44.61.62]
  5   145 ms    27 ms    22 ms  ten0-10-0-5.orld71-car2.bhn.net [71.44.61.44]
  6    24 ms    22 ms    22 ms  hun0-6-0-0.orld71-cbr3.bhn.net [72.31.193.22]
  7    28 ms    26 ms    28 ms  ae-4-11.cr1.atl20.tbone.rr.com [66.109.10.14]
  8    59 ms   203 ms   204 ms  107.14.19.36
  9   129 ms    27 ms    26 ms  107.14.19.13
10    49 ms   203 ms   203 ms  Vlan557.icore1.A56-Atlanta.as6453.net [209.58.44
.53]
11    26 ms    26 ms    26 ms  if-5-0-0-50.har1.A56-Atlanta.as6453.net [64.86.9
.13]
12   143 ms   203 ms   203 ms  if-3-1200.tcore1.AEQ-Ashburn.as6453.net [66.198.
154.33]
13 *   233 ms * xe-3-1-1-0.ashtr1.Ashburn.opentransit.net [193.2
51.248.121]
14   200 ms   203 ms   203 ms  xe-2-1-0-0.lontr2.London.opentransit.net [193.25
1.240.13]
15   223 ms   203 ms   203 ms  tengige0-0-0-2.ffttr3.Frankfurt.opentransit.net
[193.251.132.21]
16 *     *     * Request timed out.
17   209 ms   202 ms   203 ms  wro-ar2.tpnet.pl [195.205.0.94]
18   225 ms   202 ms   203 ms  80.50.143.242
19   230 ms   202 ms   203 ms  83.1.132.10

Trace complete."

It has to be a network issue since I am having it occur on for then one PC. I do not have a 3rd party program for a firewall. I only use the windows one.

#16

SupaSaru
    SupaSaru

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 905 posts

Posted 11 June 2012 - 08:04 PM

Have you tried setting up your own server?

You could leave the default port 25565 and attempt to connect to your public ip (from whatsmyip.com or wherever).

You can also try changing the default port in server.properties.  You would then connect to it from your MineCraft client by choosing "Direct Connect" and typing in the IP, a colon and the port.  For example, a private IP with a specific port would be Direct Connect -> 192.168.1.1:25566 (you'll want to put your public IP in there, though).

It's possible, but doesn't seem likely, that your ISP may not allowing connections to 25565.  There may be some configuration on the router, too, but this doesn't seem likely, either.

View PostMrSpaM, on 15 June 2012 - 02:50 PM, said:

Seriously, wtf does any of that even mean? it sounds like what your saying has been translated into japanese and then back into english again

#17

jfrank94
    jfrank94

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location: Florida, US
  • Minecraft: JFrank94

Posted 11 June 2012 - 09:04 PM

View PostSupaSaru, on 11 June 2012 - 08:04 PM, said:

Have you tried setting up your own server?

You could leave the default port 25565 and attempt to connect to your public ip (from whatsmyip.com or wherever).

You can also try changing the default port in server.properties.  You would then connect to it from your MineCraft client by choosing "Direct Connect" and typing in the IP, a colon and the port.  For example, a private IP with a specific port would be Direct Connect -> 192.168.1.1:25566 (you'll want to put your public IP in there, though).

It's possible, but doesn't seem likely, that your ISP may not allowing connections to 25565.  There may be some configuration on the router, too, but this doesn't seem likely, either.
I made a Bukkit Server and forwarded the 25565 port. I can not connect to it using my IP, but I can by using "localhost".

#18

ixcesal
    ixcesal

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 95 posts
  • Location: Lubin, Poland
  • Minecraft: ixcesal

Posted 11 June 2012 - 10:33 PM

Quote

1 3 ms 4 ms 3 ms 192.168.1.1
2 9 ms 10 ms 10 ms 10.122.48.1
3 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms ten0-1-0-7.orld17-ser2.bhn.net [72.31.195.8]

OK,
1 it is your router (gateway)
3 it is ISP public Gateway

but  2 10.122.48.1 it is interesting, this is not public IP adress, class 10.0.0.0 is reserved for  private networks (lan).
So if is it adress from your ISP network, maybe it is proxy server or other network node, which block some ports to internet direction.

#19

jfrank94
    jfrank94

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Location: Florida, US
  • Minecraft: JFrank94

Posted 11 June 2012 - 11:19 PM

So, what should I do at this point?

#20

SupaSaru
    SupaSaru

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 905 posts

Posted 12 June 2012 - 12:24 AM

If it's multiple PCs and you simply connect connect over 25565.... there may be something blocking you at the ISP level.  Maybe you can give them a call?

Have you tried putting your Bukkit server on an alternate port like 25566 or similar to see if it's just that port that appears blocked?

View PostMrSpaM, on 15 June 2012 - 02:50 PM, said:

Seriously, wtf does any of that even mean? it sounds like what your saying has been translated into japanese and then back into english again