Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

How do other people join my MC server?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

Zwiebelritter

Posted 13 January 2011 - 09:41 PM

Hi guys,

so i set up a simple server using minecraft server.exe. I connect myself to my server by typing "localhost" into the IP field. But what´s the ip adress the other player has to enter in order to join my server. It doesn´t work with my IP.

When looking into the server.properties, the field behind "server-ip=" is blank.

What is the ip adress to my server?

Register or log in to remove.

poisonedfate

Posted 13 January 2011 - 10:14 PM

I'm doing the same thing you are. tbh I have no idea. I'm just learning this stuff too.

Oh hey, did you read the first topic up on the board? I think that may be the right way to do it.
Plus, make sure you edit your server.properties file so you can customize your stuff.

albinsson
  • Minecraft: Albinsson

Posted 13 January 2011 - 10:32 PM

I have the same problem, I don't seem to find the "external url" so others can join. The stickied post about this says that you should look for a text file named Externalur to get it but I can't find none like it.

My server ip was also was blank in the server properties txt, is this the problem or is it normal?

I have the newest server software by the way, so it should not be out-dated.

Iskill
    Iskill

Tree Puncher

• Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 14 January 2011 - 12:52 AM

It most likely doesn't work with your IP because you have not port forwarded correctly.

porkmonstr

Posted 14 January 2011 - 01:00 AM