Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

How to Install DrZhark's Mo' Creatures mod SMP


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1

Bobbert_The_Frog
  • Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Minecraft: omgcreeperman

Posted 02 June 2012 - 04:38 AM

Hey guys, I'm gonna give a quick and easy simple tutorial to set up your own Minecraft server, and how to install DrZhark's Mo' Creatures mod on it.

1. Download the server.jar file directly from Minecraft.net, and ONLY download it from Minecraft.net, as anywhere else it might be a virus.

2. Make a folder and name it what you like, and put the server.jar file in the folder.

3. Make a new text document, and paste: "java -Xms1024M -Xmx1024m -jar minecraft_server.jar nogui" inside of it, without the quotations. save the file and name it: startserver.bat, and change the file type to "all files" instead of "text document".

4. Double-click the startserver.bat to ensure that it works, and so all the options documents appear in the server folder.

5. Download Minecraft Forge SMP build 90 or later, and download Mo' Creatures SMP (any version will work, although the newest is preferable)

6. Open the server.jar file and MCForgeSMP with WinRAR, and press ctrl+a to highlight the class files/folders in the Forge window, and drag and drop them into the server.jar. DO NOT delete META-INF, because it isn't required to be deleted for server mods, and the server needs it.

7. Create a new folder inside the server folder called "mods", without the quotations, and drag and drop the Mo' Creatures SMP jar folder inside the mods folder.

8. Test your server again to ensure that Mo' Creatures will load, you will see it in the server command window, it should say something like this: (loading mods from "wherever you have the server folder placed", Forge Modloader has loaded 2 mods.) then somewhere a little bit further down is should say: (Minecraft Forge v"whatever version forge is" Initialized var2 = mods/mocreatures)

9. Make sure you have the same Client version of Mo' Creatures installed in your normal singleplayer Minecraft, if you don't, please refer to the Mo' Creatures mod page for installation help.

10. Your server now has Mo' Creatures installed, now get your friends on it and have fun!

(if you want to allocate more RAM to the server for more linear gameplay, then do this: java -Xms1024M -Xmx(change this number here to a different number, preferably 2g for a fast yet less resource-intensive server)  -jar minecraft_server.jar nogui
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

sniperj20

Posted 05 June 2012 - 01:21 PM

will this also work for other mods like ugocraft??

#3

Bobbert_The_Frog
  • Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Minecraft: omgcreeperman

Posted 14 June 2012 - 01:11 AM

View Postsniperj20, on 05 June 2012 - 01:21 PM, said:

will this also work for other mods like ugocraft??
I'm not sure, as of now, I have ExtrabiomesXL SMP, and Mo' Creatures SMP installed, and they both work fine. It should work, as long as there are no class file conflicts or Item/Block ID conflicts.
Posted Image

#4

gwgibs
    gwgibs

    Newly Spawned

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 June 2012 - 05:37 AM

how do you change the file type to all files instead of text document

#5

NotSpeltWrong
  • Location: The event horizon of a black hole,where time and space are so warped that people looking at me see me as standing still, while in fact the gravity is so strong it turns me into a long strand of spaghetti right before i fall into infinite nothingness.
  • Minecraft: ownzyaface
  • Xbox:NotSpeltWrong

Posted 19 June 2012 - 02:42 PM

I Know How to Install it Already But Good Job.
Good to See People Helping The Newer Players Here!
Posted Image

#6

Bobbert_The_Frog
  • Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Minecraft: omgcreeperman

Posted 21 June 2012 - 02:31 AM

View Postgwgibs, on 19 June 2012 - 05:37 AM, said:

how do you change the file type to all files instead of text document
When you save your text file, click on "save as" name it startserver.bat, and near the bottom it says "save as type" click on .bat, if it doesn't say that, then it should say BATCH file. Hope this helps!

View PostNotSpeltWrong, on 19 June 2012 - 02:42 PM, said:

I Know How to Install it Already But Good Job.
Good to See People Helping The Newer Players Here!
Why thank you :)
Posted Image

#7

RandomProfanity

Posted 21 June 2012 - 05:00 PM

I would love it if one of you that knows how to install extrabiomesXL on a jar, might help me out with this My batch file didn't work and when i copy the forge files it says the archive is corrupt Posted Image

Also, if i just start the server by clicking the actual jar it gives me the files but when i try to drag the forge files into it, tells me the archive is corrupt.
‚Äč Posted Image

#8

Bobbert_The_Frog
  • Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Minecraft: omgcreeperman

Posted 21 June 2012 - 11:13 PM

View PostRandomProfanity, on 21 June 2012 - 05:00 PM, said:

I would love it if one of you that knows how to install extrabiomesXL on a jar, might help me out with this My batch file didn't work and when i copy the forge files it says the archive is corrupt Posted Image

Also, if i just start the server by clicking the actual jar it gives me the files but when i try to drag the forge files into it, tells me the archive is corrupt.
Installing ExtrabiomesXL is the same as installing Mo' Creatures, just install ForgeSMP into the server.jar, and then the ExtrabiomesXL SMP into the .jar. If it says the archive is corrupt, then try re-downloading the server.jar from Minecraft.net, hope this helps! and about your batch file problem, do you think you could give a little bit more detail to your problem? Thanks Posted Image
EDIT: Oops, and I forgot that you need to have the same version of Extrabiomes as the server version installed on your client.
Posted Image

#9

frostbitex_5

Posted 22 June 2012 - 05:52 AM

hey man, so i did everything to your instructions, but when i open up the server.exe command window, it doesn't load the mods, so if you can help, that would be gnarly, thanks bro.

#10

Bobbert_The_Frog
  • Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Minecraft: omgcreeperman

Posted 24 June 2012 - 04:48 AM

View Postfrostbitex_5, on 22 June 2012 - 05:52 AM, said:

hey man, so i did everything to your instructions, but when i open up the server.exe command window, it doesn't load the mods, so if you can help, that would be gnarly, thanks bro.
The server.exe window? There shouldn't be a server.exe file dude, just the .jar and your batch file and the usual other files like the .prop and stuff. Could you maybe post a screenshot? That'd help me understand your problem alot better, thanks!
Posted Image

#11

TechnoScrabble

Posted 26 June 2012 - 04:59 AM

For some reason, my server has no server.jar, though it runs just fine.

#12

frostbitex_5

Posted 27 June 2012 - 09:56 PM

View PostBobbert_The_Frog, on 24 June 2012 - 04:48 AM, said:

The server.exe window? There shouldn't be a server.exe file dude, just the .jar and your batch file and the usual other files like the .prop and stuff. Could you maybe post a screenshot? That'd help me understand your problem alot better, thanks!
ok so i deleted everything inside my server file, (My friend's gonna be real pissed, but mo'creatures will make it up.) I put in the server.jar, made the startserver.bat text file. But there is no batch file appearing in there. So some help will be greatly appreciated. Also, i run a hamachi server so if the server is going to start up it needs something like a server.exe file running. Would the batch file take the place?.

#13

Bobbert_The_Frog
  • Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Minecraft: omgcreeperman

Posted 27 June 2012 - 10:56 PM

View Postfrostbitex_5, on 27 June 2012 - 09:56 PM, said:

ok so i deleted everything inside my server file, (My friend's gonna be real pissed, but mo'creatures will make it up.) I put in the server.jar, made the startserver.bat text file. But there is no batch file appearing in there. So some help will be greatly appreciated. Also, i run a hamachi server so if the server is going to start up it needs something like a server.exe file running. Would the batch file take the place?.
For the batch file to actually appear as a batch file, you have to make sure you save it as a batch file, which is done by changing the "save as type" option near the bottom of the window when naming/placing/saving the text document, and with hamachi you need nothing of the sort to run the server, you go into the .props file of the server folder and change the server IP to the same IP as your hamachi network. Hope this helps!

View PostTechnoScrabble, on 26 June 2012 - 04:59 AM, said:

For some reason, my server has no server.jar, though it runs just fine.
That is quite unusual, so you have the server up and running good, along with mo' creatures installed with no server jar? Or just a normal server?
Posted Image

#14

frostbitex_5

Posted 27 June 2012 - 11:50 PM

View PostBobbert_The_Frog, on 27 June 2012 - 10:56 PM, said:

For the batch file to actually appear as a batch file, you have to make sure you save it as a batch file, which is done by changing the "save as type" option near the bottom of the window when naming/placing/saving the text document, and with hamachi you need nothing of the sort to run the server, you go into the .props file of the server folder and change the server IP to the same IP as your hamachi network. Hope this helps!
so i know i put the hamachi ip, but im saying that for the server to run it needs something like the server.exe running, and without it, how do i get the server running, does the bath file do that for me? Also, for some reason, my computer doesn't give me the option to save as a batch file in that area. Only as a .txt, and all files. If I am making you facepalm on your desk, im sorry, but i am a complete newb in this area.

#15

tomsawyer123

Posted 29 June 2012 - 03:05 AM

Yay! Now I can host Mo' creatures!Posted Image
Posted Image
I used to be a adventurer like you, till I took a arrow to the patella.

#16

Bobbert_The_Frog
  • Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Minecraft: omgcreeperman

Posted 01 July 2012 - 07:18 AM

View Posttomsawyer123, on 29 June 2012 - 03:05 AM, said:

Yay! Now I can host Mo' creatures!Posted Image
Congratulations! Let me know how its going for you :)

View Postfrostbitex_5, on 27 June 2012 - 11:50 PM, said:

so i know i put the hamachi ip, but im saying that for the server to run it needs something like the server.exe running, and without it, how do i get the server running, does the bath file do that for me? Also, for some reason, my computer doesn't give me the option to save as a batch file in that area. Only as a .txt, and all files. If I am making you facepalm on your desk, im sorry, but i am a complete newb in this area.
The .batch file starts the server yes, it's kind of like the Client launcher in a way, that's what the server.jar is for, and as for the batch file save options, all you do is click on all files, and when you save it it will automatically convert into a .bat file. And it's no problem, I like helping people who need it.
Posted Image

#17

foreverblu
  • Location: Coruscant
  • Minecraft: foreverblu

Posted 03 July 2012 - 04:38 AM

i tried that didnt work...i use mac so its start.command....someone plz help!
Posted Image <-------Help this poor little hatchling and watch it grow! It needs you :) Just1 Click on the picture would help a lot~~!!! THX!

#18

foreverblu
  • Location: Coruscant
  • Minecraft: foreverblu

Posted 03 July 2012 - 06:17 AM

i tried everything/...someone plz help or sen me a minecraft.jar
Posted Image <-------Help this poor little hatchling and watch it grow! It needs you :) Just1 Click on the picture would help a lot~~!!! THX!

#19

Bobbert_The_Frog
  • Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Minecraft: omgcreeperman

Posted 03 July 2012 - 07:59 AM

View Postforeverblu, on 03 July 2012 - 06:17 AM, said:

i tried everything/...someone plz help or sen me a minecraft.jar
Oh your on mac? Sorry bud... I only know how to do PC :(
Posted Image

#20

foreverblu
  • Location: Coruscant
  • Minecraft: foreverblu

Posted 03 July 2012 - 10:00 AM

thx for replying though :)....ill try to ask the more advanced ppl :)
Posted Image <-------Help this poor little hatchling and watch it grow! It needs you :) Just1 Click on the picture would help a lot~~!!! THX!