Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

32 or 64 bit Java?


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1

apocalypse_r
  • Location: 0x00000000 (Every time you visit, a program dies.)
  • Minecraft: notch

Posted 13 January 2011 - 07:09 AM

Which do you have installed?
BEFORE YOU ANSWER
open a command prompt and type or paste the following:
java -version
you are using 64 bit java IF AND ONLY IF the phrase 64-bit appears.
for example:
java version "1.6.0_21"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_21-b07)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 17.0-b17, mixed mode)
When I run it on my 32 bit laptop, I get instead:
java version "1.6.0_22"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_22-b04)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 17.1-b03, mixed mode, sharing)
Which version do you use for minecraft?  I typically use the 64 bit version whenever possible because the RAM ceiling is higher and Minecraft has ... RAM FATNESS ISSUES.  I have only very rarely had issues with the game crashing for any reason apart from something I did to it (like blowing up 12000 blocks of tnt)

That being said, you might see a performance increase if you download minecraft.jar from the site and run it with:
java -Xmx2G -Xms512M -cp Minecraft.jar net.minecraft.LauncherFrame
provided you have the RAM to do so.

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Iskandar

Posted 13 January 2011 - 08:58 AM

64 bit Java, as of now.

And thanks for this topic, you made me go check my Java install, and I found out that I had the wrong version.

I just checked Minecraft, my FPS seems to have close to doubled, from 80 ish FPS, to 13-140 FPS.  Will need further testing, but I think that should solve quite a bit of the random lag issue I was having.

#3

onezerotwo

Posted 13 January 2011 - 09:08 AM

when I type java -version into my cmd window it says

'java' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file

So I must run minecraft without Java! using MAGIC

#4

Havixus
    Havixus

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 581 posts

Posted 13 January 2011 - 09:27 AM

Since I've got a 64bit OS, I'm using 64bit Java.

#5

BrenyBee
    BrenyBee

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 832 posts
  • Location: AUS
  • Minecraft: BrenyBeast

Posted 13 January 2011 - 09:41 AM

@Havixus i thought that too but you can still use the 32 bit java you have to like set it up a bit sometimes.

Posted Image


#6

Markus
    Markus

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 273 posts
  • Minecraft: maurilius

Posted 13 January 2011 - 09:50 AM

Well, I have a 32 bit operating system.  So, I think I'm stuck with 32 bit Java, unless I've completely misunderstood the differences between 32 and 64 bit programs.
Banish Ugly Grey Boxes with Markus' GUI retexture.  Based on vanilla textures.

virulentRant said:

Your matriarch hath acquired so much mass that her inertia is greater than most people relatively.

#7

Juze
    Juze

    Creeper Destroyer

  • Members
  • 5724 posts
  • Location: Finland
  • Minecraft: Juze

Posted 13 January 2011 - 09:51 AM

I use both 64-bit and 32-bit Java on my 64-bit system. Besides, Minecraft doesn't need more than 4GB of RAM, only a few server clients do.
Posted Image
AngelCraft 64 Texture Pack v2.0.2 (Beta 1.8.1)
Posted Image
Posted Image
Nerd, geek, server admin, guy wearing a rainbow skin (with an office suit of epicness)? That's me.

Swingerzetta said:

Juze has spoken, and so it will be.

Doomthief said:

1. Cry a river
2. Build a bridge
3. Get over it

#8

apocalypse_r
  • Location: 0x00000000 (Every time you visit, a program dies.)
  • Minecraft: notch

Posted 13 January 2011 - 09:58 AM

Havixus said:

Since I've got a 64bit OS, I'm using 64bit Java.

AHA!!! BUT THIS IS A LOAD OF BOGUS.  I highly recommend that you check.

follow the directions in the first post.  I'll bet you 10 internets that you have the 32 bit version.

Juze said:

I use both 64-bit and 32-bit Java on my 64-bit system. Besides, Minecraft doesn't need more than 4GB of RAM, only a few server clients do.

I really want to believe you, I really do... besides, the 32 bit JVM will only run with 1.2GB. (-Xmx1200M) Any higher and you will get errors about heap initialization.

Anyway, you would probably sh*t a few bricks if you knew how much RAM I have seen minecraft use at once.  It's written in Java, the biggest RAM hog program ever written.

#9

apocalypse_r
  • Location: 0x00000000 (Every time you visit, a program dies.)
  • Minecraft: notch

Posted 13 January 2011 - 10:02 AM

Markus said:

Well, I have a 32 bit operating system.  So, I think I'm stuck with 32 bit Java, unless I've completely misunderstood the differences between 32 and 64 bit programs.

yep, you're stuck with 32 bit.

onezerotwo said:

when I type java -version into my cmd window it says

'java' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file

So I must run minecraft without Java! using MAGIC

Nope.  your path variable just doesn't include it.  try:
cd %programfiles%\java[press tab key]\java\jre[press tab key]\bin
java -version


#10

Havixus
    Havixus

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 581 posts

Posted 13 January 2011 - 10:16 AM

apocalypse_r said:

Havixus said:

Since I've got a 64bit OS, I'm using 64bit Java.

AHA!!! BUT THIS IS A LOAD OF BOGUS.  I highly recommend that you check.

follow the directions in the first post.  I'll bet you 10 internets that you have the 32 bit version.

Juze said:

I use both 64-bit and 32-bit Java on my 64-bit system. Besides, Minecraft doesn't need more than 4GB of RAM, only a few server clients do.

I really want to believe you, I really do... besides, the 32 bit JVM will only run with 1.2GB. (-Smx1200M) Any higher and you will get errors about heap initialization.

Anyway, you would probably sh*t a few bricks if you knew how much RAM I have seen minecraft use at once.  It's written in Java, the biggest RAM hog program ever written.
You owe me 10 internets, I checked AND double checked. I've got 64 bit Java, now suck on it.

#11

Havixus
    Havixus

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 581 posts

Posted 13 January 2011 - 10:18 AM

Screenshot for proof-
Posted Image

#12

SmallieBigs

Posted 13 January 2011 - 10:53 AM

Havixus said:

Since I've got a 64bit OS, I'm using 64bit Java.

not this.

apocalypse_r said:

Havixus said:

Since I've got a 64bit OS, I'm using 64bit Java.

AHA!!! BUT THIS IS A LOAD OF BOGUS.  I highly recommend that you check.

follow the directions in the first post.  I'll bet you 10 internets that you have the 32 bit version.
this.


Havixus said:

You owe me 10 internets, I checked AND double checked. I've got 64 bit Java, now suck on it.

*www.java.com ..... install ...... post.*

WiseGuy57 said:

123zc1 said:

Goose_ said:

Do Amish players use redstone?

Thing is, how are they playing Minecraft if it runs on a computer?

Don't explain the joke...

#13

apocalypse_r
  • Location: 0x00000000 (Every time you visit, a program dies.)
  • Minecraft: notch

Posted 13 January 2011 - 12:06 PM

Havixus said:

Screenshot for proof-
-snip-

+10 internets to you. your internets were revoked because you tried to pull a sneaky.
you should also edit your post, the entire point of my first post is that 64bit windows != 64bit java, which is kind of what the post looks like.

you sure you didn't install it after you noticed that you were wrong? an hour is an awful long time to run 1 line of code...  IIRC, the installation itself goes smoothly, but the download is about as smooth as a bucket of gravel. WITH SPIKES.

#14

atiaxi
    atiaxi

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 711 posts
  • Location: Washington, DC
  • Minecraft: atiaxi

Posted 13 January 2011 - 12:17 PM

apocalypse_r said:

you sure you didn't install it after you noticed that you were wrong? an hour is an awful long time to run 1 line of code...  

It looks like he installed the 64-bit java in response to a different problem shortly before this thread, not in response to it.

@Haxivius:  I think you're seeing a lot of sudden responses to your post because people are interpreting "Since I've got a 64bit OS, I'm using 64bit Java." as meaning "64-bit Java came with my 64-bit OS", which is of course the opposite of what the OP is saying.  What I'm guessing you're actually saying is "Because I run a 64-bit OS, I took pains to make sure I'm running a 64-bit Java", which is what the OP is advocating.

This is one of those fun threads where everyone is actually agreeing without knowing it :Skeleton:
This forum ticked me off so much I went to random.org and set my password to something I'll never be able to remember, then switched my password reset to a throwaway.

#15

thanos8587

Posted 13 January 2011 - 03:10 PM

i would have sworn i had 64 bit java as well until i read you had to go to the java site using a 64 bit browser for it to let you download java 64 bit. sure enough i only had the 32 bit. i went back using 64 bit internet explorer and it took me right to the 64 bit download. actually a noticeable improvement. kinda makes sense. oh, and if you do this you should remove 32 bit java manually or you will have both 32 and 64 and minecraft will use the 32. thats what mine did anyway.

thanos8587

#16

Rolerzzz
    Rolerzzz

    Newly Spawned

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 January 2011 - 03:12 AM

Hi, i have trouble getting my minecraft to run under 64 bit java rte. It gives me this message:
Posted Image
Here is my java version:
Posted Image

Anyone has any idea how to fix this?

EDIT: Problem solved. I deleted the old MC and downloaded a fresh one.

#17

triggerfin
    triggerfin

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 965 posts
  • Minecraft: Tfin

Posted 23 January 2011 - 03:50 AM

Microsoft stupidy defaults the IE version on the 64-bit OSs to the 32-bit version.

You need to navigate to the Program Files (not x86) folder and find the 64-bit IE there. Run that, and go to java.com, because Oracle stupidly assumes the only thing you want java for is web browsing.

From the java website, using IE64, you can get java64.

That's how you get it legitimately from a source you can trust. A double-stupid source, but still.
Fan Metric: Franc Time!

#18

IrridescentBlade
  • Location: New Jersey
  • Minecraft: PaulC

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:14 AM

i have a 64 bit system, but its running on a 32 bit java D:
how do i upgrade it?

#19

Havixus
    Havixus

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 581 posts

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:24 AM

IrridescentBlade said:

i have a 64 bit system, but its running on a 32 bit java D:
how do i upgrade it?
Refer to the post directly above yours.

#20

IrridescentBlade
  • Location: New Jersey
  • Minecraft: PaulC

Posted 23 January 2011 - 02:52 PM

Havixus said:

IrridescentBlade said:

i have a 64 bit system, but its running on a 32 bit java D:
how do i upgrade it?
Refer to the post directly above yours.

I use firefox tho.....
and when i tried that it said i already had the newest version of Java installed.