Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

How to increase upload speed?

minecraft speed

  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1

OrbisGaming

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:25 PM

PING: 20ms
Download speed: 19.35
Upload speed: 1.98

Now apparently i can host around 6 players.. if i got a 10 upload speed i can do 30 players? According to some website,But how do I actually increase it?

Register or log in to remove.

#2

baggerboot
    baggerboot

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 4866 posts
  • Minecraft: baggerboot

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:27 PM

Not Sillen. Confusing.

You can't really increase your upload speed unless you're willing to pay more for a better internet plan.
~$

#3

Nimphina
    Nimphina

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 18361 posts
  • Location: IRC land
  • Minecraft: blockPAVer

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:28 PM

By switching to a better internet plan.

#4

OrbisGaming

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:35 PM

Okay I use virgin media, What's the best internet plan for 10 upload speed?

#5

foil
    foil

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:42 PM

whatever gives u a higher upload speed, It tells you on the different packages for sale.  Simple really.
Yarr

#6

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:59 PM

View PostOrbisGaming, on 26 May 2012 - 11:35 PM, said:

Okay I use virgin media, What's the best internet plan for 10 upload speed?
10Mbps?

I'm not sure any home line in the UK even sells that kind of service, if they do it certainly isn't cheap.

Hell, no home line in the US outside of fiber (FiOS) sells that kind of upload speed. I'm lucky to get 3Mbps upload on my cable line.

#7

JohnTheRipper
  • Location: ::1

Posted 27 May 2012 - 03:03 AM

View Postfm87, on 26 May 2012 - 11:59 PM, said:

10Mbps?

I'm not sure any home line in the UK even sells that kind of service, if they do it certainly isn't cheap.

Hell, no home line in the US outside of fiber (FiOS) sells that kind of upload speed. I'm lucky to get 3Mbps upload on my cable line.

IIRC, Comcast (and Mediacom) does 100/10 over cable.
i7-3770K @ 4.5GHz, Hyper 212 Evo, 16GB 1600MHz RAM, Z77X-UD5H, GTX 670 OC, 256GB 840 Pro, 2TB + 500GB HDDs, Fractal R4, HX750 (with bonus fan noise), Dell U2713HM.

Please read the rules!
Global | Discussion | MnM | Other Platforms | Servers | Support | SyC | Off Topic
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.” — Albert Einstein
"Never try to teach a pig to sing; it wastes your time and it annoys the pig." — Robert Heinlein

Posted Image


#8

Minecraftguy105
  • Location: Somewhere

Posted 27 May 2012 - 03:14 AM

If you live in the US or Canada, Bell has a deal for 25/10 internet with 150GB of storage space or something for only like 50$ or something
New account: FrozenOblivion, Contact me there, not here
Desktop (not yet built): i7 2600k/3770k, Gtx 680 DCII/Twin Frozr III, 16gb ram, 2TB Seagate hard drive, 500R/650D. psu that I haven't decided on yet

#9

randosity42

Posted 27 May 2012 - 05:53 AM

its cheaper and more convient to just pay for remote hosting...

#10

moschopsuk

Posted 27 May 2012 - 08:28 AM

View Postfm87, on 26 May 2012 - 11:59 PM, said:

10Mbps?

I'm not sure any home line in the UK even sells that kind of service, if they do it certainly isn't cheap.

Hell, no home line in the US outside of fiber (FiOS) sells that kind of upload speed. I'm lucky to get 3Mbps upload on my cable line.

Actually we have, Virgin Media top end package is 100mbps down/10mpbs up. Its price after the intial 3 months when its cheaper is £38.90 ~($60) per month.

If you need a better upload speed and if you can get it, try to get BT Infinity, there top end package is 80mbps down / 20 mbps up, This £36.75 ~($57) per month.

This also includes the phone packages that they bind to the internet packages.

#11

Gringo_Starr

Posted 27 May 2012 - 09:07 AM

View Postfm87, on 26 May 2012 - 11:59 PM, said:

10Mbps?

I'm not sure any home line in the UK even sells that kind of service, if they do it certainly isn't cheap.

Hell, no home line in the US outside of fiber (FiOS) sells that kind of upload speed. I'm lucky to get 3Mbps upload on my cable line.

Yeah, what moschopsuk said above - the UK is far ahead of the US in terms of cable broadband coverage (apparently Virgin Media covers nearly 50% of the UK). Of course, that's no surprise really, given the geographical factors.

View PostPhoinex567, on 19 March 2012 - 01:45 PM, said:

Hm I Want To Make A Endless age like minecraft But I Want it to be diffrent I'm thinking And I know It's gonna Have Something from like A diffrent game But Kinda Has Like Other Stuff Completely Diffrent I Got To think.

#12

d34dbox91
  • Location: UK!

Posted 27 May 2012 - 09:53 AM

if your willing to pay 40 -50 pounds hyperoptic do 1gig download and IIRC like 20 upload (not too sure but i think its around that)

#13

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 27 May 2012 - 09:43 PM

View Postbattlekid, on 27 May 2012 - 03:03 AM, said:

IIRC, Comcast (and Mediacom) does 100/10 over cable.
I meant as in consumer/home/affordable lines.

Comcast's 100/10 plan is $780/month here.

Though apparently the UK even has better affordable internet plans than us. Yeesh.

#14

MattVon
    MattVon

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Minecraft: MattVon

Posted 27 May 2012 - 09:47 PM

View PostOrbisGaming, on 26 May 2012 - 11:35 PM, said:

Okay I use virgin media, What's the best internet plan for 10 upload speed?
By 10 upload speed, do you mean 10Mbps upload? Better off just going for the XL package and if you're in one of their upgrade areas, you'll get a free upgrade to 100Mbps, to then 120Mbps (downsteam), though I'm yet to find what the upload speed is for them.

#15

CentrallyProcessed
    CentrallyProcessed

    SCT Overlord bow in fear before his might

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 5328 posts
  • Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Posted 27 May 2012 - 09:53 PM

View PostMattVon, on 27 May 2012 - 09:47 PM, said:

By 10 upload speed, do you mean 10Mbps upload? Better off just going for the XL package and if you're in one of their upgrade areas, you'll get a free upgrade to 100Mbps, to then 120Mbps (downsteam), though I'm yet to find what the upload speed is for them.
Virgin Media operates a 10:1 download:upload package. 10Mbps:1Mbps, 30Mbps:3Mbps, 60Mbps:6Mbps, 100Mbps:10Mbps, 120Mbps:12Mbps. Though, their 1.5Gbps prototypes would be nice, even with 10:1. 1500Mbps:150Mbps.
C# and D programmer, web designer and developer.

I am a representative of DemonVPS. (https://www.DemonVPS.com)

#16

MattVon
    MattVon

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Minecraft: MattVon

Posted 27 May 2012 - 10:36 PM

View PostCentrallyProcessed, on 27 May 2012 - 09:53 PM, said:

Virgin Media operates a 10:1 download:upload package. 10Mbps:1Mbps, 30Mbps:3Mbps, 60Mbps:6Mbps, 100Mbps:10Mbps, 120Mbps:12Mbps. Though, their 1.5Gbps prototypes would be nice, even with 10:1. 1500Mbps:150Mbps.
Sweet, thanks. I look forward to my upgrade then.

#17

JohnTheRipper
  • Location: ::1

Posted 27 May 2012 - 10:45 PM

View Postfm87, on 27 May 2012 - 09:43 PM, said:

I meant as in consumer/home/affordable lines.

Comcast's 100/10 plan is $780/month here.

Though apparently the UK even has better affordable internet plans than us. Yeesh.
Wut. You can get it in most major cities for $200.

Sonic is running $70 1gbps trials in California.

Chattanooga has 1gbps for $350.

Verizon FiOS has $200 150mbps lines.

The real problem in America is that if you don't live in a major city, you can't get the ridiculously fast lines. This is because the US is much, much bigger than other countries, and thus running fiber/fast cable is an issue.

And, even when there's a fiber backbone (like where I live), the "last mile" ends up being prohibitively expensive.
i7-3770K @ 4.5GHz, Hyper 212 Evo, 16GB 1600MHz RAM, Z77X-UD5H, GTX 670 OC, 256GB 840 Pro, 2TB + 500GB HDDs, Fractal R4, HX750 (with bonus fan noise), Dell U2713HM.

Please read the rules!
Global | Discussion | MnM | Other Platforms | Servers | Support | SyC | Off Topic
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.” — Albert Einstein
"Never try to teach a pig to sing; it wastes your time and it annoys the pig." — Robert Heinlein

Posted Image


#18

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 27 May 2012 - 11:08 PM

View Postbattlekid, on 27 May 2012 - 10:45 PM, said:

Wut. You can get it in most major cities for $200.

Sonic is running $70 1gbps trials in California.

Chattanooga has 1gbps for $350.

Verizon FiOS has $200 150mbps lines.

The real problem in America is that if you don't live in a major city, you can't get the ridiculously fast lines. This is because the US is much, much bigger than other countries, and thus running fiber/fast cable is an issue.

And, even when there's a fiber backbone (like where I live), the "last mile" ends up being prohibitively expensive.
You are missing the part where all of this is regional, sometimes stupidly so.

FiOS has $45/mo ~15 miles from here, that doesn't mean that I even have access to it however. The same for comcast. They upcharge here because they are literally the only ISP, all the other ISPs here are owned by them, run on their lines and use their technicians/hardware. The 100Mbps line is ~$700-800/month and currently only available in the "business" tier, not home, where I live and for most of the city.

It's not like it's a small city either, we have a population of ~110,000. We are a major city. Not all major cities have the kind of access you seem to think they do.


I also find the first 100Mbps link to be particular BS as I am already paying $200 for what I have, as is everyone else I know, even those who just have the internet.


Keep in mind, we've had cable internet for almost 10 years now (we had a cable modem back in 2004 before comcast ate up bell Atlantic/the regional AT&T division) and a fiber line that is sitting unused in our basement since 2008-2009ish.

#19

JohnTheRipper
  • Location: ::1

Posted 27 May 2012 - 11:13 PM

View Postfm87, on 27 May 2012 - 11:08 PM, said:

You are missing the part where all of this is regional, sometimes stupidly so.

FiOS has $45/mo ~15 miles from here, that doesn't mean that I even have access to it however. The same for comcast. They upcharge here because they are literally the only ISP, all the other ISPs here are owned by them, run on their lines and use their technicians/hardware. The 100Mbps line is ~$700-800/month and currently only available in the "business" tier, not home, where I live and for most of the city.

It's not like it's a small city either, we have a population of ~110,000. We are a major city. Not all major cities have the kind of access you seem to think they do.


I also find the first 100Mbps link to be particular BS as I am already paying $200 for what I have, as is everyone else I know, even those who just have the internet.

Well, not in every major city, but both of them. It sounds like people in that area already have access to FiOS, although you don't seem to have it. Business lines are almost always much more expensive than residential lines, that price doesn't surprise me. I'd assume that you have 50mbps cable there though, right? Bond two of those together if you're desperate for 100mbps downloads, although it'll be expensive.

Also, $200/mo? What exactly do you have? I highly doubt that $200 is for internet alone, and if it is, then that's quite impressively overpriced. What speeds do you pay for?

There are no DSL providers in your city? Typically a city has DSL and cable, and sometimes fiber, but it's extremely rare to only have one of them.
i7-3770K @ 4.5GHz, Hyper 212 Evo, 16GB 1600MHz RAM, Z77X-UD5H, GTX 670 OC, 256GB 840 Pro, 2TB + 500GB HDDs, Fractal R4, HX750 (with bonus fan noise), Dell U2713HM.

Please read the rules!
Global | Discussion | MnM | Other Platforms | Servers | Support | SyC | Off Topic
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.” — Albert Einstein
"Never try to teach a pig to sing; it wastes your time and it annoys the pig." — Robert Heinlein

Posted Image


#20

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 27 May 2012 - 11:18 PM

Quote

I'd assume that you have 50mbps cable there though, right?
No. The max home line that is remotely affordable is 20/3 at ~$200/month. The next tier down is 15/1 at $130/mo. There is no tier above the 20/3 line for home.

There is a single DSL tier from all providers since they are all owned by comcast. They offer 3-12 down and .5-2 up at variable speeds ('up to' 15 down and 3 up) for $70/mo.

For business they have a few more tiers:
  • 5/1 @ $80/mo
  • 15/2 @ $170/mo
  • 30/5 @ $340/mo
  • (they used to have a business tier for 45/7 but they stopped offering it a year or two ago)
  • 100/10 (realistic speeds around 80/9) @ $700-800/mo

Quote

There are no DSL providers in your city? Typically a city has DSL and Cable, and sometimes fiber, but it's extremely rare to only have one of them.
They all got bought out by comcast. They drive the xfinity trucks with a small logo on the door saying what small company they were/are a part of. They still run on comcast's lines and use their equipment and they are employed by them.



I've researched this quite a bit. My family and I are absolutely goddamn sick of comcast and their BS.

Originally, we were paying $120/mo for digital cable+movies+sports package, 2 phone lines and 35/5 internet.

Now we are paying $220/mo for barebones basic digital cable, 1 phone line, and 20/3 internet.