Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

GTX 680 + Minecraft


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1

xxkenabunkportrxx
  • Location: California
  • Minecraft: xxkenabunkportxx

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:34 PM

Hi everyone, I was just wondering how many FPS a gtx 680 would get in minecraft.
Thank you.
Current PC: CPU: Intel Core i7-3930K @ 4GHz 6-Core--CPU Cooler: Nocuta NH-D14 CPU Cooler/--Motherboard: MSI X79A-GD45 ATX  LGA2011 Motherboard/--Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Z Series 16GB/--Video Card: Asus Radeon HD 7970 3GB

Register or log in to remove.

#2

SeaWry
    SeaWry

    End Dweller

  • Members
  • 7078 posts
  • Location: Ameristralia
  • Minecraft: Flutterwry

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:36 PM

0 FPS, why you ask

Because Minecraft demands more on your CPU then your GPU.

What CPU do you have.

#3

Minecraftguy105
  • Location: Somewhere

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:41 PM

680+Good CPU+4GB-8GB RAM+Minecraft=a lot of fps.
A GPU alone can't run minecraft. You need a monitor, a cpu, ram, hdd or sdd (preferably HDD or both), psu, etc
New account: FrozenOblivion, Contact me there, not here
Desktop (not yet built): i7 2600k/3770k, Gtx 680 DCII/Twin Frozr III, 16gb ram, 2TB Seagate hard drive, 500R/650D. psu that I haven't decided on yet

#4

Huntlocker
  • Location: Norway
  • Minecraft: Huntlocker

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:41 PM

As long as the rest of your specs are good enough to not bottleneck the 680 you will not have any problems at all running Minecraft.

Posted Image
-Huntlocker, also known as Cereneron Felmiril, Elf Hunter-


#5

Minecraftguy105
  • Location: Somewhere

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:45 PM

No one is too sure of the fps for minecraft.
Since no one buys the gtx 680 to only play MC
Edit: Antvenom did, nvm
New account: FrozenOblivion, Contact me there, not here
Desktop (not yet built): i7 2600k/3770k, Gtx 680 DCII/Twin Frozr III, 16gb ram, 2TB Seagate hard drive, 500R/650D. psu that I haven't decided on yet

#6

xxkenabunkportrxx
  • Location: California
  • Minecraft: xxkenabunkportxx

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:59 PM

View PostFlutterwry, on 26 April 2012 - 11:36 PM, said:

0 FPS, why you ask

Because Minecraft demands more on your CPU then your GPU.

What CPU do you have.
a 2600k with 16gb of ram
Current PC: CPU: Intel Core i7-3930K @ 4GHz 6-Core--CPU Cooler: Nocuta NH-D14 CPU Cooler/--Motherboard: MSI X79A-GD45 ATX  LGA2011 Motherboard/--Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Z Series 16GB/--Video Card: Asus Radeon HD 7970 3GB

#7

SeaWry
    SeaWry

    End Dweller

  • Members
  • 7078 posts
  • Location: Ameristralia
  • Minecraft: Flutterwry

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:00 AM

Then it will run as high as it wants, well that is as high as you want it to.

However 60FPS is all you need really, just wasting energy and making more heat when you don't vsync.

#8

reziful101
  • Location: South America
  • Minecraft: reziful

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:05 AM

View PostMinecraftguy105, on 26 April 2012 - 11:45 PM, said:

No one is too sure of the fps for minecraft.
Since no one buys the gtx 680 to only play MC
Edit: Antvenom did, nvm
I continue wondering why he has a fucking 3960X... Does he realize how overkill that is? A 2600K would do fine...
AMD Phenom II 965 @ 3.40GHz | 4GB 1600MHz | Antec 300 Mid-Tower Case | Sapphire Radeon HD 6770 | 500GB Western Digital Blue 7200RPM | ASRock M3A770DE AM3 Motherboard | Light-On DVD / CD Drive | Corsair 600W 80+ PSU |

#9

baggerboot
    baggerboot

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 4864 posts
  • Minecraft: baggerboot

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:10 AM

View Postreziful101, on 27 April 2012 - 12:05 AM, said:

I continue wondering why he has a fucking 3960X... Does he realize how overkill that is? A 2600K would do fine...
His post says he has a 2600K... Did he edit it?
~$

#10

not_a_zombie
  • Minecraft: not_a_zombie

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:22 AM

View Postbaggerboot, on 27 April 2012 - 12:10 AM, said:

His post says he has a 2600K... Did he edit it?
He was talking about antvenom, and it's presumably for video editing, although yes, it was a waste of money.
Why aren't micro ATX cases called μATX?

#11

Minecraftguy105
  • Location: Somewhere

Posted 27 April 2012 - 01:23 AM

View Postnot_a_zombie, on 27 April 2012 - 12:22 AM, said:

He was talking about antvenom, and it's presumably for video editing, although yes, it was a waste of money.
Antvenom doesn't edit shit.
Those little 2 second cuts and moving around really doesn't need an i7 processor of any sort.
A pentium can cut and paste and rearrange footage of an 8-bit game
New account: FrozenOblivion, Contact me there, not here
Desktop (not yet built): i7 2600k/3770k, Gtx 680 DCII/Twin Frozr III, 16gb ram, 2TB Seagate hard drive, 500R/650D. psu that I haven't decided on yet

#12

thenerdal
    thenerdal

    Nether Resident

  • Members
  • 2272 posts
  • Location: Houston
  • Minecraft: thenerdal

Posted 27 April 2012 - 02:22 AM

Antvenom needed those specs to win the Survival games. :P

MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | AMD Athlon II X4 635 | 4.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 | BIOSTAR Group A880GU3 | ASUS VH238 | 1024MB GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Gigabyte) | 313GB Western Digital WDC WD3200AAJB-00J3A0 | TSSTcorp CDW/DVD TS-H492A | Realtek High Definition Audio


#13

Neckername

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:42 AM

I don't get why people are upgrading already great configs to LGA 2011. LGA1155, 1156, and especially 1366 are still very capable platforms. People are like ohhh I NEEED quad channel RAM and Pcie 3. I am saying this, first of all, no game even comes close to bottle-necking pcie 2, and (with programs running in the background) no game even puts my 6GB of tri channel ddr3 past 80-85% usage. I have a mechanical drive and am not going to SSD anytime soon until the prices drop. Everyone says that loading into a game first is the best, well guess what, most games have features in place to make sure a majority, if not all players are loaded in before starting the round. The only real benefit from an SSD is boot time, as games do not suck up much data in real time from the storage (that is why content is pre-loaded, hence the load screens). With that being said, I have no problem with my two 1TB WD Caviar Black drives that I bought for less than $100 about 3 years ago (I can't believe HDD prices were that low at one time either xD). No game has ever pushed my Core i7-930 past 30-40% usage. Maybe games like garrys mod and physics intensive games will eat up around 50% capacity; or hosting a game on my computer will also eat up RAM and processor resources, but that is about it.

The single most expensive part I will be getting for my PC will be my video card upgrade. I will be going from a Radeon HD 5770 1GB to a GTX 680 2GB (or a 685 if it comes out early enough). I know that is overkill but I was looking for a card that will last for years to come as I am a college student that will not be doing any more upgrades. I might possibly be getting more memory, but that will be it. Also, I don't just play MC. I play BF3, GTA IV (will be GPU intensive after installing icEnhancer), and many other games.

PS: Any one with even the slightest PC building experience will tell you this "If you keep waiting to build with the best parts, you will never build anything." With that being said, my current config with my 5770 has run WoW at max settings on DX 11, ran Bad company 2 at high settings, and has run BF3 at Med settings all at 1080p while getting at least 40fps.

#14

CentrallyProcessed
    CentrallyProcessed

    SCT Overlord bow in fear before his might

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 5328 posts
  • Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:46 AM

View PostNeckername, on 06 June 2012 - 06:42 AM, said:

1156, and especially 1366 are still very capable platforms.
Apart from being End-of-Life, more expensive, producing more heat, and being beaten by their LGA1155 counterparts.
C# and D programmer, web designer and developer.

I am a representative of DemonVPS. (https://www.DemonVPS.com)

#15

TheRacker
    TheRacker

    Blaze Extinguisher

  • Members
  • 4359 posts
  • Location: California
  • Minecraft: TheRacker

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:54 AM

Antvenom is a fucking idiot.  "look, I have a fairly successful YouTube account and too much money, I'll blow it on a PC with the most expensive parts I can buy". I'll bet $500 that he had best buy or frys or something assemble it for him because he has no idea how to himself.
Phenom ii x4 970@ 4.0ghz / PNY GTX 560ti @ 900mhz / Patriot sector 5 8gb (2x4) / MSI 890FXA-GD70 / Corsair 500r / Corsair TX550M / Thermaltake Frio

#16

teckmaster
    teckmaster

    Blaze Extinguisher

  • Members
  • 4429 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:55 AM

whats with the 16gb of ram . ?
If a Jewish man is free to grow his beard, a Muslim man should have that same right without being called a terrorist. If a Christian Nun is free to cover her head, a Muslim woman should have the same right without been called oppressed. No double standards!

#17

Nerevar
    Nerevar

    Creeper Destroyer

  • Members
  • 6104 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 07:41 AM

View Postxxkenabunkportrxx, on 26 April 2012 - 11:59 PM, said:

a 2600k with 16gb of ram

You'll run it at around a 1,000 frames then, give or take a hundred or so. When you play the game, switch its settings to 'Balanced' so you don't let your GPU run so hot.

-The Power to Destroy-


#18

aloy99
    aloy99

    Stone Miner

  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 12:31 PM

View PostNerevar, on 06 June 2012 - 07:41 AM, said:

You'll run it at around a 1,000 frames then, give or take a hundred or so. When you play the game, switch its settings to 'Balanced' so you don't let your GPU run so hot.
:envious drool:
Now you can go too YouTube and brag about your awesome framerates that don't actually make a difference in gameplay...xD

View PostMinecraftguy105, on 26 April 2012 - 11:45 PM, said:

No one is too sure of the fps for minecraft.
Since no one buys the gtx 680 to only play MC
Edit: Antvenom did, nvm
He bought 2 as a matter of fact.

#19

TheIggyTech
  • Minecraft: Iggy95

Posted 06 June 2012 - 02:22 PM

I know Docm77 went with a LGA 2011 cpu too. And he recently got a 680. However, Doc actually stresses Minecraft more than most with his massive amount of structures and villagers. Still overkill, but he needs it more than Antvenom does.

#20

not_a_zombie
  • Minecraft: not_a_zombie

Posted 06 June 2012 - 02:33 PM

View PostTheIggyTech, on 06 June 2012 - 02:22 PM, said:

I know Docm77 went with a LGA 2011 cpu too. And he recently got a 680. However, Doc actually stresses Minecraft more than most with his massive amount of structures and villagers. Still overkill, but he needs it more than Antvenom does.
Well, since mc is singlethreaded, I don't think the extra 2 cores will do anything, and when doing intensive things like that, the cpu is still likely the bottleneck, so the 680 is a bit overkill.
It'd be best to get a sandy bridge cpu and oc it.

Although, antvenom did say that the i7-3960wasteofmoney does render videos pretty fast, which is useful for people making videos.
Why aren't micro ATX cases called μATX?