Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Slot machines run Linux?


  • Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

#61

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 02:18 AM

Quote

I saw a BSOD on a arcade console

I will upload the picture tonight
As I said, many arcade machines simply run on XP or 2000.

ex:
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image


Since they are never maintained they crash fairly often.

View PostIamacreeper2468, on 13 April 2012 - 02:16 AM, said:

Fire up -> Hardware level security check -> Load Linux kernel -> OS checksum verification -> Load OS resources -> Software level security check -> Complete

If the following fails:
Hardware level security check -> Will not boot,require hardware replacement
OS checksum verification/Software level security check -> Will lock itself?

Not sure if it is correct,anyone knows more than me?
I am more curious as to why you are inquiring about this sort of thing?

Even if you had the knowledge, it would be useless.

Register or log in to remove.

#62

Iamacreeper2468
  • Location: Anywhere in Minecraft
  • Minecraft: honam1021
  • Xbox:honam1021

Posted 13 April 2012 - 02:25 AM

View Postfm87, on 13 April 2012 - 02:18 AM, said:


As I said, many arcade machines simply run on XP or 2000.

ex:
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image


Since they are never maintained they crash fairly often.

I am more curious as to why you are inquiring about this sort of thing?

Even if you had the knowledge, it would be useless.
How about kernel panics?

I know they run on an Intel processor,but what kind of GPU do they use?

#63

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 02:32 AM

View PostIamacreeper2468, on 13 April 2012 - 02:25 AM, said:

How about kernel panics?

I know they run on an Intel processor,but what kind of GPU do they use?
Kernel panics, again, can happen on any computer.

Do you mean arcades?

They usually use intel/AMD processors and either an integrated GPU, or one of the time (sometimes a custom one). IIRC the ones in the images above have something like a 9500GT in them.

It's almost never anything terribly powerful or very advanced. The arcade machines you see with advanced graphics are usually the ones that run on a custom arcade "console" (if you will) like I linked in the other post a while back (the sega naomi/sega arcade) rather than an x86 computer.

#64

Iamacreeper2468
  • Location: Anywhere in Minecraft
  • Minecraft: honam1021
  • Xbox:honam1021

Posted 13 April 2012 - 05:40 AM

And Nintendo and Sega use a custom PowerPC processor(based on Gamecube's hardware)

I think it is not running Windows XP or 2000,it could be a NT powered custom operating system that is developed by Microsoft for arcades

#65

Iamacreeper2468
  • Location: Anywhere in Minecraft
  • Minecraft: honam1021
  • Xbox:honam1021

Posted 13 April 2012 - 05:57 AM

View Postfm87, on 13 April 2012 - 02:32 AM, said:

Do you mean arcades?
Yes

#66

Iamacreeper2468
  • Location: Anywhere in Minecraft
  • Minecraft: honam1021
  • Xbox:honam1021

Posted 13 April 2012 - 06:07 AM

Here you go:
Posted Image

It is interesting that the screen is flipped over.

#67

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 06:41 AM

No I guarantee you it is XP or 2000. I've worked on a lot of arcade machines old and new.

It is flipped due to how some arcades process the image.

#68

Iamacreeper2468
  • Location: Anywhere in Minecraft
  • Minecraft: honam1021
  • Xbox:honam1021

Posted 13 April 2012 - 07:11 AM

View Postfm87, on 13 April 2012 - 06:41 AM, said:

No I guarantee you it is XP or 2000. I've worked on a lot of arcade machines old and new.

It is flipped due to how some arcades process the image.
Other then BSOB,have you ever seen something like "XXX has stopped working" or a illegal action error message on a arcade?

#69

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 07:28 AM

View PostIamacreeper2468, on 13 April 2012 - 07:11 AM, said:

Other then BSOB,have you ever seen something like "XXX has stopped working" or a illegal action error message on a arcade?
Once in a while, but not terribly often.

Again, these machines are pretty bare and there isn't usually much that can go wrong. Most BSODs are simply from the hardware getting old.

#70

SeaWry
    SeaWry

    End Dweller

  • Members
  • 7079 posts
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • Minecraft: Flutterwry

Posted 13 April 2012 - 07:30 AM

View Postfm87, on 13 April 2012 - 07:28 AM, said:

Once in a while, but not terribly often.

Again, these machines are pretty bare and there isn't usually much that can go wrong. Most BSODs are simply from the hardware getting old.

That or they have, not to have, but do have crappy or OEM of crap power supplies "doubt they gonna put top of the top in them". Bad ripple, or of that nature could trigger a Kernel Power "to speak" without any form of error bug check in most cases.

But could be hardware as well.

#71

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 07:41 AM

View PostFlutterwry, on 13 April 2012 - 07:30 AM, said:

That or they have, not to have, but do have crappy or OEM of crap power supplies "doubt they gonna put top of the top in them". Bad ripple, or of that nature could trigger a Kernel Power "to speak" without any form of error bug check in most cases.

But could be hardware as well.
The PSUs range wildly. Some specifically made, some standard ATX. It really depends on the quality of the company and the game.

EX: those fast and furious games were almost certainly running off standard ATX/x86 desktop hardware (Worked on them before. Standard mATX mobo, LGA 775 Celeron @2.6 or 3.0, 512MB-ish of RAM and a 8600GS), since they are a fairly low quality game.