Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

64-bit Google Chrome for Windows 7?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

#1

x30tms30x

Posted 03 April 2012 - 04:30 AM

I need a 64-bit version of Google Chrome for Windows 7(64-bit)....any help?

Register or log in to remove.

#2

pretzelguy1
  • Location: Sunny, Tornado and Hurricane-free California
  • Minecraft: pretzelguy1
  • Xbox:pretzelguy1

Posted 03 April 2012 - 04:37 AM

I'm not sure if there is one. If you are trying to download 64-bit Java you could go to start menu and search "64" and 64 bit IE will come up.

I think there is a 64-bit beta https://www.google.c...ng/chrome/beta/
I'm back from my eternal slumber of 2 or 3 months. A long-ass time.
Oh boy, visual basic. I can barely contain my excitement. Not.

#3

cookiesui
  • Minecraft: cookiesui

Posted 03 April 2012 - 04:39 AM

View Postx30tms30x, on 03 April 2012 - 04:30 AM, said:

I need a 64-bit version of Google Chrome for Windows 7(64-bit)....any help?
AFAIK, it doesn't exist. I don't know why either; I'd love not have to install 2 versions of Java...

Posted Image


#4

Xaanos
    Xaanos

    Creeper Destroyer

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 5788 posts
  • Location: Kansas
  • Minecraft: Devilblade

Posted 03 April 2012 - 04:49 AM

I am not aware of one.

Firefox has a 64bit version called WaterFox.

http://waterfoxproject.org/

#5

BC_Programming
  • Location: Nanaimo, BC
  • Minecraft: BC_Programming

Posted 03 April 2012 - 05:20 AM

View PostXaanos, on 03 April 2012 - 04:49 AM, said:

I am not aware of one.

Firefox has a 64bit version called WaterFox.

http://waterfoxproject.org/

Or you can use the nightly build.

Of course there is no tangible reason to use the 64-bit version. Browsers don't really do anything that could benefit from 64-bit instructions. Firefox could probably benefit from the larger address space, but it would probably just mean that it leaves more uncollected garbage for longer periods. Chrome can't really suffer from the limited address  space as a 32-bit application because each tab is a separate process that has it's own usable 2GB Address space.

That isn't to say that no programs will benefit, but personally I think people are rushing into it too much. The fact is that we didn't get 32-bit Operating systems mainstream until 8 years after 32-bit processors were released; the fact that 64-bit adoption is progressing so quickly in relation to when the first ia64 processors were released is quite impressive, but this takes time.

Of course there were 32-bit applications before 32-bit operating systems; things like Autocad and other such programs would switch the processor to protected mode, as with many games. This was actually rather useful- only those programs that truly needed the capabilities of 32-bit ran 32-bit, because there was the overhead of learning how to do so. Now, it seems that a lot of the push for 64-bit is driven merely by people not liking that *32 on the end of their process names, which is a silly reason to want a 64-bit version.

#6

fm87
    fm87

    Beyond the Horizon

  • Members
  • 22016 posts

Posted 03 April 2012 - 06:48 AM

Quote

Browsers don't really do anything that could benefit from 64-bit instructions. Firefox could probably benefit from the larger address space, but it would probably just mean that it leaves more uncollected garbage for longer periods.
Pretty much my exact thoughts.

There is really no point in running an x64 browser.

#7

theya
    theya

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Minecraft: theya222

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:03 AM

i dont think there is a 64 bit google chrome
i have win7 64 bit and i use the normal chrome you get when you download google chrome

also not many programs have a 64 and a 32 bit version. you can use 32 bit programs on a 64 bit OS
Posted Image

#8

BC_Programming
  • Location: Nanaimo, BC
  • Minecraft: BC_Programming

Posted 03 April 2012 - 11:22 AM

View Posttheya, on 03 April 2012 - 08:03 AM, said:

i dont think there is a 64 bit google chrome
Yes there is. At the moment it's only on Linux. But I don't think *nix can run 32-bit applications on x64 (not 100% on that, haven't really looked into it)

#9

Xaanos
    Xaanos

    Creeper Destroyer

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 5788 posts
  • Location: Kansas
  • Minecraft: Devilblade

Posted 03 April 2012 - 12:40 PM

View PostBC_Programming, on 03 April 2012 - 05:20 AM, said:


- snip -

Well if you have 64bit Java and a 32bit browser to use Java you gotta install a 32bit version this just saves same time in installing another  version of Java.

#10

HeavyLobster
  • Location: Aboard the Halberd

Posted 03 April 2012 - 06:39 PM

View PostBC_Programming, on 03 April 2012 - 11:22 AM, said:

Yes there is. At the moment it's only on Linux. But I don't think *nix can run 32-bit applications on x64 (not 100% on that, haven't really looked into it)

Wikipedia said:

Linux also provides backward compatibility for running 32-bit executables.
I found this while reading up on x86_64.

Posted Image


#11

Phync
    Phync

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 679 posts
  • Location: England
  • Minecraft: sayton12

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:20 PM

The only 64 bit version of Chrome is for Linux.

<------------ Ovo's Rustic Redepemtion x64 Texture Pack ------------>

Posted Image


#12

SamTheRandLer
  • Minecraft: RandLer

Posted 01 May 2013 - 06:51 PM

I'm not sure if this one's official but here you go anyway! Link Removed

Sorry, it doesn't actually work. I'd remove this post if I could.
Posted Image

#13

Xetron
    Xetron

    Jacuzzi Moderator

  • Sectional Moderator
  • 2755 posts
  • Location: Paleto Bay
  • Minecraft: Pinkintron

Posted 01 May 2013 - 10:31 PM

A year old thread getting all of these necros? Nope!

Locked.

Posted Image