Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

1.6.4 - ExtrabiomesXL (3.15.7)

1.6.4 ssp smp universal biome biomes terrain generation

  • Please log in to reply
13670 replies to this topic

#9941

Weioo
    Weioo

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 177 posts
  • Location: SE Michigan
  • Minecraft: Weioo

Posted 07 December 2012 - 04:26 PM

I believe I asked something similar to this before but didn't really get the answer I was looking for. Is there a plan to implement coding to keep the biomes from coming together and meeting abruptly?

I loved the options with this mod, but when some biomes came together at 4 corners, sometimes the ground level would be abruptly offset by like 10+ blocks. This made for very unrealistic and unpleasant game play IMO. If this got coded for biomes to meld together better, it'd be at the top of my list!

Register or log in to remove.

#9942

TehBaclava

Posted 07 December 2012 - 04:34 PM

Hi there! I'm sorry, I have a crash to report.

Spoiler:

I'm using the 3.5.3 build- I had to, because otherwise I get a different error relating to trees. I apologize if it's not right to post crashes relating to development builds. I've tried this with both the latest version of Forge (6.4.1.425) and the earliest version my install requires (6.4.1.407) and got the same error each time. I really don't want to play without this mod, so if I could please be pointed in the right direction, I would appreciate it!

#9943

Annysia
    Annysia

    Void Walker

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 1984 posts
  • Location: Missouri

Posted 07 December 2012 - 05:47 PM

View PostWeioo, on 07 December 2012 - 04:26 PM, said:

I believe I asked something similar to this before but didn't really get the answer I was looking for. Is there a plan to implement coding to keep the biomes from coming together and meeting abruptly?

I loved the options with this mod, but when some biomes came together at 4 corners, sometimes the ground level would be abruptly offset by like 10+ blocks. This made for very unrealistic and unpleasant game play IMO. If this got coded for biomes to meld together better, it'd be at the top of my list!

Per Scott:

Posted Yesterday, 11:30 AM
Community Update

The Forge team has integrated a sweeping change that I put together that gives new power to modders to affect Overworld terrain generation. This change is currently in testing. When it is released, it will allow us to add some amazing features, including these:
  • Reduce the number of tree-specific biomes (like birch forest, or autumn woods) -- so that you can walk in a forest and stumble upon a cherry grove...or watch it change into a redwood forest as you move into colder territory...basically provide a more organic experience.
  • Add technical biomes that make the transitions between biomes more organic.
This should take care of the issue you are talking about.

View PostTehBaclava, on 07 December 2012 - 04:34 PM, said:

Hi there! I'm sorry, I have a crash to report.

Spoiler:

I'm using the 3.5.3 build- I had to, because otherwise I get a different error relating to trees. I apologize if it's not right to post crashes relating to development builds. I've tried this with both the latest version of Forge (6.4.1.425) and the earliest version my install requires (6.4.1.407) and got the same error each time. I really don't want to play without this mod, so if I could please be pointed in the right direction, I would appreciate it!

Please refer to the OP and follow the instructions there regarding which error report we need and we will see what we can do to help.
Posted Image

#9944

Greevir
    Greevir

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 217 posts

Posted 07 December 2012 - 05:57 PM

I was having issues with items being invisible and showing as "unnamed" with XBXL. So I did a fresh install only running the following mods:

Forge 6.4.1.425
ChickenCodeCore 0.6.13
NotEnoughItems 1.4.3.2
ExtraBiomesXL 3.5.3

And the following items are invisible and unnamed:

Blocks 4092:5-4092:15 and 4093:8-4093:15.

Same thing with ExtraBiomesXL 3.5.4

Posted Image


#9945

Riptiduh
    Riptiduh

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 07 December 2012 - 06:18 PM

Hello People of ExtrabiomesXL,

This is just an addition or +1 if you will to the updating of the mod to a higher Forge build (not just dev builds).  I really consider this mod a staple of any minecraft experience!   Right now many many essential mods have updated to Forge 408+ and even higher (which I am sure you are well aware), where many of my personal, gamecrashing bugs have been fixed.  Yet, I cannot update because I am am still having bugs that are related to XBXL only, with any forge greater than .411.

One example (I knew I should have taken a screen shot =( ugh, sorry):  With Dev build 3.5.1, 3.5.2, 3.5.3 and Forge .424, all XBXL Trees, both wood and leaves had turned into different blocks from different mods.  I re-ran the ID Resolver and nothing.  I am running exactly 40 mods and out of those 40, XBXL is the only one that does not play well with Forge .408+.

Besides what sounds to be a rant, I want thank you for all the hard work.  Also, ScottKillen, those screenshots you shared the other day of your WIP Project with the terrain being affected by the height of biomes (Snowy mountain tops with forests below), was SICK man, absolutely SICK!  I cannot wait!  Looks amazing!

Thank you for such a great mod and for all of your hard work.

#9946

ScottKillen
  • Location: A virtual rocker on my cyber porch
  • Minecraft: sdkillen

Posted 07 December 2012 - 06:49 PM

View PostWylker, on 07 December 2012 - 02:57 PM, said:

One request for EB4 or even 3.6: please please please get all the wood in the ore dictionary. Lots of the new tree planks can't be made into any mod items. Thanks and keep up the good work!

All of our wood is in the ore dictionary. The ore dictionary requires two things: Mods needs to make their items available via the ore dictionary. Then...the mods must use ore dictionary recipes. Some mods choose not to use the ore dictionary for their recipes...this is the case with IC2 which was using it and changed back to not using it.  Other mods, like Railcraft and Forestry, use ore dictionary recipes and therefore our items work in their recipes.

View PostAnnysia, on 07 December 2012 - 03:31 PM, said:

All of our wood is in the ore dictionary.  If you are using the development version then per Scott:

Ninja'd again by the lady ninja!

Veteran Minecraft Modder / Grumpy Old Man


Posted Image


#9947

ScottKillen
  • Location: A virtual rocker on my cyber porch
  • Minecraft: sdkillen

Posted 07 December 2012 - 06:57 PM

View PostCalderonus_Amara, on 07 December 2012 - 04:20 PM, said:

Would you please consider making it possible to place your custom saplings in flower pots?
The saplings look nice and especially the acacia sapling looks like a bonsai. And I'd like a bonsai or two in my home.

That has been considered, and was on the agenda at one time...but it is not as easy as it seems as it involves making a new custom flower pot block that can be that has to be swapped for the vanilla block. There are plans to fix this on a lower level within forge..so we removed it from our list.

Veteran Minecraft Modder / Grumpy Old Man


Posted Image


#9948

AkulaMak
    AkulaMak

    Diamond Miner

  • Members
  • 864 posts
  • Location: Just over the edge of sanity

Posted 07 December 2012 - 06:58 PM

So when is Mojang going to buy the mod out and use this as the default world gen?

#9949

EvilKittenz1999
  • Location: My House

Posted 07 December 2012 - 06:59 PM

Getting an error:


Spoiler:

Posted Image

#9950

slowblade
  • Location: yo mam
  • Minecraft: slowblade

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:01 PM

lol
'''SLOWBLADE''' (OYO) LOL

#9951

ScottKillen
  • Location: A virtual rocker on my cyber porch
  • Minecraft: sdkillen

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:04 PM

View PostWeioo, on 07 December 2012 - 04:26 PM, said:

I believe I asked something similar to this before but didn't really get the answer I was looking for. Is there a plan to implement coding to keep the biomes from coming together and meeting abruptly?

I loved the options with this mod, but when some biomes came together at 4 corners, sometimes the ground level would be abruptly offset by like 10+ blocks. This made for very unrealistic and unpleasant game play IMO. If this got coded for biomes to meld together better, it'd be at the top of my list!

What you are experiencing is what happens when you add the mod to a world generated without the mod, or enable and disable biomes after generating a world.  The problem happens because vanilla terrain generator has a different number of biomes to choose from and therefore chooses a different biome than it would have chosen had number or order of biomes not changed...The terrain generator normally chooses biomes in a way that preserve the height of the land from chunk to chunk...but this gets all messed up when the number or order of biomes in the available biome list changes.  this is not a problem with the mod...but is an artifact of modding the game.

View PostTehBaclava, on 07 December 2012 - 04:34 PM, said:

Hi there! I'm sorry, I have a crash to report.

Spoiler:

I'm using the 3.5.3 build- I had to, because otherwise I get a different error relating to trees. I apologize if it's not right to post crashes relating to development builds. I've tried this with both the latest version of Forge (6.4.1.425) and the earliest version my install requires (6.4.1.407) and got the same error each time. I really don't want to play without this mod, so if I could please be pointed in the right direction, I would appreciate it!

To help, we really need more information including the full forge log.

Veteran Minecraft Modder / Grumpy Old Man


Posted Image


#9952

Eryan
    Eryan

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 370 posts
  • Minecraft: 95_Eric

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:05 PM

View PostScottKillen, on 06 December 2012 - 05:30 PM, said:

Spoiler:

had to come up with le creative solution so players wouldn't lose everything in map reset.

Make a myst world with one vanilla biome.
Give people free personal safes.
They put their stuff in there.
Le delete all world data except the one vanilla biome world.
Update.
Play Minecraft with Epic World Generation (MOAR then just extrabiomes) 4 -w-
Don't lose stuff (and don't make players mad >.>).
Check out my server if you like mystcraft, universal electricity, forestry, buildcraft, industrial craft and more.

Posted Image


#9953

ScottKillen
  • Location: A virtual rocker on my cyber porch
  • Minecraft: sdkillen

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:05 PM

View PostGreevir, on 07 December 2012 - 05:57 PM, said:

I was having issues with items being invisible and showing as "unnamed" with XBXL. So I did a fresh install only running the following mods:

Forge 6.4.1.425
ChickenCodeCore 0.6.13
NotEnoughItems 1.4.3.2
ExtraBiomesXL 3.5.3

And the following items are invisible and unnamed:

Blocks 4092:5-4092:15 and 4093:8-4093:15.

Same thing with ExtraBiomesXL 3.5.4

We really need more information to help you.

Veteran Minecraft Modder / Grumpy Old Man


Posted Image


#9954

ScottKillen
  • Location: A virtual rocker on my cyber porch
  • Minecraft: sdkillen

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:17 PM

View PostRiptiduh, on 07 December 2012 - 06:18 PM, said:

Hello People of ExtrabiomesXL,

This is just an addition or +1 if you will to the updating of the mod to a higher Forge build (not just dev builds).  I really consider this mod a staple of any minecraft experience!   Right now many many essential mods have updated to Forge 408+ and even higher (which I am sure you are well aware), where many of my personal, gamecrashing bugs have been fixed.  Yet, I cannot update because I am am still having bugs that are related to XBXL only, with any forge greater than .411.

One example (I knew I should have taken a screen shot =( ugh, sorry):  With Dev build 3.5.1, 3.5.2, 3.5.3 and Forge .424, all XBXL Trees, both wood and leaves had turned into different blocks from different mods.  I re-ran the ID Resolver and nothing.  I am running exactly 40 mods and out of those 40, XBXL is the only one that does not play well with Forge .408+.

Besides what sounds to be a rant, I want thank you for all the hard work.  Also, ScottKillen, those screenshots you shared the other day of your WIP Project with the terrain being affected by the height of biomes (Snowy mountain tops with forests below), was SICK man, absolutely SICK!  I cannot wait!  Looks amazing!

Thank you for such a great mod and for all of your hard work.

I understand. There is a development version released last night that is going through its paces and we are close to releasing a new official release that will support the latest forge. Until now, no one has reported the problem you have.  From what you describe, it sounds like the blockIDs were shuffled.  The version of Forge that you are running (yes I know other mods require it) is not stable and the last official stable version of forge is build 397. (Which is one of the reasons we have not updated.)  The big change in between that version and the version you are using is the config file handling. Should you open the config file you will notice that the format has changed considerably...I can't say for sure, but I feel it is likely that the blockIDs were shuffled in your case. I'm afraid the only hope for this is referring to a back u to restore the older blockIDs.

And thanks!  About the screenshots...they were mock ups that someone had done on reddit and what we hope to achieve...but not screenshots of anything yet in development.

View PostEvilKittenz1999, on 07 December 2012 - 06:59 PM, said:

Getting an error:


Spoiler:


Please see the OP about which version of Forge to use with the development version of this mod...or revert to the stable version of this mod.

Veteran Minecraft Modder / Grumpy Old Man


Posted Image


#9955

nmagod
    nmagod

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 652 posts

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:38 PM

You should probably know

I was furious all week because your "developer's builds" link does not work on mobile browsers

at least, it didn't for me across three devices

#9956

MrFibre
    MrFibre

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • Curse Premium
  • 2028 posts
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Minecraft: MisterFiber

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:40 PM

View Postnmagod, on 07 December 2012 - 07:38 PM, said:

You should probably know

I was furious all week because your "developer's builds" link does not work on mobile browsers

at least, it didn't for me across three devices
I'm pretty sure it's a MediaFire bug.

Good thing the links there are useless on mobile devices.

~ Mt. Quebec Howls ~


#9957

Weioo
    Weioo

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 177 posts
  • Location: SE Michigan
  • Minecraft: Weioo

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:50 PM

View PostAnnysia, on 07 December 2012 - 05:47 PM, said:

Per Scott:

Posted Yesterday, 11:30 AM
Community Update

The Forge team has integrated a sweeping change that I put together that gives new power to modders to affect Overworld terrain generation. This change is currently in testing. When it is released, it will allow us to add some amazing features, including these:
  • Reduce the number of tree-specific biomes (like birch forest, or autumn woods) -- so that you can walk in a forest and stumble upon a cherry grove...or watch it change into a redwood forest as you move into colder territory...basically provide a more organic experience.
  • Add technical biomes that make the transitions between biomes more organic.
This should take care of the issue you are talking about.

Friggin' sweet! Cannot wait to see this!!!

#9958

nmagod
    nmagod

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 652 posts

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:33 PM

View PostMisterFiber, on 07 December 2012 - 07:40 PM, said:

I'm pretty sure it's a MediaFire bug.

Good thing the links there are useless on mobile devices.

yeah, mediafire tends to not work well in folder view in mobile anything

but I can download from regular mediafire links just fine otherwise

#9959

Riptiduh
    Riptiduh

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:42 PM

View PostScottKillen, on 07 December 2012 - 07:17 PM, said:

I understand. There is a development version released last night that is going through its paces and we are close to releasing a new official release that will support the latest forge. Until now, no one has reported the problem you have.  From what you describe, it sounds like the blockIDs were shuffled.  The version of Forge that you are running (yes I know other mods require it) is not stable and the last official stable version of forge is build 397. (Which is one of the reasons we have not updated.)  The big change in between that version and the version you are using is the config file handling. Should you open the config file you will notice that the format has changed considerably...I can't say for sure, but I feel it is likely that the blockIDs were shuffled in your case. I'm afraid the only hope for this is referring to a back u to restore the older blockIDs.

And thanks!  About the screenshots...they were mock ups that someone had done on reddit and what we hope to achieve...but not screenshots of anything yet in development.

Ya, I was aware that forge didn't have an official stable build past .397.  It's a double edged sword, because many of the bug fixes for other mods happened above .397 yet none above that are recommended lol..

I did do a fresh install of everything though and loaded my old world as well as created a new, so maybe it was the ID's being jumbled about.  I thought ID Resolver would solve that though.. hmmm.. I honestly did try to fly outside of chunks that were already explored to see if it reoccured there as well, and it did.  Not a biggie, didn't want to be one of those dime a dozen immature complainers that hate you for putting out a great mod but not fixing it to their liking lol...

No matter, it's not like it's the end of the world, me having toplay my normal world, which honestly works fine minus a few inconveniences.  But, what is life without a few inconveniences?!

Thanks again, sorry about the misunderstanding with the screens.  I am sure whatever you guys have in the works will be fantastic nonetheless!

#9960

Greevir
    Greevir

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 217 posts

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:50 PM

View PostScottKillen, on 07 December 2012 - 07:05 PM, said:

We really need more information to help you.

Pastebin: http://pastebin.com/qE8zpSww
Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/4O3B4.png

Posted Image