Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[SURV] Skylands (updated for Minecraft 1.2.3)


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1

webkiller8

Posted 09 March 2012 - 09:00 AM

Posted Image



Skylands


A huge open world floating map made for you to explore. Can you survive this epic adventure?


IMPORTANT: I did not make this map, i only updated it so that it would work with the new Minecraft saving format. There is a bug with lighting in most of the areas outside of the spawning area when parts of the islands will be black and allow monsters to spawn. You can fix these areas but walking into them and walking near them.


Here is some video proof:




What have i added/fixed? I have fixed the issue with the map not being converted when trying to play this map on the new Minecraft save type, And i have added a little food to the chest to help you get started.

Here is the original forum post
http://www.minecraft...rely-abandoned/


Skylands Download:

RAR:

MediaFire
Direct Download

ZIP:
MediaFire
Direct Download


Map of The Skylands World:

MediaFire

Direct Download


Posted Image
I5 3570k, HD7970, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD 3x 1TB HDD, Corsair H60.

Register or log in to remove.

#2

ryan77715

Posted 09 March 2012 - 07:39 PM

can you please make it a .zip file, i cant convert .rar

i found another one, its ok

#3

webkiller8

Posted 09 March 2012 - 08:02 PM

View Postryan77715, on 09 March 2012 - 07:39 PM, said:

can you please make it a .zip file, i cant convert .rar

i found another one, its ok

Done.
Posted Image
I5 3570k, HD7970, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD 3x 1TB HDD, Corsair H60.

#4

Den40208
    Den40208

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 March 2012 - 08:51 PM

Thank you. You should probably give credit to the real creator though.

#5

webkiller8

Posted 09 March 2012 - 08:58 PM

View PostDen40208, on 09 March 2012 - 08:51 PM, said:

Thank you. You should probably give credit to the real creator though.

i would, but i don't know his name. if you can find it i will give him all the credit for making this map.
Posted Image
I5 3570k, HD7970, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD 3x 1TB HDD, Corsair H60.

#6

Crazydrift2
  • Location: Germany

Posted 09 March 2012 - 09:32 PM

Is the password tool working with the new save format?
When people ask me "Plz" just because it's shorter than "Please", I feel perfectly justified to answer "No" because it's shorter than "Yes". Mouse since 2012: Posted Image

#7

webkiller8

Posted 09 March 2012 - 09:44 PM

View PostCrazydrift2, on 09 March 2012 - 09:32 PM, said:

Is the password tool working with the new save format?

I haven't tried it.
Posted Image
I5 3570k, HD7970, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD 3x 1TB HDD, Corsair H60.

#8

qazxdr
    qazxdr

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location: In the Twilight Forest...
  • Minecraft: obo6457

Posted 13 March 2012 - 06:56 PM

i cant download it Posted Image viruses on the page or something like that Posted Image grr Posted Image

never mind, i tried the other version, awesome map

Edited by qazxdr, 18 April 2012 - 07:13 PM.

Posted Image

#9

Arcticvolcano
  • Location: Playing chess with Kronos the Titan Lord at the dawn of time
  • Minecraft: faceb0x

Posted 16 March 2012 - 05:11 AM

I love you. No, I am not homosexual. Thank you so very much for this.

#10

Coolwar99
  • Minecraft: Vertical_sky

Posted 18 March 2012 - 06:17 PM

nice job:) but were are the passwords??????????

Posted Image

I love Clay Soldiers Mod

#11

Zaultar
    Zaultar

    Newly Spawned

  • Members
  • Curse Premium
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 March 2012 - 05:38 AM

SO GLAD you updated this.

Any chance you could share what it took to port over? I'd like to get my 'inprogress' map cut over.  Tried loading into MCEdit, and Resetting light, and doing a repair with no luck. :(

#12

TeeJaySD
    TeeJaySD

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 March 2012 - 04:59 PM

THANK YOU.

I ran the link you emailed me:

Quote


Then downloaded MCEdit

https://github.com/m...cedit/downloads

Clicked the "Chunk Control" button on the far right.
Selected all the blocks with <ALT>-A
Then pressed "Relight"

The process took about 2+ hrs to run on my little mac, and when I went to save it.  <CTRL>-S, it took another 40 minutes.  

That said, I have a working Skylands map with proper lighting (and less monsters during the day).

#13

AaronRussellOct
  • Location: Indonesia
  • Minecraft: AaronRussell01

Posted 23 March 2012 - 05:05 AM

cool, thx for update this

#14

wyvern713

Posted 11 June 2012 - 06:59 AM

What's the difference between the three sets of files? And which file should I download? And how do I load it into the game?

#15

blitzscrank
  • Location: In the galaxy right below the Ursa Major II
  • Minecraft: blitzscrank

Posted 11 June 2012 - 07:01 AM

View Postwebkiller8, on 09 March 2012 - 08:58 PM, said:

i would, but i don't know his name. if you can find it i will give him all the credit for making this map.

His name is BarthVader. Here's the original link
http://www.minecraft...rely-abandoned/
Posted Image

#16

webkiller8

Posted 11 June 2012 - 08:09 AM

View Postwyvern713, on 11 June 2012 - 06:59 AM, said:

What's the difference between the three sets of files? And which file should I download? And how do I load it into the game?

The first 2 downloads are for the map, you can pick anyone you want, and the second is a map to see where you are etc...To load it into your minecraft just drag the world inside the file you download into your minecraft saves folder.
Posted Image
I5 3570k, HD7970, 8GB 1600 RAM, 60GB SSD 3x 1TB HDD, Corsair H60.

#17

cowmonkey
  • Location: Why would you want to know? You be planning something?
  • Minecraft: madgoblin

Posted 11 June 2012 - 09:56 AM

Wow! thanks a whole lot for this, you don't understand how much i loved this map!! :D
I made this map! Please check it out! It's a really awesome map that took me over a year to make! :3
Posted Image

#18

JimothyBob

Posted 14 June 2012 - 12:39 AM

Did you update the Password program, or is it the same file?

#19

laffalot
    laffalot

    Newly Spawned

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 July 2012 - 09:43 AM

is this the map that hatfilms played?

#20

mathew995

Posted 02 September 2012 - 06:52 PM

will this be updated for 1.3.2 p.s it breaks the password tool it says skylands.diz not found (i have played this before and got it to work)
Posted Image