Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[1.6.2] Custom Mob Spawner


  • Please log in to reply
411 replies to this topic

#1

DrZhark
    DrZhark

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1367 posts

Posted 07 March 2012 - 05:22 AM

DrZhark's Custom Mob Spawner



Minecraft 1.8 changed drastically the way the vanilla mobs are spawned. The animals no longer despawn and their spawn is based on the biome seed. In other words, the randomness of spawning was removed. There are several mods that relied on the prior mob spawning method to add custom mobs to the game, like Mo'Creatures, More Creeps and Weirdos, Humans+ and many more.

I have developed a Tool called 'CustomSpawner' that offers modders the ability to have their custom mobs spawned in a similar way than Minecraft prior to 1.8. Every mod will have its individual spawning list, so other mods won't interfere with the spawning settings.


Download the Mod:


-CustomMobSpawner 2.3.1 mirror (For Minecraft 1.6.2)

-CustomMobSpawner v2.2.5 Mirror (For Minecraft 1.5.2)


Previous versions:
Spoiler:

For users:
Just download the .zip file and put it into the /.minecraf/mods/ folder

For Modders:
Spoiler:

Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

linkey11
    linkey11

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1177 posts
  • Minecraft: Linkage

Posted 07 March 2012 - 05:36 AM

Yay! Nice workaround.
Eh.

#3

MrFibre
    MrFibre

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • Curse Premium
  • 2028 posts
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Minecraft: MisterFiber

Posted 07 March 2012 - 05:41 AM

Awesome, this will surely be very helpful to users, and modders alike.

~ Mt. Quebec Howls ~


#4

irish_brigid

Posted 08 March 2012 - 08:47 PM

Yay! Happy dance!

#5

Builder4Free
  • Minecraft: pazzword

Posted 08 March 2012 - 08:50 PM

You still continue to amaze me with your mods... Awesome!
MOD EDIT: Builder4Free is awesome!

#6

Torojima
    Torojima

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1103 posts
  • Location: Belgium
  • Minecraft: Torojima

Posted 13 March 2012 - 12:20 PM

has there been any change on how a mob renderer is added from 1.1 to 1.2.3?

I'm looking at the code of a mod which adds new mobs via your custom mob spawner. The AddRenderer Method looks like described here, still the mob is added with the standard default model instead of the custom made one ...

Any idea where to look for a clue?
running minecraft on Mac OS X - Snowleopard --- creating code since 1986 ... --- मेरा दिल भारतवासी है!
Posted Image

#7

Torojima
    Torojima

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1103 posts
  • Location: Belgium
  • Minecraft: Torojima

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:07 AM

----------
I had some time and investigated the model functionality, so I can state a more precise question Posted Image

In the example there is this method:

Quote

public void AddRenderer(Map map)
{
map.put(MyMob.class, new RenderMyMob(new ModelMyMob(), 0.5F));
map.put(MyAnimalMob.class, new RenderMyAnimalMob(new ModelMyAnimalMob(), 0.5F));
map.put(MyAquaticMob.class, new RenderMyAquaticMob(new ModelMyAquaticMob(), 0.5F));
}
and it looks like this is the point where the respective models are added. Thus, this is the place where the mod in question is not working as expected, since the models for the new mobs are not added (skin and entities are tho)...
when will this method be called? And from where?
running minecraft on Mac OS X - Snowleopard --- creating code since 1986 ... --- मेरा दिल भारतवासी है!
Posted Image

#8

The_Global
  • Location: The Bermuda Triangle
  • Minecraft: TechnoTeddyBear

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:09 PM

Dude your Mo' Creatures is SO Posted Image Posted Image cking hard to install! I'm trying right now.

#9

Torojima
    Torojima

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1103 posts
  • Location: Belgium
  • Minecraft: Torojima

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:52 AM

found it ...
AddRenderer
has to be changed to
addRenderer
... tiny detail, big impact :D
running minecraft on Mac OS X - Snowleopard --- creating code since 1986 ... --- मेरा दिल भारतवासी है!
Posted Image

#10

Tacos4ever
  • Location: Behind You...
  • Minecraft: tacos4ever

Posted 16 March 2012 - 02:59 PM

Took me a while to find the 1.2.3 link :D.

View PostThe_Global, on 14 March 2012 - 09:09 PM, said:

Dude your Mo' Creatures is SO Posted Image Posted Image cking hard to install! I'm trying right now.
To me its the easiest. Its just different from alot of other mods. You just have to remember to download all the mods needed. Like this, modloader, audiomod, and Gui API.
Posted Image

#11

frumpy4
    frumpy4

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 637 posts
  • Location: My chair
  • Minecraft: frumpy4
  • Xbox:koolatta

Posted 16 March 2012 - 03:13 PM

View PostThe_Global, on 14 March 2012 - 09:09 PM, said:

Dude your Mo' Creatures is SO Posted Image Posted Image cking hard to install! I'm trying right now.
Why dont you post this in the Mo' Creatures thread.. <_<
Posted Image

#12

DrZhark
    DrZhark

    Obsidian Miner

  • Members
  • 1367 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 05:24 AM

View PostTorojima, on 15 March 2012 - 12:52 AM, said:

found it ...
AddRenderer
has to be changed to
addRenderer
... tiny detail, big impact Posted Image

I'm sorry I didn't answer before. Modloader changed the caps for its methods to the camel caps.
I've updated the custom spawner, to squash some bugs, it works fine on version 1.4.1
Posted Image

#13

Torojima
    Torojima

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1103 posts
  • Location: Belgium
  • Minecraft: Torojima

Posted 21 March 2012 - 10:48 AM

View PostDrZhark, on 20 March 2012 - 05:24 AM, said:

I'm sorry I didn't answer before. Modloader changed the caps for its methods to the camel caps.
I've updated the custom spawner, to squash some bugs, it works fine on version 1.4.1
have downloaded it from the Mo'Creatures page :) will continue to post there.
running minecraft on Mac OS X - Snowleopard --- creating code since 1986 ... --- मेरा दिल भारतवासी है!
Posted Image

#14

SSmaniacSS
  • Location: I am the Enderman in your closet...
  • Minecraft: SsMaNiaCsS

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:40 PM

Does this work on 1.2.4 yet?
Posted Image<<C'mon help a guy out, Click it

#15

DieKelpi
    DieKelpi

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 March 2012 - 06:55 AM

Yes there it is :D before, I didn't found it xD
It's funny, that some people thinks, that is the same like "SpawnerGUI" :D
I think, they know nothing ;-)
Hey! Ich bin Tuter und Let's Player! Hast du eine Anfrage? Soll ich was fuer dich aufnehmen?
Mein Youtube Kanal / my youtube channel: DieKelpi

#16

tube79
    tube79

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 03 April 2012 - 06:02 PM

Is this mod working in smp too?

#17

juan120
    juan120

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Location: US
  • Minecraft: Juan120

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:53 PM

Just as a part of my OCD you misspelled minecraft in the /.minecraf/mods

#18

dogcat
    dogcat

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Minecraft: KoolKat_Gold

Posted 07 April 2012 - 01:58 AM

I need 1.2.5! I Have 1.2.5 Mo's Creatures, TooManyItems, and all Mo's Creatures requirements except this (Audio and GUI API). Please make it soon and post it! I don't really want to downgrade because 1.2.5 is alot better than 1.2.4! Please!!!
Posted Image
Soon to be made!

#19

matt1337c
  • Location: USA
  • Minecraft: matt1337c

Posted 08 April 2012 - 01:58 AM

View Postdogcat, on 07 April 2012 - 01:58 AM, said:

I need 1.2.5! I Have 1.2.5 Mo's Creatures, TooManyItems, and all Mo's Creatures requirements except this (Audio and GUI API). Please make it soon and post it! I don't really want to downgrade because 1.2.5 is alot better than 1.2.4! Please!!!

I'm using this with 1.2.5 and have yet to experience any problems. You should just go ahead and download it.

I'm a pretentious douchebag hipster music lover. You should check out my last.fm! http://www.last.fm/user/matt1337


#20

Darkdealer
  • Location: the netherlands
  • Minecraft: MichelJoshua

Posted 08 April 2012 - 08:59 PM

im using 1.2.5 here also but it seems i cannot find a Custom mob spawner 1.2.5 so i cannot play Mo creatures anyone able to help me out?