Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Minecraft keeps freezing?


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1

bones227
  • Location: US
  • Minecraft: bones227

Posted 06 March 2012 - 04:17 AM

Whenever i play minecraft it freezes about once every 5-10 minutes for about 30 seconds. it happens on SSP SMP and even on the main menu. i have a brand new very good asus gaming laptop and it runs minecraft at 60-70 fps no problem. this is extrememly annoying because it hapens everytime i play minecraft. i also have a VERY old desktop computer that runs minecraft at about 10-15 fps and it doesnt freeze, but my laptop does! its extremely frusturating and ive tried allocating more memory to java and other things and it still doesnt work. i have a 64 bit operating system,64bit java, and 6 gb of ram. plz help!

Register or log in to remove.

#2

CJ2266
    CJ2266

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Minecraft: CJ2266

Posted 15 March 2012 - 04:44 PM

I Have Exactly The Same Problem Brand New Custom Gaming Desktop i5 2500k Asus P8Z68-LX 8 GB Ram 64Bit Windows 7 And 64 bit Java AMD Radeon 6850 Get Like 130 Frames Easy But It Just Starts Freezing Then Un freezes Then Freeze's For Longer Then Un Freeze's Gradually Just Freeze's For Ages So I Have To Close And Re open Any Solutions Plz Help

#3

YouThisReadWrong

Posted 15 March 2012 - 04:46 PM

View Postbones227, on 06 March 2012 - 04:17 AM, said:

Whenever i play minecraft it freezes about once every 5-10 minutes for about 30 seconds. it happens on SSP SMP and even on the main menu. i have a brand new very good asus gaming laptop and it runs minecraft at 60-70 fps no problem. this is extrememly annoying because it hapens everytime i play minecraft. i also have a VERY old desktop computer that runs minecraft at about 10-15 fps and it doesnt freeze, but my laptop does! its extremely frusturating and ive tried allocating more memory to java and other things and it still doesnt work. i have a 64 bit operating system,64bit java, and 6 gb of ram. plz help!

View PostCJ2266, on 15 March 2012 - 04:44 PM, said:

I Have Exactly The Same Problem Brand New Custom Gaming Desktop i5 2500k Asus P8Z68-LX 8 GB Ram 64Bit Windows 7 And 64 bit Java AMD Radeon 6850 Get Like 130 Frames Easy But It Just Starts Freezing Then Un freezes Then Freeze's For Longer Then Un Freeze's Gradually Just Freeze's For Ages So I Have To Close And Re open Any Solutions Plz Help

To both of you, even though you have great computers, I would suggest allowing more memory to run into minecraft. Here's how:
#1. First create a .txt file in the same folder as your minecraft.exe.
#2. Then open that file.
#3. Type these two lines of text:

@ECHO OFF
"C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\javaw.exe" -Xmx2048m -Xms2048m -jar "C:\Minecraft.exe"

#4. Then save that file as a .bat file (aka Batch file). The way you do this is in the menu, hit Save-As, click "All File Types" and then change the name from XXX.txt to XXX.bat. The icon should change if you did it correctly and you should be able to run it. Hit F3 to make sure the allocated memory changed while running minecraft.

What that does is it authorizes minecraft to use up to 2048 Megabytes of memory on your computer. You can change the amount you want it to use by replacing 2048m with whatever number of MB you want it to use. Only use Mb though! So remember to convert KB and GB into MB! There you go! Posted Image Hope this helps!

#4

CheeseGuardian

Posted 16 March 2012 - 02:35 AM

same problem here

vanilla mc (tried optifine as well, no dice) 100+ fps until eventually the game starts locking up for progressively longer periods at a time. Eventually it appears to completely stop responding and I have to kill the process.

I think graphics settings are irrelevant to the problem. I tried with/without optifine and several combinations of options.  Also, during the freezes, the client completely locks up, and no network packets are sent. Thus, it doesn't seem to be a graphics issue. Memory doesn't seem to be a factor since I have 1280mb allocated and the crashes happen regardless of how much is being used.

If I host a server, my friend has no trouble staying connected, server runs fine despite my client freezing and getting disconnected.

This is not a hardware issue. I'm taking a wild guess, but I think the newest java version might have something to do with it.

using x64 jre6 v31 on x64 win7 on an amd system (phenom II)

#5

bones227
  • Location: US
  • Minecraft: bones227

Posted 18 March 2012 - 04:40 AM

@youthisreadwrong,
i have tried that before with no sucess. but i treid it again with what you gave me and it does load minecraft. but now i only run it at 10-15 fps and it is much slower and choppier. what shud i do??

#6

td0g21
    td0g21

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 18 March 2012 - 06:36 AM

I read this on yahoo and tried it myself.
http://answers.yahoo...09173015AAQZBN3
Seems setting it to Far is what is causing the porblem.

Also a wiki entry on it for technicals behind it.
http://www.minecraft...sion_1.2.3#Bugs (4th down, before the mac issue)

However I will say even with Normal render distance I freeze on Savage Realms server in their rpg part.
Dunno why.

#7

efflandt
    efflandt

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 617 posts
  • Location: Elgin, IL USA

Posted 18 March 2012 - 01:27 PM

I agree with the others about assigning it 2 GB if possible (another way to write that, which I use is -Xmx2G -Xms2G), and trying "normal" distance instead of "far".  Although, on far it is interesting to see what is underground before the surface renders.  I have sometimes seen it briefly use more than 1 GB (better to keep that in RAM than less RAM having to keep reloading things from server).  Exploring new areas or chunk updates in general can slow your frame rate significantly, and your client PC now handles lighting.

Not sure what causes the occasional complete lockup, but that happens in 64-bit Linux as well (although not usually for hours), and when it freezes there is debug info in the terminal that launches it about counts of "root.ticks", etc. (whatever that means).  If it happens, it gags for seconds to what seems like minutes several times before it freezes long enough that when it wakes up, the server has disconnected it.  That is different from network issues when in the past broken blocks might reappear or placed blocks might disappear just before local java timed out waiting for a server response (typically server crash).

#8

bones227
  • Location: US
  • Minecraft: bones227

Posted 19 March 2012 - 01:05 AM

ok i tried alocating with 1gb,2 and 3gb. 1gb was the worst fps, then 3, then 2. so when i use 2 what do i do. alloccating with the .bat file does work. but it runs at best 25. what should i do to make it better without turning down my settings because for some weird reason even when my render distance is far or tiny i still get 20 fps now.

oh and should i keep the terminal open when i run minecraft or does it not make a difference?

#9

bones227
  • Location: US
  • Minecraft: bones227

Posted 26 March 2012 - 09:09 PM

can someone please help?

#10

Roy2010
    Roy2010

    Newly Spawned

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 May 2012 - 06:50 PM

This is frustrating. Bought a 1k$ laptop a month ago, it can play WoW on highest everything with no problems ever same with Skyrim. Tons of other games downloaded. The only ones I've ever had problems with are S4 *Cough* and Minecraft.

On my old computer which wasn't near as good as this one Minecraft couldn't even be PLAYED. It would literally say Java has run out of memory every 5 minutes, I'd have to close, and reload, and in a game like minecraft, that may not be a big deal, but it's very frustrating. Now on this laptop, it seems to freeze ever 2-3 minutes, doing 1 of 2 things:

1. It'll freeze the screen yet things will still happen like my character running, enemies, and just real time. But I can't see what's going on. I can press escape to pause it, and it either starts working again or it'll just stay like that till I close and reopen.

2. It'll overall freeze what it's doing, can't move or anything, can't press escape, nothing will work, so I'll alt+tab and wait for it to start responding again

These two things are VERY frustrating in The Nether, where I'm trying to be especially safe, yet it seems to freeze even more in that place. I've died a few times because of it, and overall the freezing is frustrating. Minecraft can be played on a 32 bit computer, it's not a very graphic structured game, it's pixelated, fully pixelated. So why I'm pissed is that I spent 27$ on a game that I'm playing on a great laptop with 2GB of video graphics, and it's doing this.

The least that could be done is a FAQ page for people with this problem, or a Q&A page. Or as much as I would hate to have to, refunds. =l If someone can direct me to a one of those things, please do, I want something that actually fixes this.

#11

morpheas768

Posted 21 May 2012 - 11:18 PM

Dont increase the amount of Ram Minecraft can use. I was experiencing weird freezes after 10-15 mins of playing on Normal-Far distance, and I'd have to exit out of the game completely (not just go to the title screen and reload), and restart the Minecraft client to fix it.

I had tried everything I found on Google that many people suggested, like using a .bat file to to increase the GBs of Ram on Minecraft from 1GB to 2, I tried using some commands on that bat file that people suggested, supposedly making Minecraft more stable, but none of them worked. Minecraft would always start freezing after a while, so I could only play on Short view distance. I even got the "Minecraft has run out of memory message once, which is absurd, because I had set it to 2GB, and it only used about 350 MB when it gave me that error.

Then I found someone in these forums (dont remember who or where), who suggested that people should decrease the available memory for Minecraft, and even the author of Optifine claims the same. I set my Minecraft to 768 MB, and Tah-Dah! No more freezing or crashes for me Posted Image

As you all know, Minecraft is set to 1GB by default, but it doesnt even use half of that while I'm using HD texture packs, playing on 1600x900 fullscreen, and using all graphics enhancements by Optifine. I dont know why, but for some reason decreasing the amount of RAM that is available for Minecraft actually helps fix the freezes and possible crashes.

I have yet to try 2x Far View Distance, but I am confident that it will work with 768 MB. Far and Normal works for me though.

Hope this helps (even though its been a long time since someone bumped this thread).
"Human beings are a disease, and we are the cure."

#12

Kameron14

Posted 22 May 2012 - 01:45 PM

I'm having the same problem and I tried youthisreadwrong's fix and it didn't work. Does anyone know if this is going to be a long term problem or if their is a fix coming from mojang? Bump..

#13

Kameron14

Posted 22 May 2012 - 03:56 PM

Okay my problem i think is same. I'm playing minecraft normaly on my new computer i got just a few days ago build for gaming and out of no wear my FPS drops to zero and its impossible to tell what is going on. Yet on my older computer i dont have this problem.

#14

Kameron14

Posted 22 May 2012 - 04:58 PM

Okay me agian.....I might have found a fix. It seems to have helped it run smoother and i played for like 15 mins straight and not lag/freeze. Install 64 bit java. You have to manualy install it from java site.

#15

Jktrollen

Posted 28 June 2012 - 04:58 PM

I get a few problems like this, while playing a hunger games server I would go from 200fps to 0 in an instant. Also now my new problem is when i try to play after about 5 mins my computer will freeze completely and I would have to shut it down. Does anyone have any ideas?

#16

bones227
  • Location: US
  • Minecraft: bones227

Posted 02 July 2012 - 05:15 AM

i tried everything morpheas said. it made it hard to play and idk if it worked. i still want to be able to play as i do kno just without the freezes.
BUT. i have one strange exeption... when i play minecraft and record with fraps. it works PERFECTLY... anyone know why this happens?

#17

Onecoolkid19

Posted 04 July 2012 - 06:11 AM

Hello. I used to have this problem. I fixed it by downloading 64-bit java. You can download it here : http://www.google.co...<br /> <br /> Hope this helped! (:

#18

KylieKoopaVG
  • Location: Carlsbad, San Diego, California, United States, North America, America, Earth, Solar System, Universe
  • Minecraft: KylieKoopaVG
  • Xbox:360

Posted 04 July 2012 - 06:17 AM

Here is a fix:

View PostKylieKoopaVG, on 27 June 2012 - 03:11 AM, said:

Stop upgrading your computers.

KylieKoopaV§mG
kkvg.text.RandomThoughts='http://bit.ly/MEwzjp <= Click it!'


#19

tremault
    tremault

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 08 August 2012 - 02:57 PM

hey guys,
I want to let you know that I came here to see if they had fixed this issue, you see I have had this issue for almost two years.
I stopped playing minecraft because this ridiculous freezing was making it unplayable and i couldn't find a solution back then.
I find it crazy that there still isn't a solution to this.
there's nothing wrong with my computer, it plays many games really well including portal 2, which is far more advanced than minecraft.

it starts off a little stuttery and then starts to freeze for longer periods. it does this on a new world where i haven't made many changes, it does it on worlds where i made lots of changes.
it's pretty stupid that there would be sucha problem that makes the game pretty much unplayable.
I paid for minecraft when it was in the earliest stages (alpha)
it's gotten so much better and yet i still can't play it.

this is an old issue. why is it that mojang can't troubleshoot this and get it sorted?

I have a 64 bit system and am using 64 bit java.

I'm just really fed up with this. I want to play the game i paid for almost two years ago.

#20

Michigan_Miner

Posted 12 August 2012 - 08:40 PM

Yea I have had the same problem. I just bought the game a little bit ago actually and it is pretty annoying I can't even play online with friends. I'm downloading the 64 bit java to see if that improves it at all...