Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Redstone Jukebox - V3

1.2.5

  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#1

nimahu
    nimahu

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Minecraft: nimahu

Posted 03 March 2012 - 07:57 AM

Posted Image


*I do not have time for modding at the moment, or any time in the foreseeable future, so take this as written permission to anyone who would like to continue this mod to do so. Just send me a PM and I'll send you the source code. As I cannot seem to find the problem with the jukebox looping, as it works just fine in MCP, whomever would like to do so is allowed to try to fix said issue. My one concern is to mention me in any posts continuing the mod but that is all.


Contents

Overview
This mod adds a new block called the "Redstone Jukebox". This block is essentially a jukebox that will play one of the five records contained inside it (there are buttons below each slot to manually choose the each one) when it is powered by redstone or by a switching mechanism such as levers, pressure plates or a stone button. As long as it is powered, it will loop through the records indefinitely, making it great for adventure maps and can be implemented by map makers (please message me before you do implement it).

Crafting Recipes
Posted Image

Videos
Special thanks to PixelizedChaos for this spotlight

Special thanks to enosha1 for this spotlight.

Also thanks to ProveIt_ for this spotlight.

More Videos
Spoiler:

Downloads
Requires ModLoader Most recent # of downloads: 1558

Installation
  • Download & install ModLoader (instructions in Risugami's thread).
  • Download the zip file of the version of this mod for Modloader, and put it in your mods folder (found in %appdata%.minecraft/mods on Windows, or ~/Library/Application\ Support/minecraft/mods if you are on a Mac).
Changelog
V3 - Jukebox can now carry up to 5 records and loops through them accordingly. Bug fixes as well as a new "streamlined texture" as to no be intrusive on Minecraft's visual art style (by this I mean I removed the flashy top texture).
V2 - Bug fix and added to creative menu
V1 - Initial release.

Known Bugs
The jukebox isn't looping as it should*

Disclaimer
This document is Copyright ©(2012) and is the intellectual property of the author. Only Minecraftforum.net and mcmodcenter.net is able to host any of my material without my(nimahu) consent. It may not be placed on any web site or otherwise distributed publicly without advance written permission. If you mirror this mod page or anything I(nimahu) have made on any other site, I(nimahu) may express my angst at you in the form of a lawsuit.

Posted Image


Register or log in to remove.

#2

Lolhoofd97
  • Location: Nieuw Lekkerland/The Netherlands
  • Minecraft: lolhoofd97
  • Xbox:Kidding me?

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:10 AM

thats actually a very good idea.Posted Image
Posted Image

#3

nimahu
    nimahu

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Minecraft: nimahu

Posted 03 March 2012 - 10:01 PM

View PostLolhoofd97, on 03 March 2012 - 09:10 AM, said:

thats actually a very good idea.Posted Image

Thanks

Posted Image


#4

Slidedrum
  • Location: Markov Geist
  • Minecraft: milkdonny
  • PSN:Slidedrum

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:19 PM

YES! i have been wanting to do this for a while.Posted Image
Posted Image
if you would not mind doing me a favor and pressing that little + button? thanks!

#5

nimahu
    nimahu

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Minecraft: nimahu

Posted 04 March 2012 - 12:43 AM

View PostSlidedrum, on 03 March 2012 - 11:19 PM, said:

YES! i have been wanting to do this for a while.Posted Image
Thanks, also updated to 1.2.3.

Posted Image


#6

Cybermario
  • Location: Mexico

Posted 04 March 2012 - 12:46 AM

interesting, will test it
Posted Image

#7

Enbon
    Enbon

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location: Home
  • Minecraft: Enfze

Posted 04 March 2012 - 01:09 AM

Cool Idea
Always wanting something like that

#8

BoyMac
    BoyMac

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 04 March 2012 - 01:11 AM

Does it repeat the song if it remains powered?

#9

nimahu
    nimahu

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Minecraft: nimahu

Posted 04 March 2012 - 01:33 AM

View PostBoyMac, on 04 March 2012 - 01:11 AM, said:

Does it repeat the song if it remains powered?
Sadly no, I might be able to implement that in a later update but it will require some trickery with finding the length of each song exactly. If I do though, I will probably have a toggleable button within the GUI to turn repeat on or off.

View PostEnbon, on 04 March 2012 - 01:09 AM, said:

Cool Idea
Always wanting something like that
Thanks for the feedback.

Posted Image


#10

cowsareawesome
  • Location: Walking in the void, apparently

Posted 04 March 2012 - 01:48 AM

Thanks for making my mod request!
My wip 32x texture pack.

View Postpeytonisgreat, on 12 July 2012 - 01:20 AM, said:

It doesn't have to make sense, the world is a fricken taco!

#11

BoyMac
    BoyMac

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 04 March 2012 - 02:27 AM

View Postnimahu, on 04 March 2012 - 01:33 AM, said:

Sadly no, I might be able to implement that in a later update but it will require some trickery with finding the length of each song exactly. If I do though, I will probably have a toggleable button within the GUI to turn repeat on or off.

Thanks for the feedback.
I don't know what the coding for minecraft is like but in c++ you would code it like:

if power=on: play music
if power=on/music ends: use command above

Hopefully that will help your thought process.

#12

nimahu
    nimahu

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Minecraft: nimahu

Posted 04 March 2012 - 03:32 AM

View PostBoyMac, on 04 March 2012 - 02:27 AM, said:

I don't know what the coding for minecraft is like but in c++ you would code it like:

if power=on: play music
if power=on/music ends: use command above

Hopefully that will help your thought process.

I'll look into it.

View Postcowsareawesome, on 04 March 2012 - 01:48 AM, said:

Thanks for making my mod request!
No problem, and sorry for putting it off for so long.

Posted Image


#13

nimahu
    nimahu

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Minecraft: nimahu

Posted 04 March 2012 - 07:15 AM

Bump for update to V2 now in the creative menu and no longer altering jungle tree's textures.

Posted Image


#14

unlucky4ever
  • Minecraft: unlucky4ever

Posted 04 March 2012 - 07:23 AM

Very nice idea, should be default in MC with the normal Jukebox...

Posted Image


#15

KHG!
    KHG!

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 March 2012 - 08:17 AM

Awesome idea
heres a suggestion just to help with us players wanting to switch the tracks without putting in and out the disc

To make it fit in the crafting table 3 (any of the records even repeats) records need to be combined to make a record stack a part of the crafting

Then 3 of the record stacks need to be put in the 3x3 grind along with a non stacked record (in this case a real record like cat) in this manner

Legend-
® = Real Record
[r] = Record stack
{r} = Redstone
(J) = Jukebox normal

Recipe:
{r}(J){r}
{r}®{r}
[r] [r] [r]

It would be awesome to have this (though it may seem of a challenge to code idk but I understand if you find it hard to make this)
To change the track just apply a redstone current to it (by means of a button/lever/Pressure Pad)
Pootis Stuff Ear
Posted Image

#16

nimahu
    nimahu

    Iron Miner

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Minecraft: nimahu

Posted 04 March 2012 - 08:32 AM

View PostKHG!, on 04 March 2012 - 08:17 AM, said:

Awesome idea
heres a suggestion just to help with us players wanting to switch the tracks without putting in and out the disc
-snip-
I'm not sure I understand, but I was thinking that after I implement the looping tracks into the mod, I could make it have 9 slots or so that, when the one before it had finished the record, it would play. If the slot was empty or had a non-record item it would just skip to the next occupied slot. Here's the gui I might use if I do this:
Posted Image
The little red dot below the slot would light up when the record above it is playing.

Posted Image


#17

FuriousHUN

Posted 04 March 2012 - 09:22 AM

the playlist is very nice idea....and THANKS 4 THIS MOD!!!! I wanted the mod like this soo long..Thanks again.

#18

Minecraftian Builder Liam
  • Location: Australia Somewhere
  • Minecraft: liamash3
  • Xbox:liamash3

Posted 04 March 2012 - 09:30 AM

This seems like a handy, well done mod. It even has Minecraft-style art :)
If you need help with getting songs to repeat, Paraknight has done a similar mod called "Boombox", and you could try and get his help for getting a repeat switch/option.
Posted Image

#19

FuriousHUN

Posted 04 March 2012 - 09:30 AM

this mod + more records + audiomod = AWESOME

Jeah, 1 idea (if possible):you can do that more than one can play the play the disc in it?

#20

Gilard
    Gilard

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 364 posts
  • Location: Shadows of a broken dream
  • Minecraft: Gilard

Posted 04 March 2012 - 10:09 AM

This is a good mod, I may get it and give it a test go.
I'm wondering though can you make it to were we can put in all the disks and we can select which one to play, sorta like a real jukebox?
If so that would be better than how you have it currently, though at current it's allot better than the default one.
Frewell to IZOD Indy Car Driver Dan Wheldon 1976 - 2011
Posted Image