Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Minecraft wont work. Login screen opens but not the game. New Computer Help (pic)


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1

The_Dizzie
  • Location: USA
  • Minecraft: The_Dizzie , Llette

Posted 26 February 2012 - 05:37 AM

I just got a Dell XPS with Windows 7. I've been tryin to get minecraft to work on it all day but it wont. I thought maybe it was the java so I updated to java 7 (the same I use on my old computer) thinking it would help. Installed it and nothing worked, so I restarted and it did another install but I keep getting the same thing on the opening screen. When I try to log in it will try but will not work, and wont even allow for offline play.

So it HAS to be something with java? What do I do?
Posted Image

My old system was a 32 bit, this one is a 64 bit, just turned on today everything but minecraft is working great. Anyone know whats wrong? Help please?

We need better chat! See my Suggestion:

Creator Content


Register or log in to remove.

#2

Jdembo
    Jdembo

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • Curse Premium
  • 1374 posts
  • Location: Minecraft, Laptop
  • Minecraft: Giraffestock

Posted 26 February 2012 - 06:18 AM

Check your internet, and make sure your java memory is set to 64 bit.

Its probably your internet, also are you using a payed MC or the free part?
Posted Image

#3

The_Dizzie
  • Location: USA
  • Minecraft: The_Dizzie , Llette

Posted 26 February 2012 - 06:59 AM

View PostJdembo, on 26 February 2012 - 06:18 AM, said:

Check your internet, and make sure your java memory is set to 64 bit.

Its probably your internet, also are you using a payed MC or the free part?

huh? I bought the game, and it still works on my other computer on the same connection imma see if its set to 64

We need better chat! See my Suggestion:

Creator Content


#4

Sergiovan
  • Location: Too close to a creep... BOOM!
  • Minecraft: sergiovan

Posted 26 February 2012 - 08:43 AM

I have the exact same problem! It worked fine untill one day when It wouldn't allow me to login! Browser version works fine and I have reinstalled 32 and 64 bit jav, but it still freezes in the login screen!!
There are 10 kinds of people: Those who know binary and those who don't.
Check out my Fusion Mod HERE

#5

Jdembo
    Jdembo

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • Curse Premium
  • 1374 posts
  • Location: Minecraft, Laptop
  • Minecraft: Giraffestock

Posted 28 February 2012 - 08:24 PM

Well its happened to me, but it was always my internet. Also, try re-downloading it, the launcher may be broken.

Well its happened to me, but it was always my internet. Also, try re-downloading it, the launcher may be broken.
Posted Image

#6

HugeMinefan

Posted 28 February 2012 - 08:34 PM

It happends to me when i do not have internet! But you are here so you have internet acsess lol
If i helped you!! Rep me :) --------------->
HugeMinefan

#7

Jdembo
    Jdembo

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • Curse Premium
  • 1374 posts
  • Location: Minecraft, Laptop
  • Minecraft: Giraffestock

Posted 28 February 2012 - 08:35 PM

Well its probably Minecraft doesnt have permission to allow connection. First check your java preferences, than go to firewall settings and allow minecraft to accept internet connections.
Posted Image

#8

Sergiovan
  • Location: Too close to a creep... BOOM!
  • Minecraft: sergiovan

Posted 03 March 2012 - 12:19 PM

I've tried that, but It won't work. Minecraft stays in that gray screen, and my whole computer starts going very very slow, yet the task manager will show a normal CPU and RAM usage!!!
There are 10 kinds of people: Those who know binary and those who don't.
Check out my Fusion Mod HERE

#9

alphawolf247824

Posted 02 July 2012 - 03:36 AM

i dont have premium but when i try to play on the website it just gos straight to webpage could not be displayed

#10

starlinvf
    starlinvf

    Glowstone Miner

  • Members
  • 3169 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 05:34 AM

@OP:  What anti-virus do you have?

#11

Yunqo
    Yunqo

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 06:38 AM

Could this be a problem with administrative rights? If you are able to try running as administrator.

Also, check firewall settings and try adding and exception to minecraft.

#12

Mirenheart
  • Location: Prescott Valley, Arizona.

Posted 02 July 2012 - 08:08 AM

Edit: alright, I found the problem after searching on the site a bit more. Apparently it's Java 7 causing the problem, and downgrading to Java 6 works perfectly fine.

Here's the thread i found it in: http://www.minecraft...ownload-client/
From the Author and Artist of Mirenheart

#13

alphawolf247824

Posted 02 July 2012 - 04:34 PM

thanks and idont know what my antivirus is

#14

alphawolf247824

Posted 02 July 2012 - 05:28 PM

View PostYunqo, on 02 July 2012 - 06:38 AM, said:

Could this be a problem with administrative rights? If you are able to try running as administrator.

Also, check firewall settings and try adding and exception to minecraft.
how do i  add exception to minecraft from firewall