Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Why is my minecraft server not working?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1

cryptic_mtd

Posted 21 February 2012 - 08:50 PM

I had a minecraft server but I deleted it. I make a new one with craftbukkit(the correct version). When I type in my ip address it says "connection refused". When i type localhost it works fine. What is wrong?!?!?

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Lord_Ralex
    Lord_Ralex

    Typoing Absolmin

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 5807 posts
  • Location: Route 120
  • Minecraft: Lord_Ralex

Posted 21 February 2012 - 09:00 PM

You need to port-forward your router.

Also make sure your firewalls allow the server thru.

MCF Admin for Servers and Mapping and Modding

Posted Image


#3

cryptic_mtd

Posted 21 February 2012 - 09:06 PM

View PostLord_Ralex, on 21 February 2012 - 09:00 PM, said:

You need to port-forward your router.

Also make sure your firewalls allow the server thru.
My minecraft port is open and I have checked this on a port checker. It works if i put localhost:25565 but not anything else so it is open. It still won't connct thru my ip....

#4

Lord_Ralex
    Lord_Ralex

    Typoing Absolmin

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 5807 posts
  • Location: Route 120
  • Minecraft: Lord_Ralex

Posted 21 February 2012 - 09:13 PM

So the port-checker, like http://www.canyousee.org does say it is open?

Try have someone else connecting with that IP. Sometimes a host cannot use the external IP to connect, only localhost

MCF Admin for Servers and Mapping and Modding

Posted Image


#5

cryptic_mtd

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:12 PM

View PostLord_Ralex, on 21 February 2012 - 09:13 PM, said:

So the port-checker, like http://www.canyousee.org does say it is open?

Try have someone else connecting with that IP. Sometimes a host cannot use the external IP to connect, only localhost
Won't connect using other computers, same error...port is open

#6

Rogue
    Rogue

    Gambrinous

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 8734 posts
  • Location: Rochester, NY
  • Minecraft: Rogue
  • Xbox:RogueMurder

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:17 PM

It's not the port, typically Connection Refused is a firewall blocking it, and I didn't see any confirmation that you checked that.

(As a note, the firewall not located on your router (if your router even has one))

Quote my post to make sure I see your reply - MCF Hosting CoordinatorPosted Image


#7

cryptic_mtd

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:18 PM

View PostAmberK, on 22 February 2012 - 06:17 PM, said:

It's not the port, typically Connection Refused is a firewall blocking it, and I didn't see any confirmation that you checked that.

(As a note, the firewall not located on your router (if your router even has one))
Yeh, i got avg internet security 2012 firewall. How do I add the server to the exceptions?

#8

Rogue
    Rogue

    Gambrinous

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 8734 posts
  • Location: Rochester, NY
  • Minecraft: Rogue
  • Xbox:RogueMurder

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:26 PM

Simply allow all network traffic through port 25565 on TCP and UDP

Quote my post to make sure I see your reply - MCF Hosting CoordinatorPosted Image


#9

cryptic_mtd

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:30 PM

Aha, success. If I use my internal ip it works on another computer! Is it safe to give this to my mates?

View PostAmberK, on 22 February 2012 - 06:26 PM, said:

Simply allow all network traffic through port 25565 on TCP and UDP
Already done that. Also disabled my firewall and my external ip still doesn't work.

#10

Rogue
    Rogue

    Gambrinous

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 8734 posts
  • Location: Rochester, NY
  • Minecraft: Rogue
  • Xbox:RogueMurder

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:35 PM

Oh, lol. Your router probably doesn't support connecting to your own external IP. PM me the IP, and I can test it for you.

Quote my post to make sure I see your reply - MCF Hosting CoordinatorPosted Image


#11

cryptic_mtd

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:39 PM

View PostAmberK, on 22 February 2012 - 06:35 PM, said:

Oh, lol. Your router probably doesn't support connecting to your own external IP. PM me the IP, and I can test it for you.
It worked before. I just deleted the server, started again and it said connection refused

#12

Rogue
    Rogue

    Gambrinous

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 8734 posts
  • Location: Rochester, NY
  • Minecraft: Rogue
  • Xbox:RogueMurder

Posted 22 February 2012 - 07:05 PM

With the external IP? Strange, is anything showing in console?

Quote my post to make sure I see your reply - MCF Hosting CoordinatorPosted Image


#13

cryptic_mtd

Posted 22 February 2012 - 07:51 PM

View PostAmberK, on 22 February 2012 - 07:05 PM, said:

With the external IP? Strange, is anything showing in console?
Nothing comes up, just normal console stuff.

#14

Rogue
    Rogue

    Gambrinous

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 8734 posts
  • Location: Rochester, NY
  • Minecraft: Rogue
  • Xbox:RogueMurder

Posted 22 February 2012 - 09:33 PM

"normal console stuff" :mellow:

Mind posting this normal stuff on here with [code] and [spoiler] tags?

Quote my post to make sure I see your reply - MCF Hosting CoordinatorPosted Image


#15

Benoy101
    Benoy101

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: badboyash00

Posted 24 February 2012 - 07:08 PM

I just Made a server and its working and everything but when i spawn in it i spawn underwater and there is no land....can someone help.. if someone has the answer ill make them admin on my server    :lol:

#16

Rogue
    Rogue

    Gambrinous

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 8734 posts
  • Location: Rochester, NY
  • Minecraft: Rogue
  • Xbox:RogueMurder

Posted 24 February 2012 - 07:17 PM

Delete your world and start again :T

Quote my post to make sure I see your reply - MCF Hosting CoordinatorPosted Image


#17

Benoy101
    Benoy101

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: badboyash00

Posted 24 February 2012 - 07:28 PM

View PostAmberK, on 24 February 2012 - 07:17 PM, said:

Delete your world and start again :T
I dont know how...... -_-

#18

Benoy101
    Benoy101

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Minecraft: badboyash00

Posted 24 February 2012 - 07:35 PM

how do i do that?????????? :s

#19

Rogue
    Rogue

    Gambrinous

  • Forum Admin
  • Curse Premium
  • 8734 posts
  • Location: Rochester, NY
  • Minecraft: Rogue
  • Xbox:RogueMurder

Posted 24 February 2012 - 08:13 PM

Answered in PM.

Simply delete your world folder.

Quote my post to make sure I see your reply - MCF Hosting CoordinatorPosted Image