Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

[Win] Minecraft Version/Mod Switcher [1.1.0] For all Versions of Minecraft


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1

CrankkDatJFel
  • Location: IL
  • Minecraft: CrankkDatJFel

Posted 21 February 2012 - 01:52 AM

Minecraft Version/Mod Switcher (MVMS)
Created by Jared Feldman aka: CrankkDatJFel



About / Info:
MVMS is a powerful piece of software that allows you to switch between different versions of Minecraft.  MVMS can also be used to save Mods you have installed into your .minecraft folder.

This is the first software development project I have done and I am committed to the developtment of this program and I will be taking your suggestions and advice very seriously.  Please do not hesitate to reply honestly!

Screenshots:

Spoiler:

How to Use:
Creating Your Collection Of Profiles
1.  Start with a clean version of the latest Minecraft software.
2.  Save a Mod Profile so you can always revert back to a clean state.
3.  Install desired mods in .minecraft folder as you normally would.
4.  Save a Mod Profile so you can always switch back to these mods as you please.
5.  Load your clean state and repeat steps 3 and 4.

Load a desired Mod Profile
1.  Close Minecraft.
2.  Click on the desired Mod Profile in the list box.
3.  Click Load Mod Profile
4.  Run Minecraft

Download
1.1.0
minecraftVersionModSwitcher-1.1.0.exe

Version Information:
1.1.0
Spoiler:
1.0.0 - First Release
Spoiler:

Bugs:
If you find a bug please reply in this thread and make sure you type what you did and if you can make it happen again.
- Progress bars are still going when "Done" pops up.

Future Updates:
- Mod Profile Information Screen
- Launch Minecraft Button

FAQ:
Q: I found a bug, what do I do?
A: Please reply in this thread and make sure you type what you did and if you can make it happen again.

Q: Is MVMS distributing past copies of Minecraft?
A: No, MVMS only works if you have Minecraft installed and only contains Mod Profiles defined by the user.

Server Info:
Posted Image


Posted Image
Check out Minecraft Version/Mod Switcher to easily switch between different versions and loadouts of Minecraft Mods!

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Ultimate172
  • Location: United States of America
  • Minecraft: Ultimate117

Posted 21 February 2012 - 01:53 AM

Looks VERY nice. Good job! +1
Kingdom Realms, a once-popular text-based game
If my post helped you, please click the (+) at the bottom right!

#3

TeachMeHow

Posted 21 February 2012 - 01:56 AM

Nice !
+Rep'd!
“I don't exactly know what I mean by that, but I mean it.”
- J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye

#4

Socksnbox
  • Location: USA
  • Minecraft: Socksnbox

Posted 21 February 2012 - 01:58 AM

A lot like Magic Launcher! But not bad at all! 1+
Posted Image

#5

living4theday258
  • Minecraft: living4theday258

Posted 21 February 2012 - 02:02 AM

this seems very useful thanks
Posted Image

#6

nearbeer
    nearbeer

    Lapis Lazuli Collector

  • Members
  • 1021 posts
  • Location: My chair, my kitchen, or my bed.
  • Minecraft: nearbeer

Posted 21 February 2012 - 03:25 AM

I like it crank!
I would love it if you checked out my "about me" page on my profile and looked at my threads :P I'm always happy to see new posters.

#7

CrankkDatJFel
  • Location: IL
  • Minecraft: CrankkDatJFel

Posted 21 February 2012 - 05:05 PM

Thanks for all the positive feedback everyone.  Let me know any features you would like to see in future updates.
Posted Image
Check out Minecraft Version/Mod Switcher to easily switch between different versions and loadouts of Minecraft Mods!

#8

PatrickFreed

Posted 26 February 2012 - 10:23 PM

Supported by Freeds Universe SMP.  ;)

#9

CrankkDatJFel
  • Location: IL
  • Minecraft: CrankkDatJFel

Posted 25 March 2012 - 05:47 AM

Hey guys added a video!  Check out my program!


Posted Image
Check out Minecraft Version/Mod Switcher to easily switch between different versions and loadouts of Minecraft Mods!

#10

Jasspeerr97

Posted 25 March 2012 - 11:10 AM

Hey Jared,
I have a problem with your tool..
Whenever I try to run the .exe i downloaded, a message pops up: You do not have a .minecraft folder in your %appdata%. This program is not useful to you without Minecraft installed.
I definitely have a .minecraft folder in my Application Data.
Could you help me out with this one? Because I have no idea what to do..

Thanks in advance, Jasper.

Oh and this is for you! Posted Image

#11

CrankkDatJFel
  • Location: IL
  • Minecraft: CrankkDatJFel

Posted 25 March 2012 - 05:11 PM

Hey Jasspeerr97, thanks for the reply.

This is happening because the program is looking in a very specific directory for a .minecraft folder.  It basically says...

Is there a folder existing called ".minecraft" with the directory called "*\AppData\Roaming\.minecraft" with * being your home directory for your PC?  If there isn't, then don't run the program, but if there is then this person has Minecraft installed and we'll be able to function.

So the problem is the program is not finding a .minecraft folder within your "\AppData\Roaming\".

Can you go to your .minecraft folder --> right click --> properties --> and copy and paste the "Location" of your .minecraft folder.

Thanks, Jared
Posted Image
Check out Minecraft Version/Mod Switcher to easily switch between different versions and loadouts of Minecraft Mods!

#12

Jasspeerr97

Posted 26 March 2012 - 01:54 PM

View PostCrankkDatJFel, on 25 March 2012 - 05:11 PM, said:

Hey Jasspeerr97, thanks for the reply.

This is happening because the program is looking in a very specific directory for a .minecraft folder.  It basically says...

Is there a folder existing called ".minecraft" with the directory called "*\AppData\Roaming\.minecraft" with * being your home directory for your PC?  If there isn't, then don't run the program, but if there is then this person has Minecraft installed and we'll be able to function.

So the problem is the program is not finding a .minecraft folder within your "\AppData\Roaming\".

Can you go to your .minecraft folder --> right click --> properties --> and copy and paste the "Location" of your .minecraft folder.

Thanks, Jared

Hello again Jared,

This is the location of my .minecraft folder.
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data.

There really is a .minecraft folder because I can play minecraft 1.2.4.
If there was no .minecraft folder, I wouldn't be able to use it I guess.


Im using windows XP, not windows 2007, if that might make a difference.

Thanks again, Jasper

#13

CrankkDatJFel
  • Location: IL
  • Minecraft: CrankkDatJFel

Posted 26 March 2012 - 10:34 PM

View PostJasspeerr97, on 26 March 2012 - 01:54 PM, said:

Hello again Jared,

This is the location of my .minecraft folder.
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data.

There really is a .minecraft folder because I can play minecraft 1.2.4.
If there was no .minecraft folder, I wouldn't be able to use it I guess.


Im using windows XP, not windows 2007, if that might make a difference.

Thanks again, Jasper

Jasper, I have figured out the issue!

The reason this is happening is because I was specifically looking at a directory intended for Windows 7 and because you are on XP it is not finding the correct folder.

I already have a fix for it and I will release an update that will work for XP in the next few days!

EDIT: UPDATED!  Please let me know if the XP bug is fixed!

Thank you very much,
Jared
Posted Image
Check out Minecraft Version/Mod Switcher to easily switch between different versions and loadouts of Minecraft Mods!

#14

Jasspeerr97

Posted 27 March 2012 - 02:22 PM

View PostCrankkDatJFel, on 26 March 2012 - 10:34 PM, said:

Jasper, I have figured out the issue!

The reason this is happening is because I was specifically looking at a directory intended for Windows 7 and because you are on XP it is not finding the correct folder.

I already have a fix for it and I will release an update that will work for XP in the next few days!

EDIT: UPDATED!  Please let me know if the XP bug is fixed!

Thank you very much,
Jared

Hello Jared!

It works now!
Thank you for fixing it! :)
I am looking forward to use it. This mod should be more known!
I'm glad I could help!

Jasper.

Ps. Probably found another buggy thing. When I download it, Google Chrome thinks it's malware.
But I checked the file with my Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware virus scanner, it doesnt find any viruses.
So maybe that's something to work on in the future? I don't know if you can help that. But thanks anywayPosted Image .

#15

rang3ramhard

Posted 01 April 2012 - 07:10 AM

Oh this ting is WOW good tanks alot.

#16

CrankkDatJFel
  • Location: IL
  • Minecraft: CrankkDatJFel

Posted 11 April 2012 - 12:52 PM

You're welcome.  Enjoy.
Posted Image
Check out Minecraft Version/Mod Switcher to easily switch between different versions and loadouts of Minecraft Mods!

#17

CrankkDatJFel
  • Location: IL
  • Minecraft: CrankkDatJFel

Posted 04 July 2012 - 03:39 AM

Shame-filled-bump. :(
Posted Image
Check out Minecraft Version/Mod Switcher to easily switch between different versions and loadouts of Minecraft Mods!

#18

Vat_King
  • Location: USA
  • Minecraft: Vat_King

Posted 10 April 2013 - 01:10 AM

I have this anti-virus program that keeps deleting the downloaded file. It's called Norton. Do you think that there is there any way that I could get around this? This looks like a useful program and I would love to use it.
Posted Image
I'm a Mormon. I know it, I live it, I love it.

#19

CrankkDatJFel
  • Location: IL
  • Minecraft: CrankkDatJFel

Posted 29 May 2013 - 07:59 PM

Sorry for the late reply Vat_King.  I don't really have a solution for you, I'd suggest you make an exception in your anti virus software to trust the program.
Posted Image
Check out Minecraft Version/Mod Switcher to easily switch between different versions and loadouts of Minecraft Mods!