Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

java.io.EOFException


  • Please log in to reply
89 replies to this topic

#1

ClayC
    ClayC

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location: Malta, Europe

Posted 20 December 2010 - 06:48 PM

Ok, lemme walk you through what happens so you understand better, I open up Minecraft and wait for it to load, go to multiplayer and enter an ip or address and press ENTER, now there are 2 cases

Case1 : I login normally and then I get disconnected after a minute of playing (minute is just an approximation)
after that I get the Disconnected message with something mentioning SocketException. I also lose all internet connection whatsoever, basically my ethernet port gets blocked or something.

Case2 : When it's loading, I get the Internal exception: java.io.EOFException (I got a screenie but I don't need it, I think :RedShroom:) and same thing I lose all connections etc.. same problem as Case1 just different error

Any solutions?

-ClayC
Active and cool staff, respectful and helpful players, 24/7 uptime with added features and more!

Clays FreeBuild Servers - http://claysfb.unique-gn.net

Register or log in to remove.

#2

Alvy
    Alvy

    Newly Spawned

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 06:58 PM

Just updated the server to the latest version, and various people that have been getting the same problems - various EOFExceptions and connection resets.

Looking at the logs, I can see lots of these:

Quote

2010-12-20 18:46:44 [INFO] xxxxxxxxx [/xx.xx.xxx.xx] logged in with entity id 69
2010-12-20 18:46:52 [INFO] xxxxxxxxx lost connection: disconnect.overflow

Any clues? :P

#3

tylerdola

Posted 20 December 2010 - 07:03 PM

happening to a lot of people. I guess sit tight and play single player for now :) We wait for a fix!

#4

chivs688
    chivs688

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 07:22 PM

Getting the same java.io.EOFException message, after getting disconnected from every server after a few seconds.

#5

ClayC
    ClayC

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location: Malta, Europe

Posted 20 December 2010 - 07:27 PM

Alvy said:

Just updated the server to the latest version, and various people that have been getting the same problems - various EOFExceptions and connection resets.

Looking at the logs, I can see lots of these:

Quote

2010-12-20 18:46:44 [INFO] xxxxxxxxx [/xx.xx.xxx.xx] logged in with entity id 69
2010-12-20 18:46:52 [INFO] xxxxxxxxx lost connection: disconnect.overflow

Any clues? :iapprove:

Well I just downloaded the latest server stuff and I have Beta 1.0 now so that is not the problem lol
Active and cool staff, respectful and helpful players, 24/7 uptime with added features and more!

Clays FreeBuild Servers - http://claysfb.unique-gn.net

#6

joe443
    joe443

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 07:37 PM

I think I have the same problem after he made an update(I'm french):

Quote

      Minecraft has crashed!      
      ----------------------      

Minecraft has stopped running because it encountered a problem.

If you wish to report this, please copy this entire text and email it to [email protected].
Please include a description of what you did when the error occured.



--- BEGIN ERROR REPORT a1dce528 --------
Generated 10-12-20 14:32

Minecraft: Minecraft Alpha v1.2.6
OS: Windows 7 (x86) version 6.1
Java: 1.6.0_22, Sun Microsystems Inc.
VM: Java HotSpot™ Client VM (mixed mode), Sun Microsystems Inc.
LWJGL: 2.4.2
OpenGL: GeForce GTX 460M/PCI/SSE2 version 4.0.0, NVIDIA Corporation

java.nio.BufferOverflowException
at java.nio.DirectByteBuffer.put(Unknown Source)
at java.nio.ByteBuffer.put(Unknown Source)
at fu.a(SourceFile:148)
at fu.a(SourceFile:62)
at net.minecraft.client.Minecraft.i(SourceFile:977)
at net.minecraft.client.Minecraft.run(SourceFile:595)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
--- END ERROR REPORT f2cd4aa2 ----------

Edit: It's okay for me, I have deleted the folder and reset minecraft.
J'ai effacer le fichier de minecraft pour le réinstaller et maintenant ça fonctionne! Bizarre?!

#7

Snuggles09

Posted 20 December 2010 - 07:48 PM

Having the same issue, guess we'll just have to wait for an update for the server hosts..
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#8

Shizuru
    Shizuru

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 156 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 07:54 PM

Same problem here...
I can connect to my own server though.

#9

Gamma237
    Gamma237

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 07:56 PM

Guys I had the same problem, but I have a temporary solution


If you had the server software before the beta update and still have that file saved. DONT PANIC.

Drag the appropriate map file from the old server folder and drag it into the new file, change the server notepad/file thingy and then viola... you have an old map on your server... BUT you still have a server up and running (Y) :Zombie:

Posted Image


#10

TrOllie
    TrOllie

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 07:56 PM

Same issue for me, after about 10 secs of play I get the error rendering the game unplayable  :Zombie: I hope a fix is released asap as it would be nice to enjoy the new update.

#11

Aman1212
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 20 December 2010 - 07:59 PM

Same problem here.
Great update Notch...

#12

TJuberg
    TJuberg

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 08:00 PM

Also seeing this, but not on all servers. My own test server works just fine.

#13

ClayC
    ClayC

    Carpenter

  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location: Malta, Europe

Posted 20 December 2010 - 08:08 PM

Just to make it clear this is not if you are hosting the server only, this happens even when you join any server there is already available. And it's not a beta thing only, it happens in alpha too...

Just had to clear things up as people with different reasons are posting about the problem on the wrong terms lol

But yeah feel free to post your java.io.EOFException problems and be specific :P

-ClayC
Active and cool staff, respectful and helpful players, 24/7 uptime with added features and more!

Clays FreeBuild Servers - http://claysfb.unique-gn.net

#14

Sean5861
    Sean5861

    Zombie Killer

  • Members
  • 155 posts
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 20 December 2010 - 09:14 PM

TrOllie said:

Same issue for me, after about 10 secs of play I get the error rendering the game unplayable  :Water: I hope a fix is released asap as it would be nice to enjoy the new update.

Me too =P.  Damn Notch, release a broken update just to meet deadlines.

Join game, fall through map, 10 seconds and crash.  I have enough time to type a line or so and people see it.
:Glass:  :D  :Glass:
Posted Image

The QUEST Survival Server: 188.165.120.183 [simg]http://res.public-cr....com/5mk55u.png[/simg]

#15

sharkh20

Posted 20 December 2010 - 11:27 PM

"Join game, fall through map, 10 seconds and crash. I have enough time to type a line or so and people see it."

This is what I am getting on my server.  Tried creating new worlds and everything.  But alas, doesn't work.

#16

rotseken
    rotseken

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 11:38 PM

Getting this problem on both me and my friend's private servers.

User-side error is: "Connection Lost    Internal exception: java.io.EOFException"
Server-side message is: "... lost connection: disconnect.overflow"

Port 25565 is forwarded properly.
Java is updated to its most current release (version 6 update 23).

Chat system works both ways until game crash (anywhere from 3 to 15 seconds of playtime).
Server host is able to connect to their own game just fine.

The beta server system was working fine for most of the day until a few hours ago when this message appeared after my character's death.

#17

eddygzz9
    eddygzz9

    Tree Puncher

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 11:40 PM

I found out that Changing your game settings to "Fancy" fixes this problem. :D Hopefully it works for you guys...

#18

Tirin
    Tirin

    Out of the Water

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 December 2010 - 11:48 PM

Same problem

Fancy does nothing

#19

SevenSpy
    SevenSpy

    Redstone Miner

  • Members
  • 623 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 20 December 2010 - 11:50 PM

This is so annoying.

Tried 21 times with a friend lol. A couple times I got to play for over 10 mins each time.

No Spy here...


#20

christiankrona

Posted 21 December 2010 - 12:02 AM

joining game, playing for about 10 sec then crash or disconnects with the java.io.EOFException message