Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

How to mod Minecraft Pocket Edition - first steps | for I-Phone / I-Touch


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1

Queldorm
    Queldorm

    Tree Puncher

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 29 posts

Posted 06 February 2012 - 11:00 PM

Its been said that the pocket edition will not support mods.  I'm here to tell you that that is wrong. it may not be the same as a mod for the computer but it is possible.

What you need:

  Minecraft Pocket Edition
  Jail-broken ITouch of phone

  OpenSSH
  FileZilla

    or
  myFile

Here is a list of the current item ids for MCPE
Example:

In the following directory on your I device:
     /private/var/mobile/Applications/Minecraft Pocket Edition/Documents/
      games/com.mojang/minecraftWorlds/<WORLD-NAME>


    there is three files: chunks.dat, level.dat, and player.dat

In the file player.dat if opened in a hex editor you will find something close to this:

Player.bat

01 00 00 00
50 00 00 00
00 80 00 43 - x axis
71 3D 83 42 - y axis
00 80 00 43 - z axis
00 00 00 00  
2E 90 A0 BD
00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00
00 00 34 C3 - rotate
00 00 00 00
EC FF 2C 01
01 00 00 00
2E 00 00 00 - Inv 1
04 00 00 00 - Inv 2
18 00 00 00 - Inv 3

03 00 00 00
2D 00 00 00
01 00 00 00
32 00 00 00
41 00 00 00
FF FF FF FF


the blue highlighted lines represent the items that are in in your inventory.

if you changed 2E 00 00 00 to 05 00 00 00 you would end up with a wood block in the fist slot in your inventory.


If you can help by searching these hex files and find what the hex values do that would be very helpful.
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

CraftEnim

Posted 06 February 2012 - 11:06 PM

wait, if u change one of the inventory slots using the hex editor, and then u click a different block from ur inventory, will the hex edited block be gone and u have to redo it all?
Come see my YouTube channel for Minecraft Pocket Edition videos and more!
http://www.youtube.com/user/CraftEnim

#3

coolbeansethan
  • Location: vancouver, canada
  • Minecraft: Fantapant5
  • Xbox:royal ghillies

Posted 06 February 2012 - 11:25 PM

Yup..
Posted Image

#4

Geneo
    Geneo

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1949 posts
  • Location: Central USA

Posted 06 February 2012 - 11:29 PM

Double wait.

You're going in and changing which block is in inventory.  Will that new block ACT like the new one?  So you're not adding or expanding the number of blocks, you're just replacing existing ones?

Seems like you're just changing the display- you aren't really modding the game (changing how the game works).

Sorry, I'll wait a couple of days for a "real mod" to come out from the producer.
As a "mod"=fail.

#5

Queldorm
    Queldorm

    Tree Puncher

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 29 posts

Posted 06 February 2012 - 11:48 PM

View PostGeneo, on 06 February 2012 - 11:29 PM, said:

Double wait.

You're going in and changing which block is in inventory.  Will that new block ACT like the new one?  So you're not adding or expanding the number of blocks, you're just replacing existing ones?

Seems like you're just changing the display- you aren't really modding the game (changing how the game works).

Sorry, I'll wait a couple of days for a "real mod" to come out from the producer.
As a "mod"=fail.

Yea all's it does is allow you to use a block you cant normally use.  
unfortuanatly once you pick a new block you will have to redo the prosses.

It be really cool to make a cydia app that allows you to manage it in a easier way.  and until we can figure what all the hex code does making such an app would be imposible

And no its not changing the display its changing the item that's in your inventory.
Posted Image

#6

IAmTheGamer
  • Minecraft: GamingFreak

Posted 07 February 2012 - 12:14 AM

What does this mod do. Like does it increase the blocks you have or what?

#7

Queldorm
    Queldorm

    Tree Puncher

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 29 posts

Posted 07 February 2012 - 12:17 AM

its not a mod in the sense we have on the pc.  The Idea of this is to encourage people to help find what the hex values do so we can make mode in the future
Posted Image

#8

500 Internal Server Error
  • Location: Test.neverCallThis() (Test.java:42)
  • Minecraft: zhuowei

Posted 07 February 2012 - 12:34 AM

View PostQueldorm, on 07 February 2012 - 12:17 AM, said:

its not a mod in the sense we have on the pc.  The Idea of this is to encourage people to help find what the hex values do so we can make mode in the future
The hex values were already found by Aviin a long time ago. They're on the Wiki now. http://www.minecraft...Pocket_Edition)

It would be more amazing if you could get TNT to explode: All the code is there, but there is one line of code that disables it. (Checks a flag in the level, and if true then stop, otherwise spawn a primed TNT entity and explode.) If you can hexedit that out of the actual application code, I would be very impressed.

#9

Queldorm
    Queldorm

    Tree Puncher

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 29 posts

Posted 07 February 2012 - 01:26 AM

View Post500 Internal Server Error, on 07 February 2012 - 12:34 AM, said:

The hex values were already found by Aviin a long time ago. They're on the Wiki now. http://www.minecraft...Pocket_Edition)

It would be more amazing if you could get TNT to explode: All the code is there, but there is one line of code that disables it. (Checks a flag in the level, and if true then stop, otherwise spawn a primed TNT entity and explode.) If you can hexedit that out of the actual application code, I would be very impressed.

that would be cool
Posted Image

#10

Kwauhn
    Kwauhn

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1559 posts
  • Location: Circumventing cataclysmic celestial anomalies
  • Minecraft: Kwauhn

Posted 07 February 2012 - 01:33 AM

Modding Pocket edition is completely possible... It's just that no one on the forums (or barely anyone) can code c++ or objective-c :(

Posted Image

Previously known as GreyZap


#11

Queldorm
    Queldorm

    Tree Puncher

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 29 posts

Posted 07 February 2012 - 01:46 AM

It be nice if we could fin the code that restrics the server to local connection
Posted Image

#12

Kwauhn
    Kwauhn

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1559 posts
  • Location: Circumventing cataclysmic celestial anomalies
  • Minecraft: Kwauhn

Posted 07 February 2012 - 04:51 AM

View PostQueldorm, on 07 February 2012 - 01:46 AM, said:

It be nice if we could fin the code that restrics the server to local connection

It's not that it's restricted, it's that MCPE uses blue tooth instead of global wifi, thus the limmitation to the same network :(

Posted Image

Previously known as GreyZap


#13

Queldorm
    Queldorm

    Tree Puncher

  • Curse Premium
  • Curse Premium
  • 29 posts

Posted 08 February 2012 - 04:49 PM

Aw, guess we'll have to wait till Notch or Jeb adds in global, at least I hope he does.
Posted Image

#14

ComputerCraftFan1

Posted 08 February 2012 - 05:00 PM

View PostQueldorm, on 08 February 2012 - 04:49 PM, said:

Aw, guess we'll have to wait till Notch or Jeb adds in global, at least I hope he does.
They don't work on pocket edition

minebook.me (Facebook for Minecraft)

You won't regret clicking that link.


#15

technobrony1312
  • Location: if ur reading this u r a stalker
  • Minecraft: techno1312
  • Xbox:techno1312

Posted 13 March 2012 - 04:10 AM

You don't have to be jailbroken. you need i explorer and an iPod/iphone/ipad. With iExplorer you can just plug in and look at your iDevices files. No need to jailbreak...

#16

Kwauhn
    Kwauhn

    Void Walker

  • Members
  • 1559 posts
  • Location: Circumventing cataclysmic celestial anomalies
  • Minecraft: Kwauhn

Posted 13 March 2012 - 04:32 AM

fuck damn. Change the title will you? I thought this was a tutorial on how to get/mod the actual source code. In the end it was just some hex editing tutorial.

Posted Image

Previously known as GreyZap


#17

Lowl58
    Lowl58

    Gold Miner

  • Members
  • 361 posts
  • Location: Underground on a world
  • Minecraft: lowl58

Posted 13 March 2012 - 03:07 PM

well no one with current version of Itouch can jailbreak without downloading crap on your CPU
Posted Image
PSSH you can't do it

#18

CreeperSteve555

Posted 13 March 2012 - 11:43 PM

View PostGeneo, on 06 February 2012 - 11:29 PM, said:

Double wait.

You're going in and changing which block is in inventory.  Will that new block ACT like the new one?  So you're not adding or expanding the number of blocks, you're just replacing existing ones?

Seems like you're just changing the display- you aren't really modding the game (changing how the game works).

Sorry, I'll wait a couple of days for a "real mod" to come out from the producer.
As a "mod"=fail.
Ha it does change how the block acts smart one. You can change it to 2e and get tnt! So stop trolling members.

#19

Pokemaniac

Posted 04 May 2012 - 10:20 AM

You can get ynt another way also lava and water

I meant tnt

#20

Superarragon
  • Location: United States
  • Minecraft: Superarragon7
  • Xbox:EdgelessLeech

Posted 04 May 2012 - 11:02 PM

THIS IS NOT A MOD. ALL HE IS DOING IS TELLING HOW TO HEX EDIT UNOBTAINABLE BLOCKS INTO PE. THIS HAS BEEN DONE A THOUSAND TIMES BEFORE. THIS IS NOT A MOD.

Definition of mod: A modification to the game to get more features (getting new blocks is not a feature)
Posted Image