Jump to content

  • Curse Sites
Become a Premium Member! Help
Latest News Article

Anyone else try to play Skyrim on a square TV?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1

cheddercheese99
  • Location: Check your mirror.
  • Minecraft: Cheddercheeese

Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:11 AM

So, apparently, some genius down at Bathesda thought it would be a good idea to omit any and all forms of formatting related to the player's TV. Meaning if you don't have at least a 32 in. widescreen flatscreen, you are gonna have a shitty time playing. I mean, I get that it's the norm to have an HD flatscreen, but all these years I've honestly seen nothing wrong with a 480p 24 in. RCA square TV. It's not like anythings ever been blurry or hard to make out, until now. Literally, the words run together on the screen when I play Skyrim. Not only that, but outside of menus, my stamina and half of my health are completely invisible. What dumbass at Bathesda took out every single TV related option from the options menu?
Posted Image

Register or log in to remove.

#2

renicholas
  • Location: In Bruma, killing your siege machine.
  • Minecraft: Renicholas

Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:14 AM

Seriously. Whenever i get something from a quest i have to go through my 4 million item inventory and try to go "Hmm, that looks new."
Helpfulness!
...Only on Tuesday

#3

Krova
    Krova

    Blaze Extinguisher

  • Members
  • 4151 posts
  • Location: BC, Canada
  • Minecraft: Emporis

Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:14 AM

I guess they expect most people to have HDTVs if they have an HD console.

I like getting the most out of my investments.

Minecraft is best craft.Posted Image


#4

ucciderli

Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:16 AM

yea i used to have that but i got a bigger tv :P
Posted Image

#5

cheddercheese99
  • Location: Check your mirror.
  • Minecraft: Cheddercheeese

Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:17 AM

View PostKrova, on 05 February 2012 - 01:14 AM, said:

I guess they expect most people to have HDTVs if they have an HD console.

I like getting the most out of my investments.

I guess, my point is that every other game I've played on it has been perfectly fine, and it's not like a formatting options menu would take away so much memory.
Posted Image

#6

Krova
    Krova

    Blaze Extinguisher

  • Members
  • 4151 posts
  • Location: BC, Canada
  • Minecraft: Emporis

Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:20 AM

View Postcheddercheese99, on 05 February 2012 - 01:17 AM, said:

I guess, my point is that every other game I've played on it has been perfectly fine, and it's not like a formatting options menu would take away so much memory.
I remember playing Oblivion in 720p and having the edges cut off a bit.  It's certainly not something new.

The consoles do get neglected by Bethesda games, though.

Minecraft is best craft.Posted Image


#7

renicholas
  • Location: In Bruma, killing your siege machine.
  • Minecraft: Renicholas

Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:21 AM

The least they could do is add in an update or something the option to change the size of the game screen so you can shrink it down to your TV size :/
Helpfulness!
...Only on Tuesday

#8

Krova
    Krova

    Blaze Extinguisher

  • Members
  • 4151 posts
  • Location: BC, Canada
  • Minecraft: Emporis

Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:52 AM

View Postrenicholas, on 05 February 2012 - 01:21 AM, said:

The least they could do is add in an update or something the option to change the size of the game screen so you can shrink it down to your TV size :/
Especially considering that the PC version of the game already supports this.

Minecraft is best craft.Posted Image


#9

Dastardlybob

Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:53 AM

View PostKrova, on 05 February 2012 - 01:20 AM, said:

I remember playing Oblivion in 720p and having the edges cut off a bit.  It's certainly not something new.

The consoles do get neglected by Bethesda games, though.

Neglecting the console? What?

You do know the games are made FOR the console right?
We PC players get a console port with the terrible for computer console menus and such. The only  things we PC players have over you is better graphics and modding.
Posted Image ~Touhou Project~
Spoiler:

#10

SigmaBlade
  • Minecraft: SigmaBlade

Posted 05 February 2012 - 02:09 AM

I have to squint to read any words on the screen, it's awful.

#11

Krova
    Krova

    Blaze Extinguisher

  • Members
  • 4151 posts
  • Location: BC, Canada
  • Minecraft: Emporis

Posted 05 February 2012 - 02:12 AM

View PostDastardlybob, on 05 February 2012 - 01:53 AM, said:

Neglecting the console? What?

You do know the games are made FOR the console right?
We PC players get a console port with the terrible for computer console menus and such. The only  things we PC players have over you is better graphics and modding.
I am a PC player, genius.

And no, the game is developed on PC first, then developed on consoles.  It's just the interface that usually ends up being more console-friendly, at least ever since Oblivion.  The Morrowind interface was really slick on PC.

For Oblivion, I downloaded the DarNified UI mod, and for Skyrim I have SkyUI.  Problem solved.

That, and lately they've had to set the bar according to the consoles' hardware, since the latest generation is slipping behind even average gaming PCs.

Minecraft is best craft.Posted Image


#12

PhatNathan
  • Location: In a sealed up hole waiting for night to pass... in New York
  • Minecraft: PhatNathan

Posted 05 February 2012 - 04:29 AM

Yeah they should at least add it in an update, you could buy an hdtv, I got a 32 inch philips 1080p hdtv for a little less than $500 a while back, although that's not a solution. I remember when Skyrim first came out I heard some way that might have worked but I can't remember what it was, as it was somewhat complicated, if I find it I'll be sure to put it here. :(
Posted Image

#13

sarahjaney
  • Minecraft: sarahjaney422

Posted 05 February 2012 - 05:29 AM

Ugh, yes. I was playing Skyrim on a small box TV and I was like 'POINTERS, Y U NO POINT?!'

#14

Simpa
    Simpa

    Ghast Hunter

  • Members
  • 2537 posts
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 05 February 2012 - 08:44 AM

Lolwut? I can play skyrim fine on my tv from the 1800's.
Posted Image

#15

blaster
    blaster

    Creeper Destroyer

  • Members
  • 6310 posts
  • Location: The land of four dimentions

Posted 05 February 2012 - 02:09 PM

mass effect 2 had the same problem. Text was unreadable without at least 720p
The rebellion has already begun. Otter Forums

#16

iHazFail99
  • Location: Canada

Posted 05 February 2012 - 07:25 PM

Well,if theres no fix then I'm not dropping 700+ dollars on Skyrim.
Posted Image
Now that's one FPS boost!

#17

FillyRarity
  • Location: In a magic lamp

Posted 05 February 2012 - 07:31 PM

I hate that on skyrim. Atleast on other games it lets you edit it. I never bother to edit it but hey, its nice to have the feture. I play on a very small square TV and on borderlands and other shooter my ammo bar is cut in half(Or not even there) Its really annoying...

Fear me, for I am cheese.